We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its a paradise in middle of the Samaná Region. Its a beachfront hotel with all what you need for rest and enjoy all. Very good food, pools, nature, churc, children's areas and every thing you need.
Personal perfectly trainned to serve you. I higly recommend this hotel for your vacations!

Room Tip: Third floor in front of pools
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank José Odalis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Its a really beautiful place.. Amazing beach and apartments are cute and confortable, nice people, nice pool.. The only thing is they don't have a restaurant within the hotel, but they include some meals on your package in a restaurant close of the hotel and they take you there, but I recomend to go out and explore local restaurants and bars around the hotel.. They're nice and cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well, it is a fairly new establishment and when we stayed here in February it was definitely expierencing some growing pains. They were unorganized in terms of accommodations even though we were literally one of six families staying there at the time. One of the women at the front desk was clueless and always baffled and seemed to have no training or knowledge of the hotel. Our first night was miserable because we got in late after a two hour bus ride (nobody told usthat) where it literally seemed like we were driving through hell. Anyway we were given the wrong room and it was a rough first night. However besides that our stay was wonderful and vey positive. The beach is exquisite and although it is not all that big it is a great space to relax in paradise. The food at the restaurant was very good and the chef Bruno toso was extremely knowledgable and willing to talk to his customers about their meals and was open to any suggestions. I really believe Bruno is an up and coming star as a chef in the Caribbean area. One more positive thing I would like to add was that most of the staff was very helpful and out going even though most of them did not speak English. I have to give a shout out to my man Ricardo who helped us relocate rooms, fix the wifi and was very understanding and easy to communicate with. Also we loved all of the waitstaff at the restaurant especially Anyelo who was an absolute homie and was hilarious.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent a week here relaxing and seeing the local countryside. The condos they rent come ready to live in with utensils and bottled water for the icemaker and for drinking, and are among the nicest anywhere in the world. The staff was very helpful and promptly attended to every request. They arranged transportation, excursions and activities on the property. Our housekeeper went well over expectations thinking of things we would like without even a hint from us. The food at "Porto" was excellent. We arrived late on a Sunday night and were tired more than hungry, but felt we should eat something. All of us were immediately impressed with both the taste and presentation of the meals. Bruno Taso, the Peruvian chef, was very personable, friendly and eager to provide whatever we asked for. He even gave us a ceviche demonstration and history lesson one day at lunch, which was absolutely the best I have eaten. We felt very safe here and would return witout hesitation.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms as far as I can tell. We had options of 2 or 3 bedrooms. There were 2 plasm...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

All you can see and do, best sand, best resort, best location, best people, more for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oscar_monzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and I visited Balcones del Atlantic in early March for Spring Break. Since our plane from the US got in very late, we stayed in Santo Domingo overnight and had the BdA shuttle pick us up in the morning. It was a long, winding drive and I would not have wanted to make the trip at night or in our own car. We were greeted by the very friendly, helpful staff and were shown to our absolutely huge accommodations -- five bathrooms and three bedrooms! The condo was beautifully appointed inside and out -- the enormous furnished balcony was like having another living room to enjoy. The grounds were beautiful and immaculately kept.

We spent a relaxing six days enjoying the grounds, exploring the beach and seeing local sites. In all, it was a truly relaxing, luxurious trip. A few specifics:
-- In early March, which was the early side of Spring Break in the US, it was pretty quiet at BdA. That made it relaxing, but sometimes it was almost too quiet. If you're looking for a place that's really lively and full of activities, this is not the place for you (at least at that time of year... perhaps it picks up in other months.)
-- We had a package that included food credits at Porto. It's a beautiful restaurant and the food was good, but as it's the only place to eat at the facility, we got tired of eating there rather quickly. We explored other options in town and cooked in our kitchen a few times as well.
-- We'd hoped to have better snorkeling right off the beach at BdA but partly due to weather/water conditions and also due to the location we did not. This beach is not great for snorkeling. There are snorkeling tours available from Las Terranes but they weren't available during our stay either.
-- We loved the little cabanas nestled in the palm trees along the beach. Settled in to the cushioned chairs with a clear view of the ocean, umbrella drink in hand, a good book to read, and family nearby it was about as close to a perfect afternoon as you can have!

Room Tip: We were in building 2 -- perfect location. Not too far from the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mfabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in early March with our 1.5 year old son. Our room was spacious and comfortable; there was nothing not to love about the rooms. Our building was a little further setback from the beach, so about a 5-7 minute walk. It didn't bother us, but it might be nice to request a unit close to the beach. Our package included a few meals at the restaurant. I found the restaurant to be a bit overpriced (eggs/potatoes with toast and a coffee is $18 + 16% tax + 10% service). Dinner was ok, but nothing spectacular. We went to all sorts of different restaurants in town, the best being La Salsa and El Cayuco. They were all wonderful and very cheap in comparison to the hotel restaurant. The service at the hotel was overall very friendly and good, albeit slightly rough around the edges, which I've come to expect from more developing countries. There were only 2 very minor things that I could have done without:
1. We went to the front desk to ask for restaurant recs. She recommended a restaurant, which happened to be the #1 restaurant on tripadvisor. I asked where it is and she had no idea. She highlighted on a map which road it is on (the largest road in Las Terrenas that EVERYTHING is off of), but couldn't tell me where it was on the road. I had her make reservations for us. We drove back and forth on the road and even stopped to ask for directions, but we couldn't find it. Granted, we had a screaming toddler in the backseat, so it's not like we spent half hour looking for the restaurant, but we did give it a good shot. The front desk lady called later that night asking why we didn't show up to the restaurant and was dumbfounded when we said we couldn't find it.
2. I swam in the pool 3 different days. The first day was fine, but the other 2 were kind of gross. They hadn't cleaned it (I was the only one at the pool) so there were lots of dead bugs and debris in it. Not super bothersome because my son made a game out of splashing away the dead bugs, but nonetheless not what you'd expect from a nice hotel.
Despite those minor things, we still hope to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Choose a unit close to the beach
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank usckim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
146 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
156 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $241 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing