We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Dominican Republic beach getaway!”
Review of Hotel Albachiara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Albachiara
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've just returned from 16 days in the Dominican Republic - 6 of those nights were spent at the Hotel Alba - and we loved staying there! Having just spent 2 stressful nights in Santo Domingo, Hotel Alba was a welcome relief - visually, comfort level and location. How wonderful to see the beach directly across the street with strategically placed lounge chairs on the sand in front of the turquoise ocean. The hotel reception was welcoming - especially Josephine the manager. We had a wonderful King Suite with an ocean view in front of the fabulous pool - this looked beautiful both in the day and night. Loved the resident rabbit as well! The hotel is strategically located on 27 Febrero Street - walking distance to all of the great restaurants, car/quad rental place, art and clothing stores. And the morning breakfasts were delicious and filling. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation ask for a room in the back with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalGal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 471 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

returned to nyc mon. june 11. 2012 relaxed and content with the great service provided by josephina and her staff. have been to las terrenas many times and first time at Albachiara. this hotel will be my 1st choice from now on. can't wait to return. spent 5days sun and fun with my brother paul, great trip. signed jerry m. nyc

Room Tip: very quiet at night any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay, rooms where clean and fresh , Josefina the manager was very kind and helpful making sure we had what we needed.
Rooms are nice eventhough the showers are a bit small and there is no iron available in the apartments.The beds are good just about the right amount of softness and firmness.

Overall the hotel is very nice,beautiful pool and the beach across the street,I really enjoyed my night and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I went for this hotel because i saw the "how awesome" reviews I read in here, I was very disappointed and amazed that this hotel is rated for the second best hotel in the whole Samana. I am not saying it was bad, but certainly I had been to other hotels in the peninsula that were better by far. Great service, ok breakfast, good location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luisana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great service, great location, great people fun friendly and safe place with amazing apartment like rooms with ocean views!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My huband and myself decided to go to Las Terrenas this time and it was the best decision!! We felt like we were in our own vacation apt. The service, the food, the pool, the apts. Everybody was real pleasant and friendly at all times! I will highly recomend it and any time we go back to Las Terrenas, that will be the hotel we are going!! Thanks so much to the lady n the reception for making us feel so special!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhernandez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here at the end of February - beginning of March 2012: thought I would try it because of its rank on TripAdvisor. A big disappointment. My room was not ready upon arrival, and it took a couple of hours to sort things out. Housekeeping skipped a day here and there, taxi driver hotel sent to pick me up from the airport stopped to give lift to relatives along the way, on my US $60.00. Don't mind helping people in need, but I felt taken advantage of, and that it was planned and not an accidental encounter with the relatives. Breakfast average, senior hotel staff somewhat aloof (the woman in the admin office actually cringed when I said hello). Beach in front of the hotel very poor, and the hotel is also on a busy part of the road with near constant motoconcho noise and fumes. But I know the hotel can't help its location. I must say, the junior hotel staff were very good. One young woman found an envelope of my vacation cash and returned it all to me. One of the kitchen staff was great too, and she carried breakfast to my room a few times. Those two got lots of tips from me. But I believe their actions are a reflection of Dominican honesty and kindness, not necessarily of the service standards of hotel itself.

Next time, I will stay at the far better Alisei which features an excellent restaurant, Baraonda, where I have eaten at least 30 times and never been disappointed, or the Colibri, with its friendly, conscientious staff, beautiful grounds and excellent beach. I stayed at the Colibri for two weeks in 2011 and it was lovely.

Room Tip: My suite was very nice. It was the service and the more human aspects of the hotel that were lacking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Saloni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#10 of 35 in Las Terrenas
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
Aligio Aparthotel & Spa
#17 of 35 in Las Terrenas
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albachiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albachiara

Address: Calle 27 De Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $116 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albachiara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front, Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality. The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen, comfortable mattresses, Jacuzzi, air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea. Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minute drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albachiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albachiara Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing