We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful vacations (1 week)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacations (1 week)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pinero Hotels work more or less the same and we tried to go the this smaller hotel due to good recommendations.
Location, Location, Location :)
We have direct flights to Samaná El Catey International Airport and the shuttle only take around 40 min to reach the hotel.
The hotel is isolated in a very nice beach front.
The beach area has plenty of sunbeds and shades, the sand is very clean and the water always warm (a little windy in the afternoon).
The beach water front is safe for children and there are plenty of coral beds for you to take some snorkeling gear to look for the fish (plenty of them and the water is very clean).
Since the hotel is relatively small every area is close by :)
You can have some lunch in the beach restaurant but the main restaurant is also near the beach (they are 50-60 meter apart and both are 20-30 meter from the beach).
In Pinero hotels its normal to have some slots to go to some thematic restaurants.
With children or even alone we always tend not to go to this thematic restaurants hence the variety of the main restaurant is more than enough and they always have some thematic dishes every day.
Strongly recommended for those, like we, that are only interested in staying and enjoying the amenities of the hotel and have lots of beach/pool time.
We only had some issues with the timing of beverages during the meals (sometimes a little bit too slow) and frequently there is missing cutlery in "ready" tables. It's a little bit annoying to start eating without beverage or without a fork/knife but if you prepare in advance you don't have any problems » ask for your drinks before going to the buffet and snipe any missing cutlery from the waiters carts before starting your meals.

Room Tip: If you like to start sleep early in the evening choose villas away from the Hacienda area because so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Antonio Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,154
    1,889
    475
    138
    92
See reviews for
1,769
2,715
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We went for 2 weeks this Easter and it was the best hotel we had ever stayed at, with great facilities, the all inclusive really was amazing and beach location outstanding!!! This was like being in the picture postcard of your ideal beach, with the freedom to walk in either direction. The sea was safe, with plenty to see around the coral reefs and warm and clean. We loved all the dogs on the beach, they were all friendly and enjoyed human company, good fun watching them creep past the security either end of the hotel beach, but everyone was feeding them so the dogs won!!! All the staff were friendly and did not expect tips, this made you want to give them something!! Oh and Slush puppy cocktails, were a must!!!! Will be coming back as soon as we can!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor to lessen noise of people walking past on stairs and not a room with an adjoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatashaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words about your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. We are really glad that you have enjoyed our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again next time to make your holiday once again a memorable vacation!!!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am i huge fan of Grand Bahia Principe Resorts,and El Portillo in Samana was Amazing...I always wanted to go to Samana for the past many years but the ride from the airport to the resort always put me off..since the new airport opened i decided to go ...the ride now takes 45 minutes and it could have taken longer because the route it takes to the resort is beautiful...We went as a group of six and everyone had a great time our rooms were in block 14 close to the main lobby ...but nothing is far in this resort, it has a perfect layout..The Beach is near perfect for sunning and walking...The Beach snack bar is one of the best i have experienced in the Caribbean...
Thank-you Bahia Principe and all the Staff who were always very friendly and attentive ..i hope to return soon and maybe experience the other Bahia Principe resorts in the Samana Area...please visit the small town of Las Terrenas very close and very pretty....

Room Tip: any room close to the lobby is good block 14 block 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We work hard every day for you can enjoy your holidays and you feel comfortable with us.

In the name of our staff, we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best wishes,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were 2 families with 4 kids ages 3 to 9 at El Portillo from May 31 to Jun 14.
Registration was quick and easy and we had the staff sing for us the Bahia song.
Rooms: What can I say, We were in block 25 and the room was spotless and always supplied. It seems like on Thursdays they don't have water in the rooms for a certain amount of time but we made the best of it and showered after dinner.
Food: Amazing. We all ate everything and nobody got sick. We only booked A la carte once because with kids it was easier to just go to the buffet. The buffet was clean and the service was excellente. (Watch out for the bald guy that makes all kinds of animal noises, the kids loved him). The buffet by the beach was amazing by the second week into our vacation they were doing renovation so they closed the front part of it. The food there was very tasty and again, no one got sick.
Pools: The kids water park is by the main entrance, a bit of a walk from all the main activities but very relaxing. The life guard played with the kids while us parents relaxed and enjoyed a few drinks at the bar by the water park. The barman there does not speak any english and will not make any specialty drinks witch was ok with us but they should not have the sign for the "drink of the day" if they didn't have all the ingredients. All 4 kids enjoyed the water park very much so. The quiet pool was too quiet for us and there was no bar near by so we just walked up to it and walked away. Main pool is a bit too small but you have the ocean and the beautiful beach to enjoy. All pools were very clean.
Entertainment: Animacion team was awesome, David, MariaCruz, Nadiuska, Ruddy, Adriana, Johnathan and all the rest were very friendly, hard working bunch that always tried to make everyone happy. They were at the beach and at the pool all the time and then they did the night shows too. I can't imagine all that work in that heat. The shows we enjoyed were the circus, the magic show and the Mr. Dominican and also the fire show at the beach party. I am not sure if it was because we went in low season but the show were very short and finished very early.
Excursion: We did an excursion to El Limon which we pre-booked over the internet and we had a blast there. It was very beautiful by the falls but to get back to the horses was very tiring because it was all uphill (Stairs). The trail with the horses was very nerve wrecking at certain moments especially for the kids (kids had fun, parents were worried) but it was worth in. Tip the horse handler well because they do work very hard to keep the horses calm and steady for you. The second excursion we went to was Heitises national park which we booked through the resort with a catamaran and it was amazing. We were on the boat quite a long time so having a washroom onboard was very useful. The stay and lunch on the beach Cayo Levantado was beautiful but 2 hours on the full sun was a bit to long for us.
All in all we had an amazing time and 2 weeks was not enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community.

At the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Never thought that for a true gem we will have to give up Caribbean sea and travel to Samana that is surrounded by Atlantic Ocean. We traveled as a family with our 6 year old daughter.
We booked with WestJet, no surprise there, always fantastic experience.
We traveled from Calgary through Toronto where we transferred to connecting flight to Samana.
Midnight flight to Toronto was no issue. Move to our gate in Toronto was easy, walking distance and having 1 hour for transit no stress needed at all. Once in Samana, customs were really easy, as it is small airport, it was super quick. We picked up our luggage and were heading to look for a WestJet rep. No need to look hard, the sign was right there he had our names, shown us to the microbus and said: You will not leave without me; you will wait for me until I join you.
Suddenly we realized how humid it was in Samana. When you get outside from an air-conditioned plane and going straight to the airport building it is really not that bad and noticeable. What we thought that air-conditioning will be running in the microbus. Well I guess we were wrong. Air-conditioning kicked bit late, however we decided not make such big deal with the issue, at the end we had beautiful weather coming just from -40 Celsius if not more with wind chill.
What we have learned as most of Tripadvisor travelers say, that there are 2 ways to get to resort:
1.) Through the villages, which takes long time
2.) Through new road, where users are required to pay toll
We took the toll road. While transferring to resort our WestJet Rep, explained us everything we required to know about trips we want to take, resort itself and Samana, including tips where to buy what. It was a lot of info in short period of time. However, you have an opportunity to digest it until the next day, when you see WestJet Rep again so you can ask what is not clear to you.
In respect to drive to resort, the road offers amazing views, so arriving to the GBP El Portilo resort during the day has a lot of advantages. It took us about 45 minutes to get to the resort.
Upon arrival to resort we were greeted by GBP with the cold drinks to refresh ourselves. We had arrived to resort earlier, so the room assigned to us was not available, however the staff member took us to the restaurant and while walking to restaurant he explained us a few essentials need to know.
People were smiling, restaurant was quiet for the number of people being eating there at that time, you were not rushed or pushed, yet you still here and there can run to someone who is in a hurry on vacation.
Food presentation was really great, as the resort caters more on the healthier side of the food choices. As other reviewers noted, we really do not know where the bad reviews are coming from. On the other side the beauty of choices is that you can always try something new, different and not being repetitive. We did not go hungry at all for whole 2 weeks and the food did not seem to us repetitive at all. Everything is right there freshly cut from fruits through vegetables.
We ate all the time at buffet restaurant, so I cannot provide review on A La carte.
Breakfast buffet: different breads and bread spreads such as salmon, ham and cheese, pastry, quail and chicken eggs, omelets, ham, salami and cheese station, vegetable station, yogurt station with finely pre-cut fruits, cooked oatmeal and warm chocolate milk, cereals etc.
Lunch/dinner buffet: different types of salads, meat, pasta station, different types of baked fish, vegetarian station that was also my favorite as you will find there eggplant quiche and different types of baked egg quiche with spinach or tomatoes that were changing daily etc. At lunch time GBP offered ice cream where flavors were changing daily and of course deserts. They also offered at least 2 different types of soup daily which was great too (Chicken, vegetable, fish, minestrone etc.).
I would say for families with kids, you will find food great comparing to resorts we have been to in the past. Definitely food was not spicy hot rather tasty and delicious. We even had a white rice and that is hard to find.
Having got our room keys we headed to our room. We were located in villa 22301 on the 3rd level, their villas are 3 levels. Well to our expectation the room was neither cool nor cold; we were left with so called surprise on our mind. Do not expect at all that air-conditioning is running really cold. Yet we decided to call reception desk. The maintenance guy showed up in our room quickly a few minutes within a call. He tried to explain us, well in Spanish so he called reception and handed me a phone. We learned that the room is not kept cold during the day, rather in night air-conditioning is kicking in. True to that, as during first night my husband and I woke up to freezing cold.
During 2 weeks stay we killed only 1 mosquito and were not bitten once by mosquito and I usually do. No bugs, spiders or any other species we encounter while staying at the resort even though Samana is part of the rain forest. Only 2 geckos above the outside door frame, welcomed us back to our room every evening. Once I saw on balcony outside wall 2 rainforest frogs. Room was at all times clean. Ants in Samana, we never experienced that.
Pool is on a smaller side, despite that fact not a lot of people hang out by the pool as beach is gorgeous!!!...Most of the morning till noon we spent on the beach walking as you can walk for a miles either side. As you will be crossing line out of resort the guard will request your room number to sign out.
Waterpark is located on the other side of the resort. What a clean and new place it is for kids. There is towel hut as well, so no need to drag towel from beach, we even asked for towel without card when we left it on the beach and they were accommodating. Our daughter had a fun to go there; life guard is presented there.
Tanning beds by pool and by waterpark are brand new condition, on the beach they are typical as most of the beaches you see.
Bathrooms around resort, plenty of them and really clean.
We noticed that not a lot of people speak fluently English, however we never experienced bad miscommunication.

We booked 2 trips through our WestJet representative: Safari and Playa Rincon in 1 day and El Limon waterfalls. Check the review under these names. One day one of us was not feeling well and ended up for overnight stay in Samana town hospital. Not high tech as we are used too but equipped surely to help. Everything turned out great thanks to resort Doctor, and we were able to enjoy vacation again. Due to that we had to rebook our trip and we did it without any problems. We showed up at the morning time when tour supposed to departure for trip and advise them on that as we could not do it night before, we were really surprised how pleasant and accommodating they were.

Shopping in resort is not that huge, however it does fit he purpose. One store in the main lobby and logo shop and 4 others stores by the main gate entrance to resort. We did our shopping at the resort. We paid US and Euros, every time we asked they returned the money in either currency. So we did not feel that we need to change money for Dominican currency.

Internet, we purchased at the store 7 days for 49 dollars, otherwise you have 1 hour every day at the lobby, just ask reception desk Clark to set you up.

Tipping, we tip all the time, these people work hard to make your holiday memorable, I guess we and few others were only one who did it anyway. Note that people working there do not expect tipping.

When we were leaving resort, GBP Management representative came to our bus to say thank you for booking with them and this is for the first time we had experience when travelling. It is nice way to say we appreciate you have chosen Samana as your vacation destination as Caribbean is huge.
Leaving to the airport, if you get hungry there is only 1 sort off restaurant there, where you can buy burger with fries, and a few different choices. I guess the most expensive one was grilled chicken with fries and bottle of pop, $14.95 USD. Prices are pretty high, well what are you going to do if you are hungry anyway… just pay right. Prices in duty free, I found that coffee and cocoa you can get cheaper at the resort. And much more cheap in local store that is within walking distance from resort.

The only negative experience we had is not towards the resort, however, as there is no other way to note that I will take this opportunity here and that was customs when we were leaving.
Without going to any details, make sure all your gifts are in check in luggage…

Overall we had an excellent family vacation and would recommend this resort to everyone but not to the party people. If you want party go somewhere else, if you like to sip on glass of wine and listen saxophone in the evening, or just to play cards, watching 1hr show or strolling through the resort than that is place for you. Tip: brig a flash light, it is lit, but for some reason really dark.

If you would have any questions please ask, I will be glad to answer them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SisiAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel and also for taking time to share your comments with our trip advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. We would love to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Almost everything 100%.
The food was not spicy. The food was always the same flavor.
In my particulr case.
Please review the terms of Portuguese food.
Almost all the dishes presented as Portuguese, have nothing to do with our food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

To be honest the resort was a beautiful clean well-kept resort. The food was great the service was fast. Everything was fantastic until we were robbed nine days into our trip.
We were three couples traveling together from Hamilton Ontario Canada. As the three of us were together we decided to rent a safe in one room as it was strongly suggested by our trip advisor from West jet. On April 11, 2014 we were enjoying our day by the pool in the sun and walking on the beach. When we came back to our room everything seemed normal. I went to our friends room to go into the safe to get some headache pills for my wife. Our friends could not enter the safe. Her husband tried to get into the safe also but couldn't.
They said that they would call the front desk to have somebody come over and check the safe. When we were ready to go out for dinner around 7 PM I was called to the room and told that the safe had been broken into. Upon checking my contents in my bag I realize that there was $500 in American money stolen. The room that the safe was it and they also had $400 an American money stolen plus a wedding ring and a necklace gold necklace with a badge on it that belong to them. The next couple that were there also had all of their jewelry stolen.
The front desk was notified. It took about 5 to 10 minutes before one of us decided to go to the front desk and see what was going on and how come a representative or security was not at the room yet. Another five minutes went by until I could bring somebody to the room. Security came. A report was written with public relations as they were there also. Very little English was spoken.
After the report and everybody left we were told that the police would be getting called as it was a significant amount of money and valuables stolen. The next morning at 10 o'clock the Dominican Republic .
We gave the Dominican republic police report again of what I've happened and what have been taken. There was not very much English spoken because the representative when WestJet refused to come with us said he was too busy. The assistant manager Carlos at the front desk decided that he have to leave again with the monitor to check the room key to see who had entered our room. 15 minutes went by and I had to go and get the assistant manager at the front desk again as that we did not understand anything that was said.
After becoming victims of the Taft we became suspects . Our three rooms were searched top to bottom, linen, suit cases ,bags ,under pillows between mattresses everywhere that is imaginable the police and security went through.
I then had to go with the police chief to the pool area where our wives were to take the bags that were there bring them to the room and have the police took them an empty them on the beds and check all the contents in the bags. After an hour and a half we were then told we have to go to the police station and make a report.
After all that this debate here principate L Portillo in Samanna is not taking any blame whatsoever about the test. They are saying that nothing was stolen not the responsibility because there was no show of key entry and no damage to the safe.
My suggestion is do not trust the safe do not trust security do not trust housekeeping do not trust or believe anything that they are saying to you. You have to sign a piece of paper when you leave the resort to go walk on the beach and you have to sign in. That gives whoever is involved time to organize themselves and go and check your room.
To me it seems that all the staff Carlos the assistant manager and Melkar the other assistant manager the manager of the resort and the supervisor of security seem to be all involved in these fast because they do not take any responsibility and we have not heard anything but negative stuff from that Bahia Principe.

Room Tip: Make sure the safe is bolted to the wall. Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Levesque,

Cordial greetings from all the team working in Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo; we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. It is clear that our customers are the most important, naturally so are their comments. Observations are treated with the utmost interest; as it is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention on to improve in all aspects.

Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo Hotel is known for our guests’ suitability, thus for this reason please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced; your disappointment is ours to rectify, and to ensure that our guests do not leave with letdown feelings but rather those of satisfaction. As our goals are to fulfill those and meet our guests’ expectations, to turn the negative into the positive with finding solutions to our problems, we wish to welcome you back at our best and effective treatment.

Best wishes,


Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.8 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing