We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem...lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A gem...lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed here for 2 weeks, got back a week ago. What can i say. The transfer is long after the plane journey but you get to see what a beautiful lush, colorful place this is, and all for free. Upon arrival the lobby is big and airy all open plan. Check in went smoothly and we were offered a different room as they misunderstood i was there with my son, but i said a king size would be fine. Rooms were a fair size, huge bed and plenty of storage. Bed was very comfy. Grounds were amazing, the plants and trees were beautiful. I had a problem with my sons charger whilst there and Andre on reception personally bought me one from his town, unfortunately it still didnt work but the allowed him to charge it from the usb on the front desk without qualm, anything to help. Ronald on reception also lovely too always smiling and made my son happy. Beach is beautiful and clean plenty of sunbeds and the wonderful dogs. We took a walk up the left side of the beach and they walk alongside you, are so friendly and makes it feel like home from home, bring some meat down for them. Some do look a bit thin and they would appreciate it. Food was of good quality although i was quite poorly with my tummy while i was there, not sure what it was but it took a bit of pleasure from the holiday. Specialty restaurants were of great quality and made a nice change from buffet, we didnt go to the fish one though. Trips we did one from las terrenas to las balleinas to snorkel with turtle dive centre, it was a waste of money as there were more fish at the hotels reef and most of that is dead sadly. We did zip lining with tour samana with terry. We were the only ones there and our guide benjamin franklin was really informative. Finally we did a rafting tour with thomson, It was fantastic, butfelt conned into buying a pair of wet shoes. We went in flip flops as did the other party that travelled with us, i asked our guide if they were suitable and he said that they were. Upon arrival they said you may lose your flip flops but then we were told if we didnt buy the shoes we wouldnt be allowed on the trip. I didnt feel this fair as it was not specified at any point by thomsons. To add insult to injury when we got down to the river there were lots of people rafting wearing flip flops so be careful if your doing this trip. Thomson should be more. informative. I must mention Miralva who serves drinks in the lobby and Alberto on the bar, and rudy, always smiling and pleasant. Alejanda in the main buffet was fantastic too. The staff make this wonderful holiday. Be proud of them Bahia princpe. Cleanliness is second to none too. This chain of hotels have definitely left a good impression. We are just sad we didnt get the goodbye song.

Room Tip: we were in 15 block very close to reception bar and buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us this detailed comment about your stay in Bahia Principe.

We are glad to listen that you enjoy your time with us. I will transmit your opinion to our staff encouraging them to follow that behavior.

We suggest you visit YouTube, there you can watch and hear our song of farewell and welcome.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Samana


We would be very happy welcoming you back once again in El Portillo.

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,155
    1,891
    476
    138
    92
See reviews for
1,770
2,718
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is terrific! Very well located, very well organize, clean and mingling so nicely with the surroundings. All the staff are very pleasant, joyful, nice, and always receiving you with a warm smile and also, very polite.

The restaurants are nice and the food is great nice variety, but sometimes, repeats some dishes, but what the hell?! Is vacations right? Loved the drinks, loved the beach, loved the heat, loved the water and loved that the beach kind have his own private coral reef with a lots of sea life on it that goes to blow your mind! And they are quite happy to have you around. They simply came close to you and of course, they appreciate some snack :) , I can suggest bananas!

This hotel is perfect and is oriented for families with children. The pool side is also very nice and close to the beach, but this hotel deserves a swimming pool a bit bigger, in my opinion. Couse, especially at late noon, is full and it’s a bit difficult to be there in a relaxing calm period.

Thanks Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo for a very nice time there!

Room Tip: In my case, i suggest Vilas at 25, rooms are quieter and quite close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gipose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo terrific.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is specially valuable for us, as you can give us feed back along the time.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massamá - Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have no words to describe the passion I have for this hotel at this location. Everything seems perfect, and only mosquitoes that have bitten my legs seem to be more in that paradise. Everyone should try El Portillo, this is a true resort in the Caribbean!
It was the second time I went there and hope to go more often. Ideal for couples with children

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Turistas20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is specially valuable for us, as you can give us feed back along the time.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Regard,

Dilcia Joga
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We returned two weeks ago and we enjoyed ourselves very much at this location. Gran Bahia Principe - El Portillo is the best resort and Samana was really a paradise place. Our room was clean and nice. The food was very, very good and nice presented! Beach as well as the coral rife is unbelievable - something what I call "must see". This hotel is very green, there are lots of unique tropical plants so, you will be impressed! I have to admit that this hotel is not so big like normal hotels in Punta Cana and service here in El Portillo is much better. My special thanks to all staff that work so hard in order to do the best for all tourists - much appreciated! Also, I would like to say thanks to Air Canada representatives - you are the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slavik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this detailed review for your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, specially our services.

We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make their stay a memorable holiday and we are really happy to see that we did it with you.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kindest regards and thanks again,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I spent a wonderful week in this resort at the end of June. Beautiful and clean beaches, delicious food and extremely friendly and approachable staff made us feel welcome and special. Our trip to the National Park confirmed that Samana is a real "green paradise" worth to be seen. In addition, we have managed to "book" extraordinary weather so all together, there was nothing to complain about...

L+I, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: We were lucky to have a room close to the lobby and get an easy access to the restaurants, snack bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lubica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts


Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keelby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The only downside to this holiday was the transfer from the airport to the complex. We were not told on booking it would take 3plus hours and neither were a lot of other holidayers. Thomson really need to fly into one of the closer airports.
The stay here though was fantastic. The hotel was clean and was constantly being cleaned to a high standard throughout our stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The kids club was great, our daughter loved going as they kept the children entertained all the time. The food in our opinion was good, I did miss prawns though and thought they would have been an abundance of them here but not so, anyhow there was always plenty to chose from so I got over it! Lol. The beach was lovely and you could go for a nice walk even though you had to sign out it was not a problem.
Our room was near the quiet pool with Francisco behind the bar, we loved having a swim and a drink here end of the day. It was about a 5 minute stroll tops to the lobby. The kids aqua slides were well kept and ideal for up to the age of 8-10. Christmas and new year galas were well done, we were seated in the fish restaurant new year ad it was lovely. We never went on any trips as we didn't think any were suitable for our 8 year old but we went into town by taxi a couple of times and it was safe and made a change to look round and have a drink. The beach at Samana was gorgeous too. Was good to see the men bringing the fresh fish in to sell on the beach fish market.
All in all it was a great place to relax and chill out. Carlos Rosario was a fab host and ran a great team. Maybe a little moan about having to pay for the safe. We would certainly stay. Here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetchild0mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Harbor, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our vacation was very special. We had 2 beautiful rooms with great service. The food was very good good the presentation was beautiful. Took several tours thru Blue Tour Company with Jose. He always called for follow up to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. This is a grand hotel. We were very glad we chose it. Arrived at hotel at 5Am from US . The night staff put us up in a room to catch up on our sleep until our scheduled rooms were ready. It was a good choice for us, a family of 6 grandparents, mom and dad and 2 teens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing