We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
in the middle of the nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
in the middle of the nature
open villa to the terrace and the swimming pool inside or outside saloon?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
in the middle of the nature
open villa to the terrace and the swimming pool
inside or outside saloon?
Enjoy the pool with or without the children security fence
relax in the master bedroom
night or day you will enjoy the villa
swimming pool at night, all year the pool is at the perfect temperature
take your time for relaxing
the master bedroom with a marvelous sea view
the view
security entrance gate, always security but you won t see it
your tennis court and kids play ground
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jenloves
Belize and USA
2 reviews
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a great weeklong stay in one of Frederick's lovely villas. The villas are spacious, clean and inviting, the pool was fantastic, and the nearby town had everything we needed. A perfect spot for traveling with young kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Delightful house and pool in the midst of jungle”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Frederick designed and built the houses on the property with great attention to detail. For example, rocks dug from the site were lovingly fashioned into sturdy grey walls with splashes of orangey rock. The photos don't exaggerate the loveliness of the houses. The pool was a lifesaver as the weather was quite hot and humid the week we were there. Easy to rent an ATV 4-wheeler and drive to town for supplies. (Don't try to shop during siesta!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The humidity
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2013
Thanks Pam,
It was a pleasure to welcome you at LOMA TANIERA.
I know that you appreciate the design and that you could understand the time i have spend to adjust all the stons in the walls...
I hope you will come back soon, as you know i am always changing things in the villa or in the garden to improve the quality of the place for the pleasure of our guests.

Best
Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth...
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
“Amazing !”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had 10 amazing days in this beautiful villa....
Everything was perfect : the swimming pool, the house, the rooms, Alix & Fred welcoming us very well and advicing & helping us in organizing our activities....
This part of the country is just magic....
Ideal conditions for sunny holidays !!!
So don't hesitate : just go & enjoy !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2013
Thank you Elisabeth,
It was great helping you discover the paradise of Las Terrenas, and to make you share my personal secrets of the place.
Happy to hear that you enjoy your stay at Loma Taniera with all our team.
Welcome back whenever you want, you were a great team and your tennis was better than i though...
Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico A
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The property was great, we really enjoyed our stay. The villa is located on top of the hill outside the main village. It's very quite but you do need a jeep (or a quad) to access it. Taxi are also available at extortionate rates. The villa is located 5 mins away driving from the beach where you can find delicious food and cocktails. Scuba diving center and kite surfing instructors are available at the beach.
The villa is on three floors with the master bedroom on top. A second bedroom is on the ground floor while the other two bedrooms are on the floor below. Nice views from all bedrooms but the main feature is the infinity pool located at the front of the villa.
The owner, his wife and the manager are very helpful to make your stay pleasant. Our laggages were carried up to the room (there's a steep stair to access the property) which was much appreciated. The villa was cleaned daily and we had a person preparing breakfast for us.
In terms of catches, Internet could only be connected after 2 days which has created some problems. The villa is in the middle of a beautiful natural environment so it's natural that animals were around, the problem is that little frogs, geckos, spiders were found everywhere in the villa. Thankfully they are scared of humans and tend to disappear quickly.
We could not pay the deposit via paypal and that has created some logistical problem as it's not easy to withdraw money at the village and the deposit was quite large.
Leaving the above aside, it's been a magnificent experience...highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great views from the master bedroom
Liked least: Animals in the villa
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2013
Enrico,
Thanks for your review, and to be very fair with us, it helps me changing little things as you know it is really difficult to get perfection in DR...

Sorry for the internet, i have been doing my best, but the problem came from the provider, and again DR is not US.
As you know the only villa available for you, was the one with some little stairs, even if the team is always helping you, you know that the higher you are, the better will be the sea view (excellent for watching the whales).
It is important to say that even if you find some littles animals inside the villa, it doesn t mean that the villa is not clean but only that we are in the middle of a beautifull tropical garden with lots of flowers, and the best is that none of the little animals are dangerous, and the kids love it.
Regarding the deposit, i am still looking for a solution with flipkey and tripadvisor but having bank accounts in Dominican Republic makes problems for the system, we will find a solution shortly.
Welcome back
Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel S
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Trip of our dreams!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We knew Las Terrenas would be beautiful but the beaches, food, Loma Taniera rental house and hospitality far exceeded our expectations. We have traveled to St. Lucia, Mexico and Costa Rica but this was by far our dream vacation. Fred and his staff (Nairobi, Miguel and Gisele) were amazing! Fred was very helpful as we worked to plan our trip and once we arrived, the high level of service continued. Nairobi made us many delicious dinners and breakfasts - don't miss out on her pancakes!! If we ever need refills on the filtered water or house maintenance, Miguel was there when we needed him. If you have the opportunity to stay at Loma Taniera, DO IT! The view is incredible - better than the pictures, trust me. We traveled with 5 friends and most of us like to visit new places each year. This is one place dear to our hearts and memories...so we plan to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, infinity pool and service
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkmac1983
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Favorite Vacation to Date!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I must say...this was my favorite vacation yet. Fred and his staff were amazing and the pictures of our villa on the internet do not do justice for this heavenly place. The house is amazing with an open living and open air concept. It is clean and in great condition. the staff cleaned our pool twice a week and had cleaning service every morning. Make sure to rent atv's to explore all of Las Terranas. The beaches are beautiful and the locals are friendly. It's a great town with great food. I highly recommend this to families, friends or as a romantic get away. You will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of service
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2013
Laurel,

Thank you for your review, as you know not so many clients are taking the time to make a review, and we really appreciate it.
We are happy to have feedback.

It was really a pleasure to welcome you. I hope we could always have guests like you.
Next time you visit us i will show you many other things from las terrenas, i promise everytime it will be different.

So i was right to insist for renting ATV s instead of a car...

Best
Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania T
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Paradise in the Dominican, an amazing vacation for the whole family”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our stay in the Dominican Republic was perfect from the beginning to end. We were met by the driver as we left customs and went immediately to the villa. The villa was beyond what we were expecting-- the view was incredible, the house was large with a lot of rooms, and the kids (8 year old & 4 year old) couldn't wait to get outside and play in the pool. The style & decor of the villa created the perfect environment for the whole family. We hired a chef to come to the house for the first few meals, and she met with us, developed a shopping list, and prepared dinner, breakfast, lunch according to what we liked to eat and what seafood was fresh. We had calamari, shrimp, grilled fish, lobster within the first few meals, and homemade caipirinhas & pina coladas with the meals. We rented an ATV and the 4 of us drove around the island exploring new beaches and restaurants each day. Las Terrenas is a great little town and we quickly learned our way around. Our children enjoyed playing with the local children in the community, and Alex & Fred were very gracious hosts. All in all, a perfect vacation... we can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2013
Thanks a lot Tania,

It was nice to see our kids playing together in the garden.
Nairobi the cooker miss you.

Please come back
Fred, Alix, Josephine & Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing