We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful People and Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I took my mom with me for a week at Balcones at the end of August...and we were extremely excited when we arrived...We arranged car service through the hotel and they were waiting for us upon arrival...Beautiful drive through incredible scenery but got a bit 'scary' as we got closer to the resort...lots of construction but the driver was fantastic! As we approached the resort, we drove through LasTerranas which was definately a "local" town...very few tourists...The hotel was unbelievably beautiful. We were warmly greeted upon check-in by Ricardo and staff and given a refreshing cocktail then taken to our room...We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa with the 2nd floor being a deck with hot tub...Exquisitely decorated. Beautiful view of the pool. The beach is actually across the street from the resort but there is nothing else around so it is perfect...Beautiful stretch of white sand and the best part "hardly any people"...The restaurant Porto was fantastic and the chef, Bruno was brilliant and created a wonderful variety of choices...The only downside was that Hurricane Irene came through while we were there....For our safety, the staff relocated us to a lower unit and made sure that we had a phone that worked and provided food during the time the restaurant was closed...After the storm passed my mom & I along with another family from California were given a wine tasting and ceviche making class and shown a movie as "the survivors of Hurricane Irene" They were great! There was alot of rain and wind but we survived and they took great care of us...We unfortunately didn't get a chance to do much of the eco-sightseeing but we did get a ride on a scooter into town and did some shopping...Since the area is newly developed and still growing there is some construction and not alot of people speak fluent English but the are learning and very willing to try...All in all we had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naymous2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Naymous2010'

You trully can tell you survived Irene!!! We really enjoy during the Ceviche & Wine experience! Just FYI, the last part of the new road heading the Hotel from Santo Domingo Airport it's going to be inaugurated in the next couple of weeks so, finally we will have our new road up and running for your next visit.

Thanks for sharing your experience!!!

Saludos from Balcones!!

PS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Excelent hotel located in the most beautiful plece, with wonderfull beaches, very nice two bedrooms appartments., well furnished, friendly service, ideal to spend vacation with the family. Many good restaurants around. We stay two days with my wife and my daughter and we expect to stay for a loger period next time.

Room Tip: penhouses are the best with a very nice yacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARLOS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Saludos CarlosE,

Thanks for cheating on your regular Hotel at La Romana, your opinion is really i mportant for us, as you compare us with one of the most rename and longtime stablish Hotels in the DR. It was great having you and your familly staying at Balcones, and we are looking forward to welcome you back, here at your new home away from home at Las Terrenas!


Saludos from Balcones!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived at Balcones del Atlantico at the end of May 2011. The hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent and the Samana peninsula was recommended to us by a Dominican friend and we are indebted to both of them because we had the vacation of a LIFETIME! Everything about the Balcones del Atlantico hotel was the epitome of perfection. In fact, to show you how I felt (and still feel) about the vacation, below is the email I sent to our travel agent the day before we left.

"Dear Randy,

I just wanted to thank you again for helping us plan what has been a
spectacular trip. I honestly cannot say enough nice things about this
hotel. First of all, we were picked up by a very nice car service
called El Chavo which made the drive from Santo Domingo to Samana much
more pleasant. Upon our arrival at Balcones del Atlantico, Maxaida
Marte and her colleagues greeted us in exactly the way you would want
to be greeted after a pretty long trip. In addition, they upgraded our
room to a three bedroom duplex apartment and even stocked the
refrigerator for us even though I sent the request very late. The
apartment they gave us is something out of a dream. It was impeccably
clean and truly gorgeous in appearance.

The people here are absolutely wonderful and do everything perfectly,
particularly in terms of hospitality. The hotel is definitely luxury
and I would even say it goes above and beyond what is expected of a
luxury hotel. The restaurant is not only gorgeous but has fantastic
food and drinks. They serve some of the freshest fruit, vegetables,
fish and meat I have ever tasted in my life. Every single member of
the staff has been extraordinarily professional, accommodating,
hard-working and kind. The people who run this place must be very nice
people because their staff seems happy every minute of every day. In
addition, the hotel arranged an amazing excursion for us through
company called Flora (I think) with a man named David to a gigantic
waterfall in a place called El Salto de Limon. It was wonderful!

As I'm sure you can tell, we have had the most amazing time here and
it will be really hard for us to leave tomorrow. We cannot wait to
come back with family and friends to show them how fantastic this
hotel is.

Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!!"

This hotel was truly something out of a dream. From start to finish it was everything we could have asked for and more. The beach was spectacular, the beach club was fantastic, the restaurant and all its employees were fabulous, hospitable, professional, helpful, and beyond lovely. There is a great area with bars and clubs about a $5 cab ride away. We still talk about how fantastic our experience was to this day and cannot wait to go back. Anyone who is interested in going to a gorgeous and luxurious paradise like nothing you've ever seen before should RUN to Balcones del Atlantico. You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AODELL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalconesGM, General Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Dear Andreajustino,

It was a pleasure to host you at Balcones, you were one of the first american young couples that we have received and were really happy to know that we fulfill your expectation for a only couple holiday. We are finding some new activities to enjoy in the area, scuba diving is incredible, kite sur fing or the new Coffe route excursion... Looking forward to have you back at Balcones!!!

Saludos!!!

PS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We first visited Balcones del Atlantico in December of 2010. At the time we were scouting wedding locations in the Dominican Republic and had visited Punta Cana, Cap Cana, Cabarete, Sosua, and Boca Chica.

We fell in love with Las Terrenas from our first moments there. We loved the fact that beaches and town still had a Dominican feel to them, and that it wasn't too touristy. The beaches were amongst the most beautiful we had seen, and they were not crowded with tourists from all-inclusive resorts. The town also has a host of nightlife and dining options including multiple choices for outstanding French and Italian cuisine from European ex-pats that have moved to Las Terrenas.

Our biggest concern with Las Terrenas was that we were consistently told that there was not a venue that could adequately hold a 150-200 person wedding. A friend of ours told us to look into Balcones del Atlantico since they had recently opened up and were trying to bring a new market to the area. On our first visit there we knew that Balcones would be the best place to hold our wedding, but we had a few reservations including the fact that we would be their first wedding. After a lot of discussion, soul searching, and a second trip we realized that no other place in the Dominican Republic could compare. A month after our wedding we have ZERO regrets about hosting our friends and family there for such a special occasion in our lives.

Balcones is an amazing resort, and will only get better with time. Their suites are upscale and classy. Their rooms will make you feel like royalty. Their grounds, gardens, and pools are exquisite.

The restaurant is in a breathtaking location right on the beach. The cuisine accommodates a variety of tastes from traditional Dominican to innovative arrangements for their fresh fish of the day to traditional pizzas, burgers and fries. The Dominican Breakfast was a huge hit with all of our family & friends visiting from the US. The chef, Bruno, is not only amazing in the kitchen, but during our rehearsal dinner and wedding was attentive enough to ensure that we both had food waiting for us when we could catch a break. The restaurant staff is extremely friendly, thoughtful, and work hard to please. Franklin, the manager of the restaurant has assembled a top notch team!

The best compliment to Pedro Sanchez, the General Manager, and his team is that they treated all of our guests like family. They were warm and courteous, and every one of our guests raved about their friendliness.

I know that this has been an overly positive review. During our preparation for the wedding and our stay, there were some issues, but these will get ironed out in time. One of our major concerns for a while working with the Balcones and Rock Resorts teams was the speed of communication. At first answers were slow to come and difficult to get. This changed drastically for the better once Maxaida Marte joined the Balcones team. Maxaida is awesome to work with. She is extremely capable, prompt in answering emails or phone calls, and went above and beyond in helping us prepare for the wedding. She helped our photographer find places in the grounds for amazing shots, and on the day of the wedding she handled a mirage of issues big and small.

We are so grateful to the attentive staff of Balcones. We'd like to give a special thanks to Stephany and Ricardo as well who went above and beyond during our entire stay. It's really difficult to put into words what an amazing time we had at our wedding, and a large part of this is due to the entire Balcones del Atlantico team.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iguanarojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastalCollection, Manager at Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you Alberto and Robyn!

It was a real pleasure for all of us here at Balcones to have the honor of being part of your wedding! Thank you for your trust...your wedding will be one that we'll never forget!

Saludos from Balcones, hope to see you back soon!

Pedro Sanchez
General Manager
Balcones del Atlantico, A RockResort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Balcones Del Atlantico is a beautiful resort with an excellent staff! We were taken care of and made to feel right at home from the moment we arrived. This is a brand new resort and we stayed in one of the three bedroom penthouses. Very spacious, each bedroom with it's own bath plus a half bath off the living area. Great kitchen with top of the line appliances. Gorgeous porch with a dining table that seats at least 10 and a very comfortable sitting area. In addition we had a whole second floor patio with our own private hot tub. Two resort pools, one with a swim up bar. I would say this resort is beach front, but not necessarily ocean front. You do have to cross a little street, but the beach is right there. Certainly visible from the front units. This is what makes the beach so beautiful.....pure ocean, beach, palm trees, and mountains in the distance. Not one high rise after another. Just beautiful, beautiful beach. Excellent food in Las Terrenas! We had a fabulous dinner every night! The wine list is a little short, but there are plenty of cocktails. Unfortunately, the resort restaurant is not quite finished. That was our only disappointment,only because it looked like a really fun restaurant directly on the beach! There is a temporary restaurant that was very nice, just not outside or on the beach. The beach restaurant is scheduled to open in April.

It is quite the drive to reach this resort. We flew into Santo Domingo and it was just over two hours to get there. The last half of the drive, although beautiful, is very mountainous and could cause a little motion sickness. Totally worth the drive! Our whole family would love to go back to the Balcones Del Atlantico in Las Terrenas!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 6beachbumsinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We arrived in Santo Domingo and were greeted by, Eddie, who brought us via private taxi to the resort. The ride to Las Terrenas is 2 hours of the most beautiful scenery I have seen in a long time and am really glad we did not take a private charter to the hotel. It is also, however, a little scary as the roads are in serious need of repair and are quite steep and curvy the closer you get to the resort. When we pulled into the resort I was nervous because you don't see the resort as much as you do construction but no worries, the hotel section of Balcones is 95% finished. There was still some minor maintenance/upkeep being performed; they are rebuilding the beach restaurant (which was burned down) and the spa/fitness center is yet to be complete. We were brought to our 2 bedroom penthouse and as someone who loves interior and landscape design, I was blown away. The rooms are well appointed with the best materials/amenities and the size enormous. You would pay hundreds of dollars more elsewhere for a comparable room. The kids loved having a private tv room and hot tub on the roof and we spent our nights hanging out there. The outdoor patio/dining area is spacious and also quite beautiful. Comfortable beds, plush down bedding and great thread count sheets. One thing to note, the floors in rooms and around the pool are made of stone. While this clearly is in keeping with european design, I had to remind my kids not to run because it was slippery so just be mindful. The landscape design of the property is well planned and beautiful. I'm glad the fitness center wasnt yet open because I ran the property (security is throughout) and beach in the mornings (didnt run too far) and with the smell of all the flowers/morning breeze, had an amazing workout. There is a small playground and two pools great for little ones and older. I personally wouldnt travel to Balcones with infant/toddlers because it is so far from a major hospital. My 9 year old caught a bad stomach bug even though we were extremely cautious and are familiar w/ traveling to countries where you can only drink bottled water/need to pay extreme attention to sanitation, etc. That is just me being really careful and there were 2 families there w/ toddlers there. Because of how remote we were, we also decided not to do El Limon falls as reviews said it could be a little dangerous w/ young children. We did, however, go whale watching with Kim Baddel of Whale Samana. If you're going to do anything, book this trip. Her boat is 50 feet and holds 70 people, unlike other tours who throw you into basically a row boat. She is Canadian and her tour is extremely educational and was the highlight of the trip for my son. This resort has a very european feel, designed for ultimate relaxation and reconnecting with loved ones. Highly recommend for honeymoons. We played soccer and volleyball everyday, swam, snorkeled, took walks, played board and card games and ate. While the beach restaurant is being rebuilt, they've set up a small dining area in the reception building and have breakfast, lunch and dinner available. There is also room service. The food is good but after 9 days the menu was limited. We were honored to have Steve, the executive chef, come to our room with two of his assistants and cook for us. The dinner was perfection and the dessert scrumptious. Kids absolutely loved this. As for the staff, they are exceptional. I commend the resort for hiring, for the most part, all locals and not bringing in outside employees. Most are still learning English (they have lessons everyday), so you need to be a little patient and understanding. They truly are the key to this resort and go out of their way to get you whatever you want and their main goal is to make sure you are having a fantastic and memorable vacation. I hope we can return again to Balcones once the entire project is finished. It looks to be out of this world.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrog3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our multigenerational family of 7 stayed at Balcones for 5 nights. It is about a 2.5 hour drive from the airport in Santo Domingo, which is a long way to drive with little kids, but it was well worth it. We had a 3 bedroom property with a hot tub close to the beach and one of the pools. Our apartment was beautiful - new and shiny and with all the bells and whistles. Service was heartfelt and dedicated. There was some confusion about room service and planning excursions, but I think this was an issue of language communications. The hotel restaurant burned down on New Year's Eve, but the replacement should be completed by the end of March.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljo2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
458 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
20.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas - Portillo Road KM. 5, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Balcones del Atlantico)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $234 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlántico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samaná Peninsula, Balcones del Atlántico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Xeliter Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing