We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Lugar

El Lugar
Ranked #4 of 125 Restaurants in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue, European, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My family of four went this evening for dinner and was not disappointed. Showed up around 7:20 and were told dinner didn't start for another 45 minutes. We left and went back but needless to say, our 5 year old fell asleep while they rest of us finished our meals. The owners offered to have him moved to the sofa, but he was fine in his chair. Since we are in Las Terrenas during low season, we were actually the only patrons in the restaurant. The menu was explained to us in English in great detail which was unexpected and super helpful. Had a great front row seat around the open fire where the meal was cooked which was a big hit with the kids - until the little one fell asleep! Had fantastic cocktail prior to dinner and then watched the chef take great care in preparing our meal before our eyes. Each meal was very tasty and almost each of our plates was completely bare when we were finished. The two brothers who own the place sat across from us and we had a great conversation. They did not push a conversation on us at all, but once we started talking with them, they told us about why they came to the DR almost 2 years ago to start their business. It was very interesting to hear. They are so nice, funny and have found their dream in the DR and have done a great job with it! Thanks for a great meal! I would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WTVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    63
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great fire- grilled steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

best steaks in las terranes ! owners max andbruno, both very nice and helpful . the steaks are wood grilled with a nice char and great flavor. sides also very good !! they offer a complimentary "orange peel" after dinner drink to complete a memorable meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnvomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at El Lugar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was by far the best dinning experience that We've ever had in Las Terrenas, the outside kitchen with the wood fire will provide an unique atmosphere not available anywhere else.

The Chef will make sure that your palate will sense an amazing array of flavors in short, he is a true artist.

The cocktails are fresh and they bring you one step closer to heaven, with the perfect combination of ingredients, not too strong or weak they are just perfect.

These guys really know how to run this place and they do it effortlessly because you can tell that they love to do what they do.

Try: the Dorado or Steak Tartar among others....also their KILLER caipirinhas and mohitos!!!

CANT MISS!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodafazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very nice find...!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Found this place tonight and we were not disappointed. The two brothers running it do a nice job. Nice cocktails to start with. There is an open fire BBQ in the restaurant and most everything is cooked on it. We had Teriake beef salad and a double thick pork chop with roasted potatoes and a sweet apple compote. Meats were very good quality and super tender. Apple compote a bit sweet but tasty. Overall a very nice place to dine. Not an inexpensive place, comparable what dinner would cost at home

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rkglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food for the soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Most difficult task for a restaurant is consistency ! Max and Bruno are giving us a repetition of incredible food prepare to perfection, cocktails mix with originality, and the pleasure of dining in a friendly atmosphere. Everyone who had the chance to discover El Lugar become addictive to the quality and the fun evening in front of the dancing fire. Always exciting to go back!
Congratulations to Master chef Max & Bruno.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadioushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lugar also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to El Lugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing