We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking views peace and quiet.”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean. Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean.
Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Living room & dining area which seats six.
Ocean view from the dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Master with a King bed and mountain view.
Master bedroom opens to the bathroom.
Second bedroom has a Queen that can come apart for two singles.
Second room with beds apart. We can add a cot to sleep a total of three children.
Pool area by day.
Pool area at sunset.
The infinity pool virtually cascading into the ocean in the distance.
Monte Placido Central Savannah.
We have lovely gardens.
Let us reserve a relaxing massage for you.
Shiva's Cave Yoga Studio on site and open to guests.
Workout area with sea view.
Stairs leading to upper cave chamber.
Inner chamber, quiet and cool for meditation.
Amazing rock formations.
Monte Placido on a hill above the sea
Drive up to our hilltop residence
Rental vehicles on site or our guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TheZootif...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views peace and quiet.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

STAYED HERE for a week in July and had an amazing time. We were in Falcona and the view is unreal. Every morning was a treat. The grounds are fantastic as well. Don and Diane are fabulous hosts and are more than happy to direct you around las terrenas. We wen t on an excursion with Don in search of manatees. Didn't find any but it was still a really nice hike out onto the reefs. The area is packed with great beaches and restaurants to satisfy the need to explore for more than a week. We are looking forward to going back again some day soon. Thanks Monte Placido for a fantastic trip!!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ USA
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2013
Thank you so much. I will pass on your compliments to the staff. They will really appreciate! Of course we are biased but Samaná is truly the nicest area in the DR. All inclusive "factories"versus renting your one "home"away from home is a personal choice based on life style and needs. We would like for many more to try something different.
Thank you Lisa, see you next year. D&D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CaroRamah...
Ramah, NM USA
1 review
“Tropically Terrific”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We loved Monte Placido. The owners are helpful and friendly, and the staff on the job and sweet. The landscaping is breathtaking--you are living in a garden. I used the yoga cave frequently for a private exercise space with a view and shade. Our Leuka cottage came with lovely French cookware, crystal and china. What a delight. Be mindful of the steep grade and hairpin turns on the driveway--a challenge on our arrival after dark, but the directions were excellent from Santo Domingo. A car is not essential, but we are very glad to have rented one at the airport for our month long stay. We drove into Las Terrenas, about 8 k away, frequently, for lovely fresh produce and fish. And we drove daily to a beach only 3 k away for sun and sand. A downside is the noise of the many motorbikes passing on the highway below, but they do go quiet at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pretty house and grounds
Liked least: Could not walk to the beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2013
Thank you. Your comments will be helpful to future guests.
We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwabay
Wisconsin USA
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villas in a Paradise”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This place is wonderful.  Our family of 5 spent four nights here in mid-April, in the Gardenia unit.  These are Mediterranean style houses build on top of one of the many hills in this area.  The views of the region and the ocean to the North are stunning.  I believe the Gardenia unit is the only unit that does not have ocean view directly from the rooms, it looks over a lovely valley to the east.  The grounds are stunningly landscaped; and the pool and yoga grotto are just beautiful.  Just as wonderful are the hosts.  Don gave us very helpful advice on what and how to see the attractions in the area, and what to avoid.
This is a perfect base for exploring the entire Samana Peninsula. We visited 6 beaches during our visit, all of them nice in their own distinct way. We took out a Hobie cat from the LT Sailing Club, a nice perk when staying at Monte Placido. The zip line north of Samana and the waterfalls near El Limon are both very convenient from Monte Placido, and worth visiting. The day trip over to Las Galeras is a little over an hour, and a nice place to visit.
Compared to the alternative of staying at a place in Las Terrernas, there is no comparison in my mind. LT has lots of cars, noise, and the smell of burning garbage at night; worth a visit during the day, but you wouldn't want it to the focus of your visit.
Any difficulties? To get that beautiful view the villas are on top of a steep hill. The driveway up the hill is similar to some drives on the Mediterranean, steep and winding, and a bit daunting to flatlands like me the first time.
If we are lucky enough to return to this area, we already know where we will be staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Steep driveway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing