We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax in Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Entrance to property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to property
Approach to the house balcony outside one bedoom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Entrance to property
Approach to the house
balcony outside one bedoom
living room
dining room
kitchen
kitchen
main entrance
view of the master bedroom from pool
view of guest room 1 from pool
partial view of beach (500 meters)
bath master bedroom
Guest room 2
unique bath in guest room 2
guest bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Matt Pirt...
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax in Paradise”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful home in paradise with an amazing view which you will not tire of. The owner Scott was extremely helpful with any questions we had before and during the trip. He has many recommendations on restaurants and activities. As others pointed out, we didn't do as much exploring as we thought we would as we were so comfortable at the home (and it did rain quite a bit!).
Bien and Rafael helped make our stay comfortable, cleaning the pool and bedrooms each day, changing linens when needed. Bien is also a great cook and was happy to go buy the food and have dinner waiting for us at a very reasonable price.
Walking to the beach is easy and you can walk for miles once you get there, stopping for lunch at several restaurants. Las Terrenas is a little busy for our liking but has two good supermarkets and many restaurants/bars. Walking through town during the day is a fun experience. Hiring a quad and going along the coffee and cocoa trail is a must for the more adventurous - ask Scott for details!
Can't recommend this place enough, unless you want 5 star luxury service with no insects to be seen! There are critters (geckos, lizards, mosquitos, bats) but that is all part of the ambiance of the tropics.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular! Can't Wait to Come Back!”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had the vacation of a lifetime at Villa Mashek! When we walked through the front door, it literally took our breath away! The home is right out of a movie. Gorgeous sweeping views from the open living room over the infinity pool. The staff was beyond gracious and accommodating and very patient with our limited/creative attempt to speak in Spanish. We were able to communicate everything we needed and never had a problem! Everything is close by, the lovely town of Las Terrenas as well as all the exciting activities in Samana. Scott and Jan gave us great ideas for horseback riding, hiking, local excursions...even zip lining! It was an extraordinary vacation! I look forward to coming back and will tell all my friends to visit Villa Mashek as well! Thank you for your gracious hospitality!
Jennifer A.

On a side note...when I went to post this, I saw the review by Heather and I must say that we felt completely safe and comfortable here. It always amazes me when people travel to a foreign country and expect that the entire world speaks English and has fences around pools. I would agree that it is always a good idea that your children can swim if you are staying ANYwhere there is a pool.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M
Campbellville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, BUT not right for everyone especially if you have small children and don't speak Spanish”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We did our homework and were super excited to travel to Mashek Villa in Las Terrances. However, our discomfort began on night one. We arrived late, but were greeted at the airport by a friendly driver which would have put us at ease if he spoke one word of English. He did not. When we arrived, after a long, dark drive with no sense where we were going, we were greeted by Bien, a warm, friendly housekeeper who again spoke VERY LITTLE English. Trying to use Google translate was a fail as well. The house was indeed lovely and looked exactly like the photos; however, what I didn't realize, is that the house is basically outdoor living. In addition to this being a little dangerous with the pool in the living room (or nothing to prevent the little children in our group from falling/swimming), we realized the only parts that can be locked up tight were the bedrooms. Each room individually by key or from the inside. With small children, we'd have to lock them in from the outside with the key, but then they wouldn't be able to get out if they needed us. So they would need the key inside with them, locking us out. Our stress was further heightened by a review of the welcome log, where one traveler described in detail how the home had been broken into and robbed by gun point while they were there. We spent two restless days and nights and finally decided we couldn't stay for the week. Our plight was further complicated by the fact that the vehicle we rented from Scott was broken down, which no one communicated to us until well into our second day. We were quite literally trapped in what should have been paradise. If we had been a large group, with teenagers or adults, this *might* have been okay as there is a sense of safety in numbers. But as a family traveling with three young children, it was unbearable. We moved on. The owner did NOT reimburse our rental fees. It is a lovely home, but not suitable for a family with young children. Be sure you speak the language and bring lots of bug spray!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
I am glad you found the house beautiful and even better than the pictures show it. It truly is a beautiful place. I am surprised you didn't realize it was open in the living room as the pictures clearly show that. The kitchen and bedrooms are private and can be locked as you have mentioned in the review. You contacted me about the car and I had it fixed in the morning, I typically don't rent my car to anyone, (it is old) and was trying to help out. I now only recommend a car rental company with a good reputation to my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PourJF
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised...well, even difficult to do justice to this property with pictures or narrative description”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed there as a party of 6 persons (2 couples and 2 cousins being both 7 years old girls) for a week.

As previously mentioned in other reviews, this is not a house for very young toddlers so I would recommmend it for kids that are at least mature enough to behave with an open area pool. Ours were totally fine. Also, for the same reason, I believe 6 people is really on the rooms side what is confortable. Unless someone wants to sleep on the very nice covered patio sofa outside (which is fun but probably not for a long stay).

The 2 "main" rooms, on the same floor where is the pool, are really nice, spacious, etc. The 3rd one is smaller and on a lower level so it means taking a short stair that is directly on the hill so not ideal if you plan to put there again younger kids if they are not used to stay in bed full nights on their own (but being right below one of the main rooms, you can easily talk to the occupants above if needed so again, for us that was not at all an issue).

Location is very secluded and could be hard to find on arrival so I recommend to arrive during daylight. Also, if you are driving a larger car, the parking is just large enough to turn around so nervous drivers are better to let other people drive back and forth (which is true anyway for most of DR!).If you speak a bit of spanish and get lost, just call Bien and she will send Raphael to join you on the main road on arrival (we did that and that worked nicely).

Las Tarranas first groceries store is 2.5Km away from the house, but really the most part is about 3.5Km like restaurants and banks. It is walkable but over time you are better off with some kind of vehicule. Unless you want to stay put at home most of the time and get groceries and cooking done by Bien which is an option as she does these perfectly. She is also available to take care of the kids shall you want to go out.

The beach in front is also very secluded, very quiet (no more than 5 guests seen on any day for kilometers of beach!) but is a 1.5KM walk. And when you come back, it is quite hilly. I ran there a number of times, but for those not in sports, might be better to drive to another access as this one has no parking from what I saw. Would be a 10-15 minutes drive depending where you go. But shall ou just walk at the beach, be aware that the closest restaurant, Luis, is another 2KM or so. We walked there, it is doable but again, maybe not for everyone taste if you do not like to walk.

So this is a real quiet nicely located well equiped house, serviced by great people. We were lucky to have with us some spanish speaking people otherwise might be a good idea to have a dictionnary or a translation device with you (in fact, in all DR, except for the restaurants and bars, it is spanish almost exclusively). Also on the plus side, the WIFI worked nicely and almost all the time, something that is pretty rare even in the best hotels in DR. And the pool temperature was ideal.

We would like to thank the owners to make such a special place available to others as it permits to build life long memories even on a short one week stay. We will gladly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit that lovely part of DR and also will be offering answers to any question.

Regards.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and view
Liked least: Beach access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginette L
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We encountered some issues at the airport when our group (which included 4 children) were told our van wasn't available. I called Bienvenida to let her know that we would be late and not sure what time we would arrive. After speaking with Bienvenida and Rafael I felt this vacation would be the best ever. Yes despite finding ourselves with no transportation two hours away from our final destination. They assured me everything would be fine and they would assist in getting us transportation once we arrived to the home. We finally made it to paradise and Rafael and Bien welcomed us like family! The view was breathtaking, even after 7 days it would still take my breath away every morning, waking up to witness the skies, sunshine, nature, simply breathtaking. Rooms were perfect. I loved the kitchen it reminded me of my childhood home. Bien cooked an amazing meal when we arrived. The kids loved the pool. Some nights they just slept by the pool. This home is just that, a home in the middle of paradise. No resort just homie and when I asked my kids what they liked the most of all our adventures in Las Terrenas they say it was the house. We pray that we can come back again and often. We've told our friends about this home and this town with so many friendly and welcoming people. Scott was so helpful providing directions to airport, dining, tours, well everything to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. I'm in love with Las Terrenas!

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutdoorGi...
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Complete paradise”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Breathtaking doesn't even begin to describe this property. My entire party was blown away when we arrived. The pictures on this site do not even do this place justice. The view is absolutely amazing. We were even greeted our first morning by a huge full rainbow over the ocean. The entire house is spacious, luxurious, well designed and decorated. We were simply in love and wondering why we didn't plan our entire trip staying in this house. The house is very close to Playa Cozon which is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. It is also close enough to Las Terrenas to take advantage of the ammenities there but far enough away to feel like you are in secluded paradise. The caretakers of the property were so helpful and sweet. It was nice to know that they were there. I really can't find enough wonderful things to say about this property! We might have to come back to the DR just to stay here again!

My only tip would be that this property would not be good for anyone with smaller children. The living room literally opens onto the pool. Nothing divinding the two. I have two small children that were not with us and several times commented how scared I would have been if they had. But hey this is the kind of place you come for relaxation without children!

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Minimal hot water
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing