We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for a week at Balcones del Atlantico and really enjoyed it. Las Terrenas is a great area and Balcones is perfectly located because it is about 10 minutes outside the bustling town. We were in a top floor villa which was super comfortable, decorated beautifully, with high end appliances etc. Very spacious and comfortable. The staff was kind but it is not a service oriented place like larger resorts though staff is genuine and always willing to help out if you ask. You usually can find at least one staff who speaks decent English and they were very patient with our attempts at Spanish.

Porto, the restaurant, is stunning and most of the food was quite good and the staff there was really nice.

The beach is narrow but gorgeous and the water is crystal clear most days. Some days were very windy which brought a mild surf and lots of wind surfers to observe but others were calm and created great, calm water for our two little kids. The one odd thing is they had lots of chaise lounges on the beach which should have cushions on them (uncomfortable without) but only a handful of cushions. My other minor complaint is they had a hot tub in our villa and 2 hot tubs by the really nice pools but none were warm-- why have hot tubs if they are going to be cool water?

If you are looking for a place that will entertain your kids for you this is not the place. My kids were perfectly happy swimming all day and playing in the sand but that is pretty much the extent of it.

Las Terrenas (10 min away) has a nice night life and some good restaurants but there are lots of motor bikes, trash, and bustle and I wouldn't have wanted to stay directly in town itself unless you want a lot of activity. I don't recommend walking back from town at night to Balcones which we did one night and it was totally pitch black on the road and the sidewalk is not level.

The other thing is taxis are ridiculously expensive and can take a long time to show up-- cost us $80 to the airport, $20 roundtrip to town (less than 10 min drive), $100 roundtrip to Samana etc. If you are a confident driver who doesn't mind driving on winding single lane, hilly roads you way want to consider renting a car.

I really hope Samana doesn't turn into another Punta Cana because the small resort vibe is a great alternative to the larger mega-resort feel of other parts of the DR.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylivatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Balcones del Atlantico is truly a gem that outshines many competitors in the Dominican Republic! I have spent time in Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Punta Cana, Las Galeras, Barahona, and I've been a guest in other hotels in Las Terrenas. Balcones del Atlantico is the best by far. Beginning with its location on an enchanting beach that is full of beautiful coral, Balcones has scenery that is breathtaking. The restaurant Porto has a delicious menu that uses local food products, so everything is fresh. The accomodations are unparalleled. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff is extremely professional and readily available to make your stay memorable. You will find yourself wishing you could stay at Balcones even longer than your vacation allows!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Balcones is a 5 star physical facility on a pristine RD 1/2 mile beach. The jewel is the outdoor restaurant/multiple bars complex 'Porto'. The food was well prepared and drew from the surrounding area for inspiration. The staff throughout were well trained and guest conscious. The nearby town of Las Terrenas had many great restaurants and a lovely French wine bar! The excursions ranged from scuba ,to horseback tours, to atv romps to the native, on the secluded beach, Restaurant Luis... thanks to our 'guides' Tina and Alba from the Balcones!!! Will be back next January.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear valuable guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience in Balcones. We are delighted to read that you loved our Restaurant - Bar Porto and the food, and how you enjoyed your vacations in Las Terrenas.

I´ll make sure to share you comments and feeback with the team specially with Tina and Alba.

Look forward to seeing you in January.

Best regards,

Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just got back from Balcones del Atlantico and had the most wonderful and relaxing five days! Las Terrenas is a gorgeous area and we were thrilled we chose to visit that region for our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We stayed in a beautiful one-bedroom jacuzzi suite at Balcones. The staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. It was a much more personal experience than some of the all-inclusive vacations we've taken. The front desk staff knew our names and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our accommodations. Our room was completely new and did not have a phone yet so the hotel provided us with a cell phone we could carry around and use whenever we needed to contact reception.

The one bedroom suite has an outside dining area complete with dining table and Weber barbeque. As an alternative option to dining at Porto (which is a great restaurant) you can fill out a supermarket shopping list at reception and they will dutifully go off and do the shopping for you! Also outside the suite is the Jacuzzi; when you first get to the resort make sure you ask the staff to fill it up with water…at first we thought this was a bit weird but then we realized that it was just another example of Balcones going above and beyond to make sure everything about the accommodation is fresh and clean.

On our first night at the resort we were invited to a cocktail party at Porto’s beach side bar. It was a great way to meet the staff, including the Food and Beverage Manager (Franklin), the Chef (Bruno), the Front Desk Manager (Darling) and one of the resort owners (Maxaida). All of them were gracious and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. The front desk manager Darling Toro, in particular, was always there to help us with anything we needed. For example, I had to go to the pharmacy in town (5 minutes away from the resort) one morning. Darling immediately arranged for a cab to pick me up and a staff member accompanied me in case they needed to translate.

The resort offers several excursions that can be booked at the front desk. We went zip lining which was a great adventure in itself, but additionally it provides the opportunity to see the countryside, drive through the city of Samana and to have a delicious lunch of fresh fish on a secluded beach. There’s an excursion in which you can snorkel with whales...check when they are migrating past the island if this is something you’d like to do!

If excursions aren’t for you then the beach is a great place to relax; its quiet, relatively secluded and the water is great. There are also two pools available, both really nice and
When you visit the resort make sure you take cash as there isn’t an ATM available unless you go into the town. You can charge most things to your room, but you will need cash to pay for taxis, excursions, meals in the adjacent town and of course tips. If you can try to book a flight to Samana (AZS) instead of Santo Domingo (SDQ) as SDQ is a 2-hour drive to and from the resort and the car transfer is pricey.

Bottom line – we would definitely recommend Balcones del Atlantico and we hope to be able to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Balcones in late December and had a wonderful time. It is a relatively new, well designed resort, and you can sense the high quality of the buildings and grounds. The area is a great blend of 'remote feeling' -- the beach feels like its at the end of the earth, with nothing else around - gorgeous, and yet there are enough people and families around that it doesn't feel desolate. We spent most of our days at the beach and eating at Porto, which everyone was very happy with. The food is great. There are also terrific restaurants 10 minutes away in town if you want to venture out. There are other excursions - ziplining and El Limon waterfall if you want to break up your beach days a bit.

One definitely gets the feeling that everyone at Balcones is working very hard and really trying to make this place the best for their guests. That is huge. There was one morning my son stepped on a bee and a bunch of employees around the pool stopped what they were doing, showed great concern, ran around trying to find cream and garlic (?) and the whole scene was just very sweet and probably not something you'd see at a larger resort.
My one complaint would be that Balcones needs to 'commit' a little bit more to the hotel side of things. If it want to be a five-star hotel -- and the units, grounds, pools, beach, etc live up to that, the staff at the beach and restaurant need to step it up a bit. One example - room service. Don't serve it in plastic and not take it away unless a guest calls. The assumption is it will be transferred to plates already in the cabinets, but that's not why I order room service. I order room service so that we don't have to do dishes! No dishes on vacation :)!
The towel service at the beach also needs a little work. While the guys are very attentive and willing to help you with cushions, towels etc., there were several mornings when towels were not available until mid afternoon. That's annoying and not in keeping with the quality of the rest of the place.
We had a wonderful babysitter, Delmys, who normally worked at the front desk, but they let her go for a few hours each day so she could come help us. She was wonderful, so nice to have around, and the kids loved her. That's the kind of place this is...They do everything it takes to make your stay great. If you want an out of the way spot with your family that is luxurious but not 'too much,' this is it. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catherine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Balcones del Atlantico over Christmas break with our daughters (ages 11 & 8) and had a wonderful week. The villas were decorated beautifully, the food was delicious at Porto (the chef came to teach us to cook one night in our villa - so much fun!), and the beach was picture-perfect. The staff was warm and welcoming - and a spa just opened. This place is a real find - so low key in its feel - and at the same time so luxurious. We took the new direct flight on jetBlue out of JFK and the airport was an easy 25 min. drive. What a relief to be away on a busy week & not have to stress out over saving chairs at the beach and pool - there was always a free spot, no need to worry about reservations for dinner - a perfect, unhurried week where we were able to truly relax and recharge. We took a 1/2 day excursion to El Limon waterfall which exceeded our expectations. Internet access worked great - we felt connected yet at the same time so far away. Would highly recommend for a family vacation and/or couples getaway. Friends of ours are already planning to return in March for whale-watching. We would highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for a room closer to the beach - we were the second building in, which was a perfect locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slender28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Balcones del Atlántico on Tripadvisor! It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Our hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation, your comments and feedback help us to do so.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Balcones del Atlántico and provide you an unforgettable experience.

Thanks a lot!


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I spent Christmas week at Balcones del Atlantico in Las Terranas on the Samana Peninsula. It is a relatively undiscovered area filled with extraordinary beaches. We stayed at Balcones which is a beautiful condo/hotel. The unit was large and well appointed. The beach very nice and a good point to discover the region via excursions. Advance research will help making the trip more successful. Know that this is not really a resort. There are few facilities and only 1 restaurant. The front desk is limited, in fact they can't even provide change for you and their advice is inconsistent. Most places in the region do not accept credit cards, so be prepared with loads of cash. It's expensive to take a cab to town to get money from the ATM which have hefty fees. Porto, the restaurant is good, but has a limited menu. The staff at Balcones is lovely and friendly, but Spanish is helpful. Suggested excursions include El Limon waterfall, day trip to Playa Coson w/ fabulous lunch at Peninsula House's Beach restaurant (cash only) and Los Haitises national Park. It's definitely one of the nicest places to stay in the region and a great place to use as a base to discover this beautiful region.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous 3 bedroom suite with hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njfpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for providing detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Balcones del Atlantico, I´m glad to hear that you really enjoyed your room and the hotel facilities.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Our hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. Your feedback is not only important, but it is critical to our continuous improvement, we will definitely make the necessary adjustments.

Again, thank you for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor; we hope you will visit us again.

Thanks a lot!


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $220 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing