We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family, including 2 children age 10 and 17, travelled to Las Terrenas between Christmas and New Year and had a wonderful time. The staff at Balcones was very warm and helpful. They worked with us to arrange day trips, recommended a wonderful restaurant that was totally off the beaten path, as well as arranged services such as massages that made our stay very enjoyable.

The room was pristine, and perfect for a family--2 bedrooms, a sitting area balcony and kitchen. This meant we had a "home" on the beach to return to between activities. While costly, it was less expensive than booking 2 rooms in a traditional hotel, and the kitchen meant we could prepare our own breakfasts and snacks

We liked, but did not love, the restaurant; it was a bit expensive and the food not up to our picky New Yorker standards. But there are wonderful, inexpensive places in town that are easy to get to and right on the beach.

One thing we did with the children that I recommend was travel down with a suitcase full of art supplies for a local community organization called Fundacion Mahatma Ghandi. http://fundacionmahatmagandhi.com/FR_FMGAbout.html (If you want to do the same, reach out first to make sure of what they need at the time!)

Despite its natural beauty, and the growth of the tourist industry, Las Terrenas remains quite poor, with high illiteracy, unemployment and school drop out rates. Jose and Annette, who run FMG, have created a wonderful educational center/after school program that seeks to address these issues, and includes the only lending library in the north of the DR--housing 4500 books! We were very inspired by what they had created.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Thanks for your review!

We truly apreciate your comments and have already reacted to them, as you talked with one of our managment team members during your checkout and let him know about your feelings on the menu prices. A week after you gave us your comments we opened a new allday family friendly menu with more choices for kids, and we opened a second menu for evening time at the celler area with a more upgraded culinary experience.

We would like to thank you as both new menus has pleased a lot of our regular and new visitors! We listen and react to the needs of our costumers.

About FMG, they trully do a great job with the comunity, nice that you did that donation!!

Hope to see you back at Las Terrenas!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We ( a family group of 2 seniors and 3 adults) stayed at this luxury property from Jan. 11- 16. We were celebrating a milestone birthday. As we arrived we were awed by the grounds and when we entered the unit by the spaciousness of the 3 bedroom penthouse and its furnishings. Our refrigerator was stocked with the items we had ordered. They provided two packets of coffee each day. We stocked up on juice, milk, water (lots of it), cereal, cold cuts and bread so that we could have breakfast and two lunches in the unit. The beach was nice light colored sand and great for walking. The water was calm while we were there. Although across the street there was always security to help with traffic. We ate in Porto's every night and two lunches. The staff was always pleasant ... our waiter in the evening was Pablo who went out of his way to be friendly and helpful. He also spoke good English which was a real "plus". I was disappointed that at the time we were there the only fish available was shrimp and mahi, mahi. Chef Bruno explained they only cook what is caught locally. The Shrimp Terreneros with a coconut sauce and the Nem spring rolls were outstanding as were the daiquiris. We spent most nights in the Jacuzzi … it was so relaxing with a glass of wine and the star studded sky. We only left the property for a short excursion into town. The town was hectic and due to some physical limitations not a place we wished to spend a lot of time in.
It was truly a great vacation. The only negative comment I have to say is very few people had any knowledge of English. This made communication in the airport, on the trip from the airport and with the staff at the resort very difficult. It was a long ride from the airport even with the new road (2 hours). Chavo, our driver met us in the airport and escorted us to the van. He was very pleasant and helpful but his lack of English and our lack of any knowledge of Spanish meant there was no commentary of the beautiful scenery or towns we passed thru. Communicating needs to the staff at the resort was also difficult. We had wished we had a list of Spanish words to help us. Our waiter, Pablo told us they are hoping to teach the staff more English as soon as a school comes to town. It would be a big improvement.
In summary, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who was looking for a beautiful, quiet relaxing beach experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol34162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Thank you Carol for your review!

Its is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the ideas, we are in fact thinking in printing some usefull words in spanish/ english on the roomkeys, so they would be usefull as pocketcard translator! Also, we are preparing a pdf presentation with photos and details of what you are watching. The rice fields, the oilpalm fields, the Los Haitises National Park... In fact we consider this trip as an excursion!

I already congratulated Pablo as you mentioned him on your review, thanks again for your nice comments, we hope to see you back at Balcones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful apartment, very well furnished, with a feeling that you are at home. Good service, very attentive. People are kind, happy and try to make the best fo your stay. Beaches are wonderful. Still lack amenities, spa, yoga, gym, tennis courts and different water activities. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pieretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Thank you Mrs. Pieretti for your comments!

That is exactly what we are lloking for! That you feel home during your vacation, we try to treat all of our costumers as if they were all friends! We are looking forward to improve our amenities during this year, and yes, the Spa is in the plans!

Hope to welcome you back at Balcones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Excellent location, comfortable and beautiful rooms, amazing food at Porto, and a very friendly staff. They need to train their staff a bit more to guarantee a reliable service and avoid mishaps (particularly since it's an expensive hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patty0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Thank you Patricia for your feedback!

Since we officially opened the Hotel 8 months ago, we have continuously worked in trainings with all of our “talents”, and we continue doing so ( and will continue for a long time).
Las Terrenas is a new destination and we need to create efficiency from scratch, but on the other side we have the friendliest people in the island, who will run the extra mile for a costumer.
I hope you and your parents enjoyed your stay and will choose us again in the future as your home away from home !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have to admit before writing this review, Las Terrenas was not the first choice on our list for a little family getaway but a friend recommended it to us and we were pleasantly surprised!

We arrived late afternoon and we were greeted by 2 very friendly gentlemen, Ricardo and David. They made the check in process very easy and it took less than 5 minutes for us to be taken to what I call,"Better than Home".

The condo/villa was truly spectacular! We were assigned a 3 bedroom, first floor unit, with a jacuzzi in the garden. Upon entering the first thing I noticed was the kitchen, WOW, I love to cook and this was like heaven. All Viking appliances and high end utensils, better than I could ever have at home. The rooms were spacious but not too big. The beds were so COMFORTABLE, I even googled the bed and linens when I got home...

We spent a little bit of time at the beach but the water was very rough, so we ended up spending more time in the jacuzzi. There was a pool just around the corner of the villa, but we did not use it as we were with 2 little children and it was easier to stay in.

Although I like to cook, we decided to visit the on property restaurant named "Porto" and we were very pleasantly surprised of the quality of the food. The first meal we had was dinner, and my husband and I went by ourselves and left the children with my parents (much needed). When we arrived, we were greeted by the restaurant manager, Franklin. He brought us to our table and presented the menu. At this time he also told us that unfortunately not everything in the menu was available. Usually this would upset us, but he proceeded to explain that because the ocean was rough it was hard to get all of the seafood ingredients as the fish was brought in daily by the local fisherman. So we ended up asking him to recommend was he thought was the best he had to offer, and he did indeed. We had the most amazing fish on a bed of mashed potatoes and topped with squid. Needless to say, we ended up using the kitchen less than anticipated, as we returned for breakfast the next day!.

We really had a great time and the resort offered exactly what we wanted, a relaxing vacation at a place that did not feel like a resort. This place felt like home but better.

If I may, I would like to add something regarding the previous comment: My husband is more adventurous than I and he decided we have lunch in the little adjacent town. Unfortunately it seemed like everything closes for lunch at the time we like to eat and we ended up stopping a little beachside restaurant called Mojito. We asked if the fish was fresh and the waitress assured us it was, so we ordered "Mero" to our awful surprise, the fish that was served to us was a farm grown fish that was of very bad quality, they called it "Mero Basa" We ended up returning it and eating chicken, which was alright. Julio G mentions helping the local community and I agree but what from what I can determine, most of the restaurants and business' have French or Itallian names, and Mojito was owned by a Cuban. So if we are looking at local economy, I would much rather pay a little more for a great meal at a place that helps the locals by serving REAL fish, than paying less for a fish bought at the local supermarket...

Room Tip: Ask for building 14, it's close to the beach and pool but not right on the main road, so very pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Saludos Jennifer!

Thank you for having chosen Balcones as your place in Las Terrenas!, we appreciate your comments!
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your gastronomic experience at Porto as we understand that a real holiday must be attached to a great culinary experience, and it’s great to get your feedback and appreciation.
Hope to see you back at Balcones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Balcones del Atlantico welcomed us at one gorgeous Penthouse Villa, which was beautifully appointed with a private Jacuzzi tub on the roof top and stunning views.

Their restaurant Porto, hosted us for a fabulous dinner with champagne! The food was so fresh and delicious. In addition to our wonderful experience we met Pedro, the GM and Franklin, F&B Director, who arranged a private ceviche cooking class and wine tasting for us. Fantastic! Their Peruvian Chef came out and showcased his signature " out of this world" ceviche! Wow! Everything was impeccable!
The staff was very attentive and personable. Luis made us smaile every day!

Thank you for making our experience a very unique! This is the gem of Las Terrenas and Samana.
Don't miss!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amici13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Thank your for the designation of been the Gem of Samana!!!

We trully work everiday with the focus of becoming the best destination in the Dominican Republic, Las Terrenas has a lot to offer, the gastronomic experience here it is an authentic and indiginous one, but with the french and italian accent that is mandatory in the Town, and the new adition of the Peruvian taste, but always with fresh, local and sustainable products. As we always say, there is no salmon in the DR, there can not be salmon in our menu.

See you back in paradise, february is the Carnaval month, maybe the best time to live a out of the box experience at Balcones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

It was the first time in Dominican Republic for me and my husband. And we wanted to have a good summer holiday, all by ourselves. What we loved about here is the comfort and luxury.
It was the 3rd week of September. So the weather was a bit more rainy and stormy as expected. But we had the sunshine and the beautiful beach. And as it was not a peak season,we were there all alone. It's not like a crowded all-included hotel that you hear loud music and people screaming all the time.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. As non-spanish speakers,it meant a lot. They helped us to find an agency to see the waterfall close-by ,which is heavenly great place!
The restaurant here,Porto, is perfect. Especially the seafood dishes were excellent and not pricey.
The transportation from the santo domingo airport to the hotel lasts almost 3 hours and costs you $440,both ways including tips. And we weren't informed about the price before the reservation. So we learned it the day before we got there. You may try to rent a car from the airport as well.

Room Tip: Choose a place close to the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ozgecanunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Saludos Ozgecanunal!
Thank you for your review, and comments! Just a quick update about transportation from Santo Domingo airport, the last piece of the new road heading to Las Terrenas was finally inaugurated and the trip takes now from 1’45 to 2 hours, with some magnificent views over the Atlantic Ocean! About your recommendation of renting a car, I fully agree, it is probably the best way to get to Balcones, and you will have the car to enjoy the town and all the different areas of the Samana Peninsula. The new road, is secured and clean, I have prepared a PDF file that will show you how to get here in a really easy way, if you visit back again email us so we can send it to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences
2 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
578 reviews
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
475 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
#9 of 54 in Samana Province
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $245 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing