We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beach and suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sublime Samana
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Truly stunning bit of Atlantic beach. Completely peaceful hotel experience. The Sublime hotel/condo complex is nestled on the east end of Playa Coson which is the most beautiful beach in the area. The hotel provided a tranquil, thoroughly enjoyable beach experience. More families than couples but we had the beach to ourselves in the early morning and evening. I loved our suite, which had a kitchen-living room and a bedroom, both opening onto a balcony.

Pros: The perfect beach--Lovely graphite colored sand gives the crystal clear water a silvery-blue hue. Despite the luxury hotels, the beach still has a local feel--you'll see fishermen in rowboats and couples on motos. The suite--really pretty room, everything came together in a thoughtful, practical way. The staff--helpful, professional, friendly.

Cons: If you don't rent a car, you might feel a bit trapped--things are not as close or as connected as they look on a map! Warm but not hot shower (no tub) in the rooms for 2 people. The hotel portion is the farthest from the beach, with the family condos being closest, so if there are just two of you, you'll not be able to hear or see much of the ocean from your balcony.

Room Tip: Think about when you want to use your balcony--the rooms on the east side are full sun from 11-6pm w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, Gerente at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your beautiful words to describe our hotel. We certainly have one of the best beaches in the entire country. We are very happy knowing that you enjoyed all the amenities and the property.

We will share your comments with all the staff.

Also, is important for us your suggestions about the hot water in the units. That is not normally in the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient.

Thank you again for sharing your beautiful comments in TripAdvisor.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos desde Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    78
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
179
166
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a beautiful quiet resort in the beach with beautiful pools and chill music playing throughout the day they provided many options for enjoying the beach including comfy chairs and lounges with full sun or protected
We enjoyed many drinks at the bar poolside and tried multipe dishes and esp loved the ceviche salad and octopus
They offer kayaking and windsurfing as well
Again beautiful place to chill it is though about a 3 hr drive from santo Domingo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frexinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Frexinet,

First of all thank you for trusting in Hotel Sublime Samana and for choosing us to enjoy your vacations.

We really appreciate your beautiful comments about your stay with us. These comments are very important to maintain the quality in our hotel.

The entire Sublime´s team is very happy to hear that you have had an amazing time during your recent stay at our hotel and also that you enjoyed all the facilities and the amenities that we offer to our guest.

Thanking you once again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Saludos de todo el staff de Sublime Samana,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found this place on Las Terrenas Luxury website. We could not have been any pleased with Sublime Samana. Great staff, good food and lovely rooms. Coson is a very magical place we plan to return soon. Just to sit on the beach and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Tim,

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments about Sublime Samana and thank you for taking a time to write us in Trip Advisor.

We feel so glad knowing that you enjoyed our rooms, the staff and the food. Definitely we will tell to all the staff. Your mention of the area of Coson is so important for us; we hope our guest can get the experience in this area of the city.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos de todo el staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The beach is one of the best I have experienced - gorgeous sand, turquoise water, beach club set-up etc. The pools and cabanas are fabulous too. The rooms are spacious, airy and well appointed, but not luxurious.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

The food was good, but inconsistent and we became bored of the few things we liked over the week. We didn't like any of the restaurants elsewhere in Samana, except The Beach and Peninsular House (we were lucky enough to dine there for dine even though it is only for hotel guests). We wish we had stayed there (absolutely stunning place), except the rough drive to and from the beach would have been tough compared to Sublime.

Samana town isn't at all nice. It lacks a feeling of culture. I am used to little towns in developing countries and this is richer than many I love spending time it - but it is bland, noisy and unappealing.

The whole trip made me wish I was in Bali, which really is the gold standard for tropical getaways.

It is once to be able to get to Samana in 4 hours from JFK NY though. We were by the beach for lunch the day we flew in.

There were a lot of kids around, which we didn't enjoy, but others would. They need to make sure kids don't get in the adults only pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzEnigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Thanks for your comments concerning to our staff and also to our property.

We also appreciate your comments regarding Peninsula House; it is one of the emblematic hotels at the Samana´s peninsula and perhaps in the entire country.

Just to let know to the readers of tripadvisor, Sublime Samana and Peninsula House despite being two hotels "luxury", but with no other similar feature.

Regarding to children, we have the great pleasure of being able to enjoy them on our property and they are an important part for us.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.

Esperamos volverles a ver y darles nuevamente la bienvenida a Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went to Sublime Samana for a wedding and the whole week was amazing. The staff treated us so great. They were willing to help us find anything we needed or wanted to do with our time in the Dominican Republic. The accommodations were great...very clean. The wifi was in and out our whole stay there. I'm sure they will fix that soon though. Very cool place to stay...Wander World highly recommends this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Wander World,

It was a really big pleasure for the entire staff to have this event so important for your family; it was amazing experience for all of us.

We will share with all the staff your beautiful words, is so important to us comments like this to improve every day our service.

Thank you for the comments about our property, rooms, etc.

Thanks a lot for your pretty comments and also to share your experience in Trip Advisor.

Esperamos volverles a ver.

Saludos de todo el Staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went there for memorial weekend and had the best time. It was my mom, daughter and aunts. Karina the front desk manager gave us a wonderful service and the breakfast was delicious! i am looking forward to stay there again this July. A great place to relax and be away from it all. I highly recommend it for Adults 25 and older.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdiaz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mrs. Díaz,

We are so happy knowing that you had a memorial weekend at Sublime Samana. Thanks a lot for your beautiful comments.

We will share with Karina your beautiful words and also with our chef about the delicious breakfast. It is so important to us comments like this to improve every day our service.

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos de todo el Staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, peaceful, well maintained and the rooms are enormous and very comfortable. The beach is one of the best I have ever been to and the staff was wonderful and friendly. The food at the restaurants was good, there were some exceptional dishes like the sancocho and the octopus ceviche, but the menu could use more grilled options as opposed to fried. I definitely recommend taking them up on the culinary experience, it was the best part of our stay. I'm sure all of their chefs are decent, but Connie was our chef and everything she made was fantastic.

My only issue with our room was a very loud air conditioner vent in the living area. I was told by maintenance that this was normal, I doubt that, but I didn't get to see if any of the other rooms had the same issue. I'm not usually one to complain about noise, I live in NYC and I can sleep through almost anything, but that vent was too loud.

A few things to take note of:

1. They presented a specials menu for dinner one night. For Americans a specials menu is a menu of the day where you can select any one thing you want from the menu. In Sublime Samana the specials menu is actually a pre fixe menu. This is not indicated on the menu, nor did the waiter mention it. So we ended up being very surprised when we ordered one item from the menu and instead all of these courses came to the table. The final bill was a shocker as well.

2. The hotel is quite a ways from the small town nearby and the cab that takes you into town costs $40 roundtrip.

3. Bring a lot of off spray and or bug repellent candles if possible. They said their machines to repel insects had broken and that there usually weren't so many bugs. We were basically eaten alive while we were there. They didn't have bug repellent candles or torches anywhere and it was almost impossible to have a meal outdoors without a legion of flies landing on your food.

4. Keep all of your receipts. When we checked out they quoted us one total for everything and when I got home they changed the charges on my card and tacked on another $200+. Also, I had emailed them to ask about an incidentals deposit before I arrived, I was told there would not be one. However, when I checked in I found out there is a $200+ deposit for incidentals. Just some things to keep in mind for those of us that like to be clear on charges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RozNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sublime Samana. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and suggestions.

We will share your comments with our team, especially with the ones of the restaurant and the ones of the maintenance. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We have checked the charge that we made for incidentals and we have send to you, if you need a future clarification, please contact us.

We will share your comments with Connie for the Culinary Experience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Esperamos volverles a ver.

Saludos cordials,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
22.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Property: Sublime Samana
Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sublime Samana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing