We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in early March with our 1.5 year old son. Our room was spacious and comfortable; there was nothing not to love about the rooms. Our building was a little further setback from the beach, so about a 5-7 minute walk. It didn't bother us, but it might be nice to request a unit close to the beach. Our package included a few meals at the restaurant. I found the restaurant to be a bit overpriced (eggs/potatoes with toast and a coffee is $18 + 16% tax + 10% service). Dinner was ok, but nothing spectacular. We went to all sorts of different restaurants in town, the best being La Salsa and El Cayuco. They were all wonderful and very cheap in comparison to the hotel restaurant. The service at the hotel was overall very friendly and good, albeit slightly rough around the edges, which I've come to expect from more developing countries. There were only 2 very minor things that I could have done without:
1. We went to the front desk to ask for restaurant recs. She recommended a restaurant, which happened to be the #1 restaurant on tripadvisor. I asked where it is and she had no idea. She highlighted on a map which road it is on (the largest road in Las Terrenas that EVERYTHING is off of), but couldn't tell me where it was on the road. I had her make reservations for us. We drove back and forth on the road and even stopped to ask for directions, but we couldn't find it. Granted, we had a screaming toddler in the backseat, so it's not like we spent half hour looking for the restaurant, but we did give it a good shot. The front desk lady called later that night asking why we didn't show up to the restaurant and was dumbfounded when we said we couldn't find it.
2. I swam in the pool 3 different days. The first day was fine, but the other 2 were kind of gross. They hadn't cleaned it (I was the only one at the pool) so there were lots of dead bugs and debris in it. Not super bothersome because my son made a game out of splashing away the dead bugs, but nonetheless not what you'd expect from a nice hotel.
Despite those minor things, we still hope to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Choose a unit close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usckim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    49
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
97
46
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Having traveled in more than 18 countries in 2011 alone including French Polynesia and Hawaii and having visited multiple resorts around the world I can guarantee you that this place is the best resort you can go to in the Samana peninsula. Athmosphere, staff, amenities, restaurant, location, beach, food, everything is great! :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinbeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent a week at Balcones del Atlantico in mid-late February, two boys under 6, parents, and grandparents. The accommodations were lovely, including balcony shades that could be lowered and secured at night but were open to the breeze during the day. Plenty of bathrooms, dishes, towels, and places to sit. Room service cleaned and washed dishes. The hot tub was fixed after we complained. Across the road is a good beach with unthreatening breakers, lounges, and a lovely restaurant. On weekends, the place (and the beach) filled up with families (from Santo Domingo?) and was noisy, but the presence of young kids livened things up, especially the pool areas. Trips into town on a cab yielded fresh fish from an outdoor market, supplies from a supermercado, and cash from a Scotiabank ATM, with more restaurants with good fish. The kids loved the beach, which has some shade from coconut trees and a cooling breeze. We hooked up our Appletv to the TVs and used Amazon and Netflix through the excellent WiFi connection. Nearby activities included the zipline (don't take young kids), whale watching, and a trip to a friend's farm near a beach. Definite 3rd world feel in being catered to by staff, especially if your Spanish is weak; slightly weak upkeep. One highlight was watching ceviche prepared for us by the beach restaurant chef -- delicious and informative. Another was getting a meal prepared in our lodgings by a chef from a nearby restaurant. Great weather, even when it rains. We took an expensive two-hour van ride to and from the SD airport.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Loved our stay at Balcones Del Atlantico. Old couple in our fifties spent six nights in a penthouse property that had three bedrooms. Rather large for two but very spacious and comfy. Loved the bed and baths. Kitchen was well equipped but we only used it for morning coffee and afternoon cocktails. Used hot tub which was nice. Did not make use of the pools though there were two and looked very inviting. Only problem was with housekeeping on two different days. One day they did not show up and the second day I called to request housekeeping and it was not completed until late in the afternoon after I called to complain. This needs to be resolved by the property. But everything else was great. Loved the beach and the restaurant on the beach. The waiters and bartenders were friendly and worked very hard. Bruno the chef was delightful and the food was very good. As another reviewer stated, the language barrier can be an issue but you are traveling in a foreign country where everyone does not speak English. This is something we rather like. It was great to be in the minority. Many Europeans on the island. The Balcones property is beautiful as is the beach. The landscaping was impressive. The only improvements in the condo would be a larger coffee pot and a makeup mirror. The balcony was a great place for morning coffee and afternoon cocktails. All in all, a great stay. Would recommend to anyone who does not like an AI and wants to be away from it all.

Room Tip: Would choose a penthouse if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family, including 2 children age 10 and 17, travelled to Las Terrenas between Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful time. The staff at Balcones was very warm and helpful. They worked with us to arrange day trips, recommended a wonderful restaurant that was totally off the beaten path, as well as arranged services such as massages that made our stay very enjoyable.

The room was pristine, and perfect for a family--2 bedrooms, a sitting area balcony and kitchen. This meant we had a "home" on the beach to return to between activities. While costly, it was less expensive than booking 2 rooms in a traditional hotel, and the kitchen meant we could prepare our own breakfasts and snacks

We liked, but did not love, the restaurant; it was a bit expensive and the food not up to our picky New Yorker standards. But there are wonderful, inexpensive places in town that are easy to get to and right on the beach.

One thing we did with the children that I recommend was travel down with a suitcase full of art supplies for a local community organization called Fundacion Mahatma Ghandi. http://fundacionmahatmagandhi.com/FR_FMGAbout.html (If you want to do the same, reach out first to make sure of what they need at the time!)

Despite its natural beauty, and the growth of the tourist industry, Las Terrenas remains quite poor, with high illiteracy, unemployment and school drop out rates. Jose and Annette, who run FMG, have created a wonderful educational center/after school program that seeks to address these issues, and includes the only lending library in the north of the DR--housing 4500 books! We were very inspired by what they had created.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pbsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thanks for your review!

We truly apreciate your comments and have already reacted to them, as you talked with one of our managment team members during your checkout and let him know about your feelings on the menu prices. A week after you gave us your comments we opened a new allday family friendly menu with more choices for kids, and we opened a second menu for evening time at the celler area with a more upgraded culinary experience.

We would like to thank you as both new menus has pleased a lot of our regular and new visitors! We listen and react to the needs of our costumers.

About FMG, they trully do a great job with the comunity, nice that you did that donation!!

Hope to see you back at Las Terrenas!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We ( a family group of 2 seniors and 3 adults) stayed at this luxury property from Jan. 11- 16. We were celebrating a milestone birthday. As we arrived we were awed by the grounds and when we entered the unit by the spaciousness of the 3 bedroom penthouse and its furnishings. Our refrigerator was stocked with the items we had ordered. They provided two packets of coffee each day. We stocked up on juice, milk, water (lots of it), cereal, cold cuts and bread so that we could have breakfast and two lunches in the unit. The beach was nice light colored sand and great for walking. The water was calm while we were there. Although across the street there was always security to help with traffic. We ate in Porto's every night and two lunches. The staff was always pleasant ... our waiter in the evening was Pablo who went out of his way to be friendly and helpful. He also spoke good English which was a real "plus". I was disappointed that at the time we were there the only fish available was shrimp and mahi, mahi. Chef Bruno explained they only cook what is caught locally. The Shrimp Terreneros with a coconut sauce and the Nem spring rolls were outstanding as were the daiquiris. We spent most nights in the Jacuzzi … it was so relaxing with a glass of wine and the star studded sky. We only left the property for a short excursion into town. The town was hectic and due to some physical limitations not a place we wished to spend a lot of time in.
It was truly a great vacation. The only negative comment I have to say is very few people had any knowledge of English. This made communication in the airport, on the trip from the airport and with the staff at the resort very difficult. It was a long ride from the airport even with the new road (2 hours). Chavo, our driver met us in the airport and escorted us to the van. He was very pleasant and helpful but his lack of English and our lack of any knowledge of Spanish meant there was no commentary of the beautiful scenery or towns we passed thru. Communicating needs to the staff at the resort was also difficult. We had wished we had a list of Spanish words to help us. Our waiter, Pablo told us they are hoping to teach the staff more English as soon as a school comes to town. It would be a big improvement.
In summary, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who was looking for a beautiful, quiet relaxing beach experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol34162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you Carol for your review!

Its is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the ideas, we are in fact thinking in printing some usefull words in spanish/ english on the roomkeys, so they would be usefull as pocketcard translator! Also, we are preparing a pdf presentation with photos and details of what you are watching. The rice fields, the oilpalm fields, the Los Haitises National Park... In fact we consider this trip as an excursion!

I already congratulated Pablo as you mentioned him on your review, thanks again for your nice comments, we hope to see you back at Balcones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful apartment, very well furnished, with a feeling that you are at home. Good service, very attentive. People are kind, happy and try to make the best fo your stay. Beaches are wonderful. Still lack amenities, spa, yoga, gym, tennis courts and different water activities. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you Mrs. Pieretti for your comments!

That is exactly what we are lloking for! That you feel home during your vacation, we try to treat all of our costumers as if they were all friends! We are looking forward to improve our amenities during this year, and yes, the Spa is in the plans!

Hope to welcome you back at Balcones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#15 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Property: Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, a beachfront Spa, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samana Peninsula, Balcones del Atlantico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing