We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extraordinary, Don't Stay Anywhere Else!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Living room & dining area which seats six.
Ocean view from the dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Second bedroom 2 Twin beds.
Let us reserve a relaxing massage for you.
Shiva's Cave Yoga Studio on site and open to guests.
Workout area with sea view.
Stairs leading to upper cave chamber.
Amazing rock formations.
Inner chamber, quiet and cool for meditation.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
worldtrek...
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Extraordinary, Don't Stay Anywhere Else!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures of Monte Placido can't do it justice! Don't go to some all-inclusive cookie cutter resort, don't do it! Rent a car, and let these folks help you arrange your adventures. Don and Diana make everything so easy, they are so very good at what they do. This magical place sits high above the village of Barbacoa right outside Las Terrenas. The views are sweeping ocean and rural pastures, and you sit above a huge expanse of coconut trees. We stayed in Falcona, and the balcony there is one of my favorite places on the planet, and I have been to a lot of places! Every morning flocks of white birds fly underneath you up towards the mtns. behind and every evening they return to a stand of trees by the sea. The vultures soar beneath you, the village children play baseball in the horse pasture below, and you feel the pulse of the people and the land. The local fisherman brings his catch of the day for you to select (we had the langoustine, oh baby), and grill by the infinity pool. The landscaping is just gorgeous, and the people who work there are wonderful. Get out of your comfort zone, don't endure another boring buffet, and head to Monte Placido!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer Service!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2014
If you don't want to eat in and enjoy Freddy's catch of the day. Don't worry all the restaurants in Las Terrenas are only a short drive away. Also enjoy the fish shacks on the beaches of Playa Valle or Playa Rincon like as did Anthony Bourdain from Travel and CNN channels. We will show you how to get to these most pristine beaches.
As our guest mentioned FALCONA is just 1 of 6 properties on MONTE PLACIDO. Our budget friendly studio for a single or just two. Or our other spacious villas for up to 8 or evem more if rented together as we do for yoga retreats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed February 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Yes JET BLUE through JFK but the many coonect there coming form new England and elsewhere. Alos for the Canadians Samana is also served by Air Canana and Westjet from Toronto and Montreal....Samana only 40 minute drive form us.. we will organize airport transfer for you be it with local rental car agency (like Enterprisee0 or with a taxi..
See you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Short and ot he point- see other reviews that will give you much more information
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2015
Thank you. your review is short but to the point.
As our guest mentions we have 6 villas to choose from to stay on MONTE PLACIDO our little mountain gated residence. We can accommodate from 1 up to 23 guests (if group)
5055533 Villa Magnolia up up to 6 guests
4975181 Villa Lilka for 1 to 2 guests with a/c
3479406 Villa Rosa for 1 to 2 guests our budget friendly unit
5025554 Villa Gardenia from 2 to 7 our budget friendly unit
4977305 Villa Jasmin from 2 to 7 great ocean view
3759618 Villa Falcona from 2 to 6 great ocean view
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. Louis
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2014
Thank You Kathy,
Such detailed reviews really help future guests to know what to expect.
Dining, touring, beaches, facilities, location services, environment ... you said it all... Thank you!
You are right a 4x4 is a PLUS but standard 2x2s will be more economical and get you everywhere. The latest roads that needed help (Playas Rincon and Valle) have just been fixed. If it just rained a 4x4 is more practical to come up but then again we have plenty of sunshine to dry things off. In any case, we have our own two 4x4s that we rent exclusively to our guests and an ATV and motorbikes for those that are more adventurous.
For future guests. Kathy and her family used a shuttle from Punta Cana to Samana. It is quite practical.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Shore of Lake Tahoe
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2013
Yoga retreats centers are many but MONTE PLACIDO offers a unique cave. We call it Shiva's Cave. Pls. go to our website click on yoga tab for more information.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RD
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing