We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Carry lots of pesos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carretera Samana Toll Road

Carretera Samana Toll Road
Ranked #11 of 39 things to do in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Carry lots of pesos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We would love to know why there are so many toll booths on this stretch of highway??? Toll rates vary up to 484 pesos! We had stopped for a cold bottle of water at the beginning and we were short 100 pesos on the last toll booth. Scared us good. They except ONLY pesos. They had us back out off to the side And we were grateful for the guard , with his gun, to open his wallet and trade pesos for American dollars. Because he saved us, he made a few extra bucks. Not sure how much but worth it. If we had to turn around and go back there is no telling how our vacation plans would have been altered! Carry PESOS...lots of them!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deidre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    82
    27
    11
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent scenic highway that cuts off 45 minutes to Las Terrenas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is a beautiful scenic and safe road. However, it has the highest toll in the country by far (about 1 USdollar per mile, $400DP !!) but takes all the adventure out of the trip and opens up the drive to everyone. I fear it is TOO civiiized and will open up this incredibly beautiful area of teh country a little too much.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NC7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good road, beautiful drive through national park? Taking the road to las Terrenas instead of Samana adds som pectacular scenery!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperheadmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Road in DR?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Amazing to drive this modern road after three hours navigating Route 5 from Puerto Plata. Too bad there are no 'look-outs' from which to enjoy the incredible views of the coast. Ten dollars is a bit steep even for a North American - and be sure not to pay any more than the posted amount - as the toll taker will try to hold you up for an additional couple of bucks. A simple 'no gracias' is immediately accepted.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kwieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Paradise road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amazing Scenery and tropical views. The road crosses rice fields, palm tree farms and a tropical rainforest called los hiatises.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carretera Samana Toll Road also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Carretera Samana Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing