We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxed place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Albachiara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Albachiara
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Port-au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxed place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Albachiara is right on the main strip in Las Terrenas. It's a great option that's not as fancy/buttoned-up as some of the resorts in the area (nor as pricey), but still a very nice facility. Staff was great, rooms are nice, big breakfast that's included. You're also right in the middle of Las Terrenas, which can be noisy but also puts you near to everything that's happening. Right next to the beach as well. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jallmangulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    90
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
150
155
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed in this amazing hotel in the 4th July weekend in a 3 bedroom apartment on the left side block, it was a beautiful room with a spacious livingroom, wonderful berooms, and comfortable beds... amazing beaches arround, Bonita, Popi, Coson... I fully recommend this hotel, we spent 3 great nights in Terrenas, sure we´ll come back!!!

Room Tip: Left side block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_Aracelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

in its price range, I found it to be an exceptional value. to a person, the staff was very helpful and friendly. they appeared to genuinely appreciate our patronage. the room was clean and well appointed with anything we might need; cold water in the fridge and coffee on the counter. the free breakfast with eggs made to order and a host of other items was excellent. we left wanting for nothing in our stay. glad we found the place

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We checked into the hotel on Wednesday and stayed through Monday on our honeymoon. The room was great with a great patio in the front and the first night we enjoyed a lovely evening drinking wine and listening to the quiet breeze. However, that was the last night of peace we had at the Albachiara Hotel. The next day large groups of families checked in and it was a constant party for the next 3 days. There were fights, loud music and people in the pool past midnight. I was disappointed that the staff did nothing to quiet down the guests who were mostly Dominican.

While the hotel was convenient, the staff was not friendly and the breakfast was subpar. I think there are other hotels near the ocean that are a better deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

In general, Las Terrenas is a town for travelers who are comfortable with funky, less touristy experiences and more local flavor. The Albachiara fits in perfectly. We spent two nights at the Albachiara, four nights at El Portillo (the all-inclusive resort ) and then a final night back at the Albachiara (we were planning on staying at another hotel, but really liked the Albachiara).

Most of the people we chatted with at El Portillo resort were surprised that there was a town nearby or they had been warned (or just naturally assumed) that it was not safe. In fact, Las Terrenas is a lovely little town with fantastic people, restaurants and night life. I say this not only having visited, but, a few years ago, we lived there for 9 months.

The Albachiara is literally steps away from many incredible restaurants (French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Pizza, Burgers, haut cuisine -- a fantastic German place 15 minutes by car) and a great little 'downtown' shopping area with lots of character and local flair due in many respects to the large number of european expats who own the businesses. The beach directly across the road from the hotel isn't the best but 10 KM on either side of it are some truly amazing beaches.

You probably want to know about the hotel ... If what you want is a more North American hotel room -- "sealed off" from the outside then this is not the hotel for you. If you want something where you have outside, inside/outside and inside ("sealed") living ... you have found the right place. In front of each suite is a deck (or balcony) with seating and overhead fans for enjoying the Dominican warmth. all suites look out onto a really nice pool, surrounded by lawn and with enough room for kids to play.

From the deck you enter the inside/outside part of the suite. In the daytime, many Dominican homes are literally opened up to the outside through wooden folding doors with screened windows (no glass). The Albachiara's rooms have this feature which extends your deck into your kitchen/living area inside. The Kitchen is stocked with what you need to make some meals and snacks (although the breakfast provided above the 'lobby' is really good). If you need groceries, there is the "Co-op" (about a 5 minute walk south on the main road) or for more choice go to the Lindo which is about 15 minutes walking south). BTW as you get further into the town the fruit prices get a bit cheaper, but not by much -- and there is so much great fruit year round.

Beyond the kitchen/living area is the bedroom. This is the "inside" area as it has a door that closes to the elements, windows (with glass) and is air conditioned. In our first suite we also had a second floor bedroom that was air conditioned. Note: the bathrooms have a screened window with wood slats (no glass) so they are private, but you feel the weather.

So, what is life like at the Albachiara? You get up, grab some breakfast, walk into town, have un café et des pâtisseries à la boulangerie française (did I mention that there are many european expats living in Las Terrenas who own businesses?), pick up some snacks, find lunch (like "el wekito" authentic mexican food or Pollo Suizo - best roasted chickens to go) then head back to open up your suite, drink beer, play in the pool, have a nap, read a book, then get cleaned up for a short walk to an amazing evening meal. If you want, add "beach" because there are a lot of mostly empty, simply stunning beaches.

Pro Tip -- ask Alfonse at the desk for help with transportation to Coson Beach to have lunch at Luis's Restaurant. Order the dorado (fish), salad, fries and pina coladas. Luis' is literally a shack on a beach in the middle of seemingly nowhere -- but OMG! Don't worry about the food or the ice -- I have eaten there at least 35 times and never had a problem. The beach is unbelievable.

Will we go back and stay at the Albachiara? Absolutely. In fact, we will think it is the perfect place to bring our kids, too. We could (and have) rented a private villa, but the location, amenities and the staff at the Albachiara are fantastic.

Which is where I will end my review -- with the staff. We were so impressed with everyone. Generally, we found that it isn't hard to find a friendly Dominican in Las Terrenas, but it can be difficult to find one who speaks English. Alfonse, at the desk, not only spoke English, but was fluent in Spanish (naturally), French and German. He was also incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. His positive outlook and willingness to help was the norm at the Albachiara for all of our interactions with the staff.

This property gets 5-stars for what it is. It isn't a artificial, cookie-cutter all-inclusive vacation (don't get me wrong, I enjoy those too). It is a fun, safe, comfortable place from which to experience some adventures in a foreign country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravellingFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you want a nice, decent, clean and spacious hotel, Albachiara Hotel is the place to stay! The hotel grounds are just very nice. The pool is very nice and very well maintained. Our room (the 4 bedroom) was HUGE and very spacious. We also had a small living room, open kitchen with all of the kitchen essentials, a huge outdoor "terraza" and just overall very comfortable. Every room has an a/c and two of the bedroom's were master suites (bathroom inside - the third bathroom was located on the second floor). Their staff, although small, was extremely helpful and very friendly. Daily breakfast is included in the rate and because this is technically a small hotel, the breakfast selection was also small, but very good. From the moment this was booked online, Rony was very pleasant and helpful. They are very good about getting back to you promptly. It is also located in the middle of town, which makes is great for walking to the shops and restaurants. Ah, for those internet fiends, there is free wifi! The beach across the street has really high waves, which can make it a bit dangerous for children, but the beaches throughtout Las Terrenas are beautiful and not far. I highly recommend Albachiara Hotel to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing escape.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
202 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel spacious room with kitchenet across the street from the beach very clean colonial style hotel nice pool aand friendly staff, walking distance from great restaurants aand plenty to do. Very romantic if wiith someone special. Beach is beautiful but the strret local traffic takes away from the beauty of the place but walking down 200 yds is perfect. Everything here is reasonable, store 1 mins away so you can buy food, liquor for room, fridge and full kitchen equipped.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#21 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albachiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albachiara

Property: Hotel Albachiara
Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albachiara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front, Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality. The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen, comfortable mattresses, Jacuzzi, air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea. Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minute drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Albachiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albachiara Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing