We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“divine”
Review of El Lugar

El Lugar
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“divine”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Every trip we spend in Las Terrenas, El Lugar, is our regular restaurant, we feel @ home in a very friendly atmosphere and a comfortable seating, we start with very original cocktails unique recipes created by Bruno. Chef Max behind is cooking bar is preparing by hands all kind of incredible,amazing sauces,turning fresh vegys ,puree to a piece of art...his grilling process are a pleasure to watch.
it is a one man show, in front of the fire he is presenting us a perfect dish decorated with art I am a Parisien who leave in Manhattan so I know about qualite when I see it! and this is worth the trip to Las Terrenas! we spend a lot of time @ "this place" with good friends and every time our evening is a succes thanks to Bruno and Max who always make sure we have a fun night in this special corner of the world

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadioushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxime L, Owner at El Lugar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire, au plaisir de vous revoir tout les deux...le plus vite possible, vous êtes le reflet de la qualité de notre maison.

Maxime & Bruno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    64
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Owners of a beach house in Las Terrenas we are always seeking for good restaurants, and this particular one, for the fact of being in the middle of the town and not that near to the beach as many others, we had never been before.
It was a great pleasure finally being in this place several times by the end of December 2012.
The cocktails are great and even the house wine is very good! Every plate I've tried is better than the other, but I particularly think that the steak and fish tartares are a must!
The attentions are perfect although there's not much personnel.
Incredible food on a rustic relaxing ambiance. Perfect for those who enjoy cooking, have a seat at the counter and watch Max prepare your plate!
Don't miss the Belgian chocolate mousse.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liapm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The service was superb. Bruno the bartender made us lots of local cocktails...each one better than the last. The food really is amazing; local seafood, fresh fruits and veg. We tried just about everything. The desserts are delicious. Max is the man...wowwww...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FraL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Amazing food! First time I went I ordered the filet, cooked perfectly, with a side of sauteed vegetables. Sauce that was served with the filet was delicious, haven't tasted anything like that before! Second time I went I got fish. OMG! probably one of the best meals I've had! Was so sad to finish it since I wanted more. Will definitely order that again next time I'm there! Wonderful and friendly service plus excellent food, drinks, and ambiance make this place superb!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“!!! Best European food !!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Handsome concept , the cocktail are fantastic and the food are excellent !! you will have the privilege to see directly the chief cooking in front of you with a beautiful wood fire . The speciality of this place are beef but the fish ( when available ) are exceptional !! ( Recommended ) . The service is very good and friendly .
Perfect with friends or with your love for a romantic dinner .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lugar also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to El Lugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing