We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option - great location and good value!”
Review of El Rincon De Abi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Rincon De Abi
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great budget option - great location and good value!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and had a wonderful experience. Our room was very big and was cleaned daily. There was free WiFi and a great breakfast (bread, jam, eggs made to order, fruit, coffee and juice). The location was also great - down a quiet alley so we weren't disturbed by the cars, but close enough to walk to the shops and restaurants in 5 minutes. The staff didn't speak much English and their Spanish was surprisingly bad, but they were very friendly and helpful and we managed to get by with our limited French.
Would highly recommend this as a great budget option for Las Terrenas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    35
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
78
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Rincon de Abi is a perfect budget option in an alley just behind the main street of Las Terrenas. Restaurants and shops on walking distance. The price qualite ratio is very good. The French owners are very accomodating and the girls who clean and make (a great) breakfast are just the sweetest. Rooms and bathrooms (we stayed in a bungalow) are quite spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LvdPavoordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I am unsure how one reviewer can say the rooms were like a cell?! The hotel is in a great location and run by friendly French owners. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Plus, the rate is more reasonable than Casa Robinson and Casas del Mar Neptunia (which are both just next door) - the showers are also much better and hot! Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fido87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrincondeabi, Propriétaire at El Rincon De Abi, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you very much we appreciate your comment.Some useful information seen the influx of these last years it is strongly recommended to reserve with prepay thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The only way to enjoy this "Hotel" or whatever it is, is if you are a person who doesn't bathe too often, as the soap they give you only serves to wash your hands, and the pillows smell like a hobo slept on em. And the admins were rude to us every time we complained to them. I don't get how people can give positive reviews about this place

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank customer371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrincondeabi, Propriétaire at El Rincon De Abi, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Customers unwanted, undisciplined, noisy not corresponding to the réputation of the hôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I do not understand how anyone can leave a positive review on this hotel. The sheets, pillows, and towels smelled horrible, and when we complained the owner told us that they weren't going to wash them for 2 days. we had one mini bar of soap for the time we were there (we had to buy soap). The "breakfast" was controlled, owners were rude. One of the worst hotel experiences of my life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chanamiarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrincondeabi, Propriétaire at El Rincon De Abi, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Customers unwanted, undisciplined, noisy not corresponding to the réputation of the hôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

El rincon de abi is a little hotel runned by a french family. The rooms are very nice decorated and theres a common room with a kitchen for every one. Breakfast is included and also very rich with fresh fruits, eggs, corn flakes etc. The owners are really helpfull in organising sightseeing and daytrips. Theres also a pool if the beach which is only 2 min away is not enough. its also only 2 minutes away from the center of the village so its no problem to go shooping or to go out in the evening even without a car.. Catherine and Arnaud have a nice way to let you know, that they will help you with nearly whatever you want without being pushy. We were there for the second time and it was even better then the first one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mailech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

While the rooms are clean and the location central, this is about the only recommendation I can give.
The decoration is so austere that the rooms have less charm as a prison cell (except I imagine you are least supplied with soap in jail)
The included "breakfast" was stale bread and jam and orange juice that was as sour as the owner.
They advertise themselves as having wi-fi but when I asked for the password, I was grilled about when we were leaving the hotel and Las Terrenas. Perhaps they thought I would be hanging around in the bushes after we left with my laptop to access the internet. The owner insisted on typing the password into my computer herself and when it didn't work, shrugged and walked off.
My friend with whom I was traveling with asked if he could see the grounds of the hotel after breakfast and the owner demanded to know why he wanted to see them (in French) even though we were in a Spanish speaking country and we both spoke excellent Spanish and English.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Rude management
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LudwigLeichardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrincondeabi, Propriétaire at El Rincon De Abi, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
We are happy to know that you have to spend a good moment in our company thank you for having visited us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 34 in Las Terrenas
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 34 in Las Terrenas
467 reviews
2.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 34 in Las Terrenas
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#10 of 34 in Las Terrenas
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
#7 of 34 in Las Terrenas
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rincon De Abi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rincon De Abi

Property: El Rincon De Abi
Address: 5 calle emilio prud homme, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Rincon De Abi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and apartments with swimming pool, wifi, Spa, 80 meters from the beach and 200 m from center town.Bed & breakfast with kitchen available for personal use.You'll appreciate the welcoming, peaceful atmosphère, location and price.Recommended by the best tourist guide, best value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Rincon De Abi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rincon De Abi Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing