We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Greenbush, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfort and Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the most beautiful place to stay in Las Terrenas. My husband and I have been going there for three years during the winter months and always have a great time. I love the comfort of the furnishings and the exquisite linens. Porto, their restaurant, is also amazing. There is no other place in Las Terrenas that can compare.

Room Tip: All the apartments are big and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. We were overlooking one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    49
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
402 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a magical place as well it is Las Terrenas, Samana.

Great infrastructure, it's a Condo Hotel with very nice apartment for rent. The service of the personal is very good along with the Dominican touch of nice service and simpathy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A beautiful resort! Would very much like to thank the entire staff especially - Delmys, Darling, Tina, Maria Luis, Luis and Aneylo from Porto. We stayed in a gorgeous 3 bedroom villa with all kitchen appliances, several bathrooms, large dining area and living room, had a roof top with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at Balcones del Atlantico to attend my cousin's wedding and I was literally "WOW'D" upon entering our room. Each buiding consists of 6 large units, with the top floor adding rooftop terraces with hot tubs and sun rooms. The kitchen is SICK for those of you that appreciate that kind of thing and enjoy cooking in.

Great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our family of six spent seven days and nights at Balcones; it was a long week.

Balcones offers tremendous value: the apartments are spacious and well-appointed, the beach is attractive and allows for long walks (a rarity in the Caribbean), and the Samana region is a great destination with a lot of fun excursions, and easy airport access.

The problem with Balcones is that it has not yet figured out how to be a hotel, despite over a year of trying. Service is friendly but slipshod. Cool towels are handed out at check in but are not collected. Keys were not ready. There was no telephone or safe in the room; the telephone was ultimately hooked up; the safe never arrived. It took three days to get wifi in the room. The grocery list faxed in advance was only partially satisfied. Taxis didn't show up at the appointed times, and the front desk frequently does not answer the phone. Housekeeping is inconsistent-- beds are made but shampoo and other items are not replaced. Although Eunice and Alba were great at stepping in and addressing these items, they should have been handled properly the first time.

At Porto, the (ONLY) restaurant on site, breakfasts are inconsistent: some mornings there was low fat yogurt, other days none. There was no juice for three days (one had to order pineapple syrup from the bar); the juice machine miraculously appeared on Tuesday but had inexplicably disappeared by Saturday. Lunch and dinner were uneven-- sometimes the food was under-cooked, other times it was over-cooked. Identical meals were delivered with starkly different portions. One day the Thai salad was executed flawlessly with lots of tender beef strips cooked perfectly; other days the salad was delivered with a few small pieces of tough and chewy, over-cooked beef.

These items are hotel management 101, and there is no excuse for not getting them right.

Additionally, because of the lack of being a "real" hotel, Balcones offers very little in the range of on-site activities. There are 2 sea kayaks, a rarely-used volleyball court and some masks and snorkels, but that's really it. No tennis courts, sailboats, bocce courts. For couples and families with young children that's great; but for a family with four teen boys, it was fairly brutal. The excursions were fun (we did zip lining and el limon waterfalls) but I really think families with tweens and teens are better of at Club Med in Punta Cana, or perhaps better off staying closer to Las Terranes, as the isolation from the town and the poor food at Porto mean that every meal required a trip into town via local transportation (a pickup truck with benches in the back -- 50 pesos one way) or a taxi ($10 one way).

I will say that town access was a great plus on this trip. Having stayed at several resorts in Punta Cana that feel like a docked-cruise ship, a visit to Samana really feels like you are in a different country. English-speaking was rare, but that's part of why one goes away, so make sure you pack a language guide, and as others have recommended, plenty of cash.

In sum, in order for Balcones to be a true top level destination it has to: 1) work out its multiple service issues; 2) improve meal consistency and quality at Porto; 3) offer more activities geared to families (I stress this not because we are a family, but because the nature of the accommodations are going to appeal naturally to that demographic); and 3) offer greater convenience (like an evening shuttle bus) into town; otherwise most visitors who want the Samana experience are probably best off at the Hotel Alisei.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for visiting Balcones del Atlántico. We sincerely appreciate having you as a guest in our property, and would like to thank you for providing detailed feedback regarding your recent stay. In our efforts to continually improve operations and exceed guest expectations, your comments are not only important, but it is critical to our continuous improvement.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. We look forward to the opportunity to host you in a near future, and again, thank you for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,



Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darien
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

One of the nicest places I have ever been. The kids felt safe and cared for. The people working there were incredibly friendly and courteous. I found the concierge to be most helpful. My wife left her cell phone and he retrieved it and sent it back to us. She had pictures and all her contacts on it. Thanks Darling Del Toro for making wonderful memories for my large family. I think any size family would do well here. Go see for yourself and you too will be going back like I plan on.- Brian McKay Darien CT

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor but then again all the rooms are nice- I promise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckaydarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mr. McKay:

We sincerely appreciate having you as a guest in our property, and would like to thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We strive to ensure all stays exceed expectations and we are very happy to hear that we fulfilled yours in your recent stay at Balcones del Atlantico and that you and your family enjoyed your time in Las Terrenas.

I´ll make sure to share you comments and feeback with the team specially with Darling, that makes my job easier when I´m able to recognize a job well done.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again, and again, it was a pleasure for all of us to have you in our property.

Best regards,


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spent several days at 'Balcones'. There's lot's to like about it. The staff is warm and welcoming, particularly in the restaurant 'Porto', at the beach hut, as well as the housekeeping and maintenance departments. The beach is gorgeous, the food at Porto can be excellent, and you are close to Las Terrenas, with it's varied selection of restaurants. We stayed in a 1BR condo in the newer part of the development. Although it was nicely finished and decorated, it was missing some crucial elements, namely a phone, consistent hot water, a working hot tub and a BBQ, all of which were advertised. We did have the use of a cell phone provided by the hotel, however, coverage was spotty, and we had to wander the grounds to get service. Eventually a phone was installed, as was a charcoal BBQ. However, after 2 weeks, the lack of consistent hot water became a drag. It was never repaired properly, no matter how much we reported the issue. During the first week of our stay, the property was eerily quiet. We saw few guests, usually at breakfast, but the beach and rest of the property were virtually uninhabited. Towards the end of our stay, the hotel became busier. Breakfast was no longer a la carte, (a buffet was served, not as nice), and the competition for beach chairs became a little stiffer. I question whether the resources exist to service a full house, should they get to that point. Ultimately, when we checked out, we were presented with a stiff bill for meals and other extra charges. There was little if any back-up provided to justify the bill. The front desk promised to scan and email the charges so they could be verified by us and our credit card charged for the appropriate amount. 1 week and several unanswered phone calls later, we have not received the information we requested. This will of course lead to disputed credit card charges, the sort of thing nobody wants to deal with after a holiday. Other guests spoke of similar experiences, lots of issues, mostly small and nagging, but very little in the way of effective problem solving.

Transportation to and from the hotel to LT can be challenging. There are no taxis waiting, so a call is required at both ends to arrange it. Plenty of motoconchos to bring you back to the hotel from LT, not so great if you are with a family. Consider renting a vehicle if you are up to driving in the DR. (it's a lovely walk along the beach to town, but not so safe at night if you are considering walking back).

Balcones is potentially a great property. There are many wrinkles that need to be smoothed out if it is to be a viable destination for European and N.American visitors. Currently Balcones promises more than it delivers.

Room Tip: Make sure everything works in the room before you unpack. You may be moving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for providing detailed feedback of your recent stay at Balcones del Atlántico. I´m happy to hear that the Staff was warm and welcoming, I´ll make sure to share your feedback with them.

Tripadvisor is an important part of our strategy to continuously improve the facilities and services we provide our guests. Your candid feedback helps us to achieve that objective and we sincerely appreciate your taking the time to complete this review document.

We hope you will reconsider the decision of return and give us an opportunity to provide you with an experience of a lifetime. Should you decide to visit us in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at mmarte@balcones.com.do to assist with making the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#15 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Property: Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, a beachfront Spa, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samana Peninsula, Balcones del Atlantico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing