We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice complete apartment with big TV in living room, smaller one in the bedroom. Hot tub on the patio. However, it was not heated so that wasnt that great. Beautiful pool area GREAT FOR KIDS! Several areas just for them to play in the shallow water. Beautiful Landscaping, private guards, dining & drinks in ocean front area across the street to a beautiful beach. Would reserve again. I needed an early check out so got to the Hotel Desk was told someone could check you out 24/7 and found out a Security Guard was there did have the paperwork but didnt know how to check me out. a small hiccup but would have liked my paperwork!

Room Tip: Did not go to the Breakfast Buffet or Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hialeah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were a group of 6, and we're always concerned about having enough space - but our two story condo was HUGE, with rooftop ocean views and a rooftop jacuzzi. It was also beautiful, with lots of wood, modern appliances and an open floorplan. The people were so nice - we were there for a wedding, and everyone had a wonderful experience. The beach is small but nice, and the restaurant delicious. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors and try to get close to the beach and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is an exceptional property across from the beach Las Terrenas and about 5 minute drive from the center of town. We stayed in a poolside two bedroom villa. The villa was spacious, rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The outdoor patio had a seating and dining area as well as a jacuzzi. The hotel grounds are beautifully manicured, well maintained. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, and perfectly located next to the beach. The food was was great and the drinks were very refreshing.

The primary problem with this hotel is the service, which is a real shame. We called the reception area to secure additional beach towels as we were going on a tour early the next day. I had advised that it was okay to enter the room and drop off the towels while I wasn't there. When I called later that night since the staff never showed up, they advised that I wasn't in the room and that they no longer had beach towels available until the following day much more after we already had to leave for our excursion. That same day we called to get the jacuzzi started, but the person never showed up. I called the following day, and waited approximately an hour only to find out that the filter was faulty and they would need to come back the next day to fix. They never came back the next day to fix. We called numerous times because the wi-fi wasn't working. They advised the tehnical person was not available, and couldn't help. We were never able to solve the access issue.

While the food was good at the restaurant, the food took super long and some items on the menu were not available. What's worse, when coffee spilled over one of us, we asked for a towel with water; the waiter said it was better for us to go to the bathroom to clean up after ourselves.

I had advised i wanted an excursion to the whales and cayo levantado. The reception advised the tour was sold out but would recommend a tour group that could take us to cayo levantado. When we got to the excursion we found out that tour also took folks to the whales (and they had space).

It took us approximately two hours to check out. We were interrupted a variety of times by other guests that were checking out, who had problems with the restaurant inappropriately charging them. We chose to be patient as one of us planned to stay at the property for the rest of the week, but this is clearly not the way you should manage the checkout experience, and inappropriate to have guests hear of all of the service issues you are having.

Overall this place could really be paradise on earth, but is in need of new management.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mlonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I went 2 weeks ago for a boys only weekend of dining, wine and cigars.
We arrived to Balcones to a Penthouse where everything was perfect. The service is attentive, the condo has 3 bedrooms, a beautiful living room with paintings of great dominican artist, balcony, and the second floor has a jacuzzi with a great sea view, living room and bbq. The condo is modern and elegant.
On arrival we went to Rest. Luis in Playa Coson for a simple fare of fresh snapper and grouper made both on the wood grill as well as fried; as well as for the fresh lobster so fresh and with the right size that you take it with your folk. We also swim in the beach which is very nice.
At night we went on to Les Terraces on the Fishermen Village( Pueblo de los Pescadores) for an elegant casual dinner of fresh fish with small pieces of fruits. We follow up to Porto, the very good restaurant and entertaining place of Balcones for some dancing with and excellent dominican band playing merengue, salsa and latin rythims.
On Sunday we wake up and the debate is where to go to the beach as Samana has some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean(Playa Ricon, a 1 hour drive has been considered on the top 15 in the World many times, but also Cayo Levantado, Las Galeras or at walking distance from Balcones, Playa Portillo). A call brought us back to Rest. Luis in Playa Coson, to meet some Swedish friends, Johan and Lotta, and show them how to enjoy an amazing day, including jogging in the 3 miles beach of Playa Coson-Punta Bonita. Fresh fish and lobster for 6, with rice and beans, local salad and fried plantains, brings a check of US$125.00, pina colada, mojitos, Presidente cold beer and else included.
At the end, a very relaxing weekend at Balcones and the desire to be back ASAP. Two thumbs up !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enriquedemarchena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

When we arrived, the staff was very cordial. However there was some confusion about the room reservation. They did not have us booked in the correct space. They were not able to put us in the desired room until the following day and there were still some technical problems with the room.
Delmys De Leon Sosa was very helpful in making sure that our stay there was a good and memorable one. She moved us into an upgraded room and made sure that we were totally satisfied. She handled the entire process in a very professional manner.

Room Tip: Be sure to take a printed contract of your reservation. If there is any confusion about your grade o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Rick:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay at Balcones with the TripAdvisor community. I will personally make sure to share your comments with the team specially the ones you mentioned.
We look forward to host you in a near future.
Best regards!

Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from a one-week stay and loved everything about this resort. The 3-bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, and very comfortable, with everything in working order. The resort is big, so you don't feel claustrophobic, and felt safe enough that our teenagers roamed from beach to pool to restaurant without us worrying. We liked the location--on a pretty beach, with town just a short drive away. Most important was how friendly and kind everyone was. We arrived at night in a grim mood after an hours-long drive in a scary rental car (definitely fly into El Catey if you can!), and were greeted by calm, smiling Delmys, who took good care of us for the rest of the week. She, along with Eliana, Anyelo, Juan and everyone else at the desk, the restaurant, and the postcard-perfect beach bar El Mosquito were warm, attentive and friendly. As others have noted, this is a low-key and relaxing resort--we were there over the holidays and most of the other guests seemed to be families. For us, it was ideal.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Fresca61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Customer:

It is such a great pleasure to read your review, we thank you very much for your positive feedback and let us know that you really enjoyed your stay at Balcones del Atlántico.

We look forward to host you again in a near future!

Thanks a lot!


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is my fourth stay this year so needless to say we really like this place. On our prior visits we reserved 4 and 5 bedroom penthouses which were excellent except the last one which gad a broken AC in the top bedroom and issues with the jacuzzi. This time we rented a 3 bedroom townhouse. The decor in all was consistently good, as are fixtures Viking appliances. The beach is excellent. Service is friendly. We like the Porto restaurant better than any of the nearby alternatives....the restaurant is airy, elegant, comfortable, breezy even in th summer, right on the water, offers great food and the servers are friendly and attentive. The servers on the beach are also top notch.

After our last stay we figured the non working jacuzzi and AC were a fluke. This time the hot water heater was not working, the wifi did not work, the TVs were not working, the wine cooler was disconnected, the Viking washing machine had a panel that had fallen off and one bathroom had not been fully serviced. The heater was activated the following morning, we received a wifi device, we connected the wine frige ourselves and the unit was serviced the next day. The TVs are not a big deal for us as we did not come here to watch TV, Service was always friendly, but these minor annoyances should not happen in a unit that goes for 1000 per night.

We'll be back, but will wonder what we'll find when we check in.

Room Tip: We've stayed in rooms upfront, in the back and a townhouse. All are nice. The Front Penthouses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjp3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
458 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
147 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $238 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing