We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo from March 1 to March 8th. It is the 4th Grand Bahia Principe hotel we stayed at and again, we were not disappointed. The resort is very clean and the beach is perfect for the long walk. The reef in front of the hotel is also perfect to snorkel with children (and older one too).
The choice at the buffet and snack are limited but you will always find something good to eat. The 3 A la carte restaurant are ok. The veal and chicken at the Gourmet are excellent. The Italian and the seafood might be a notch below the other Grand Bahia Principe A la carte restaurant we have visited but it doesn't mean they aren't good.
What about the hotel employees? Simply amazing. They are always there to say "Hola" with a smile. From the Bar tender, to the maid and the bell boy, they all have an awesome client services attitude.
We also took the excursion to El Limon fall with horse back riding. We booked with our tour operation on the hotel site. We went with Maria & Miguel. They give you water boots and an helmet. Each rider is assigned a horse and a guide that walk along your side all the way to the falls and back. Great work to everyone there.
The other excursion we took was the whale watching. Even if we were close to the end, we were lucky enough to see them. Up to 3 at the same time, 2 big ones and a baby.
Unfortunately, we only took 1 week and we are back home but we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you take Royal Golden, please note that you might be located to the farthest rooms from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality.

In the name of our staff, we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Samana

Best wishes,
“Amazing Vacation”

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,107
    1,846
    468
    136
    89
See reviews for
1,736
2,669
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Found everything to be just average, there was no wow factor. Room was large and clean. Mini bar was not always re-stocked. Tried the Italian al a carte, again, food was just average. There was no A/C in the al a cartes which makes it more undesirable. Beach was great, lots of vendors, but a simple no and they move along. There is a coral reef just off the beach, so careful where you walk. I don't think I would return, but I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: All rooms are garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mike,

We greatly appreciate you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo for your holidays destination.

We appreciate your observations, we are very sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services.

We will take actions in order to improve the areas indicated by you. Please be assured that proper steps were taken by our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The service and the food for our Romantic Dinner was excellent... After our 3 courses they prepared an amazing cake. This dinner was served to us overlooking the beach lit with candles (heart shaped)!! Alfonso was friendly, respectful and provided a great service to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue and Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mrs. & Mr. Wayne ,

Thank you so much for your nice words about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. We are really glad that you have enjoyed our Romantic Dinner for you and service.

We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make your dream holiday and we are really happy to see that we did it with you.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kindest regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at this resort from Feb. 27 to March 6/2014. The primary purpose of our visit was to go "whale watching" and this excursion with Whale Samana did not disappoint. I should mention that the whale excursions leave from Samana bay, and this is a $120. return fare by taxi. However, the trip advisor blog is a great manner in which to find another couple or two to share the taxi. This was an educational excursion, not a party boat, although those are available. Our only issue is that there is no food provided, only a few crackers/soda and water. so bring something along, as it is a long time out. They do provide Gravol, if you forget, as well as Sea Bands ($10. reimbursed on return)

Outside of the whale watching, we had few expectations for this vacation. However, we were overjoyed with the quality and beauty of this hotel, and the entire Portillo region. To begin, we arrived at the Samana airport (El Cate), which is west (I think) of El Portillo, not in the city of Samana. It is a short 40 minute ride to the resort through amazing country, over mountains, past caverns, and a number of small villages, and with the most spectacular views of the ocean, particularly noticeable on the return trip to the airport, where our driver graciously stopped for photo opp's. We did find all our taxi and bus drivers very safe, and felt very comfortable during our drives. There are many mopeds, scooters, motorbikes and horses along the very narrow roads, as well as cars parked on the shoulders, but the drivers are generally courteous and cautious.

On arrival, check in was quick and efficient. Our room was not quite ready, so we had a quick brunch and by then were able to get to our room. We stayed in building 9 on the second floor, which looks out over a bush. The water pressure and temperature, air conditioner, and room fridge was excellent. We actually found that the AC was by far one of the most efficient and quiet of all the resorts we have visited. We do have an issue, however, with the price for a safe key ($28 per week). Knowing the importance of keeping one's guests happy and safe, we feel management should rethink charging for this service. Many resorts we have stayed at have a fee which is reimbursed on check out, once the safe key is returned.

Our room was cleaned by Margarita. Although her knowledge of English was very limited, she was lovely and so efficient in cleaning our room. The decorative touches to our bed, and flowers were so very appreciated! We also appreciated the tourist information magazine provided in our room.

Our building (9) and building 8 are in a quieter area, private with limited foot traffic. Buildings 10-12 surround the small pool, which could get noisy at times.

Some reviews indicate the hotel is large with a lot of walking from one area to another, however, we found this not so, it took only a few minutes to walk from our building to the lobby and buffet, and the main pool and beach were not much beyond that. We are an older couple, late 50-early 60, and had no issues at all with the distances around the resort.

The beach of this resort and surrounding area were astounding! Soft sand with a deep beach, and lovely sand bottom in the ocean. In front of the resort, there is coral and a few areas of seaweed which gave lovely snorkelling opportunities, and the water is shallow enough that you can easily walk out and view the fish, if you don't like to snorkel. That being said, be careful of the coral- it is sharp and unforgiving if you get caught up in it, and since the water is shallow, that can easily happen. There is a lovely surf at a distance, but the swimming area did not have much of an undertow, and no surf due to the outer reef.

This beach is remote and expansive, surrounded by private dwellings and a new condominium complex. You can walk for hours, and swim in the ocean anywhere along the way. We walked in both directions every day- whether it was into the town of Las Terranes or in the opposite direction. Both were lovely. If the tide comes in, there is a roadway/path that follows the ocean that is equally lovely. There are security guards at the beach boundaries to this resort, whose English was excellent, and the guard at the East edge was so friendly and spent quite some time chatting and answering our questions about the area.

An odd point perhaps, but I must commend the developers of this resort for the numerous bathroom facilities throughout the resort, with close proximity to all sections of the beach and pools. And very clean and well maintained. The cleaning women were always in attendance and rarely was the tissue low or the area not clean!

Beach and pool chairs were a commodity. Although hotel policy prohibits "reserving" of chairs with towels and personal belongings, many lounges are held, particularly the pallapa's, and left for hours at a time. We did not see anyone enforcing or even monitoring this, which was unfortunate for the people who arrive from a long flight only to find they cannot get a chair on the beach or pool..., or any of us, for that matter.
We did have one concern we hope management will consider. Free WiFi is provided in the lobby for 60 consecutive minutes every day. otherwise, there is a considerable fee. Although we appreciated the free time, it is frustrating. If you access your time during the day time hours, your free time expires before you can do an evening connection with family. We felt the fee to purchase additional time far exceeded any fees we have paid at other resorts. We did find the front desk so very helpful if we had any problems with accessing the WiFi- or any issues for that matter. We were also impressed with the phone call moments after our arrival in our room to see if there were any concerns and the phone extension provided to call if we did have any. We did call once to make an enquiry and had very prompt response.

We were amazed at how staff overall recognized patrons within days of arrival and greeted in our native tongue, followed by Spanish. Could not figure out how the not only recognized us, but also that we spoke English and the couple walking behind us would be greeted in their native French!

Las Terranes is approximately 1h.20m. walking by beach at a comfortable pace, or a $10 cab fare each way. This is a small town with some very nice restaurants. It was very safe to walk about. We also enjoyed watching the kite surfing lessons offered on the beach, as you walk toward the town. We did not have any concerns with the dogs that run the beach. Some did come up to us, and they looked healthy and were very friendly. But there is a pack who keep to themselves up the beach- look like a family. They did not growl or approach us.

The sun is very hot, and if it does rain, running into the treed area keeps you drier, but be careful of sunburn. I burned even with regular use of sunscreen, but my own fault, as i was in and out of the ocean... Water is supplied in abundance in your room, but in large bottles, but we took along small bottles for walking, from home for our walks. I think there may be sand fleas as I have a few itchy spots on my ankles, but managed well with hydrocortisone cream. No mosquitos anywhere in the area were noted. Actually we saw very few pests, a few beetles, no animals of any sort, other than birds.

Food selection in the resort was ample. The pastries and bread products were always fresh and delicious. Meats were varied and generally tender and flavourful. We ate at all three of the a la carte's. Thoroughly enjoyed El Piscadore (I ate the lamb, my husband had red snapper) and the Italian restaurant. However, we did not particularly enjoy the Gourmet restaurant, and with an early dining hour of 6:30 we were surprised when both our initial selections were not available. My husband then selected the Veal, and it was so tough he was not able to eat it. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed the buffet, and our most wonderful server, Yicel, whom we sought out to say goodbye, but sadly missed. We also enjoyed Victor's service. Overall, the service in this resort was amazing, particularly in the restaurants.! You will not have beach or pool service with your beverage brought to you, but we did not have concerns with this.

The bars provide domestic and some international alcohol. There is a fee for premium liquor, including Canadian Club, which was $4. The range was around $2-4. for these. House wine in the bar and buffet is harsh, but you can purchase a bottle of higher end wine for as little as$20. which is generally what you will pay in town in the market.

The bar itself in the lobby is not conducive to meeting others- it is fairly short, and sitting at the bar is not comfortable. We found it easier to meet others at the beach or pool. We did meet a number of lovely individuals and thoroughly enjoyed our time with them.

Vendors are often passing along the beach, but there was no harassing. A simple "no thank you" and they would move along.

We did not see much of the nightly entertainment, other than circus night (excellent) and the magic show (not impressive). The resort quiets down quickly at 11 but that was fine with us, as the sun rises early and we were there for sun and sand more so than nightly entertainment, although we did enjoy our time in the lobby bar... with particular thanks to Josefina for your friendship, service and professionalism!

I should mention that there were many people we met who were travelling with large groups, including a delightful group from Halifax area and southern Ontario. We were very impressed with the way this resort accommodated these groups for dining, including the a la cartes!

That pretty much sums up our review of this resort. Would we recommend this resort? Absolutely! Would we return? in a hear beat! We have travelled extensively throughout Mexico and the Carribean and feel confident in our review that you will not be disappointed in selecting this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank freckles0012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our community your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach.

We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

All kinds of things to say about this place which makes it very difficult depending on your likes or dislikes you could love or hate this place!

First if you are French Canadian, speak French or would like to practice and learn it good place to go. It is hard to say what the overall mix was but it was probably 95% Canadian sort of reminds me of going to Cuba. It seemed about 65% French Canadian, maybe 25% English speaking from Ontario, another 5% or so from Eastern Canada and the balance a mix, English, Argentinian, Eastern European etc. and a handful of Americans at most.

The Staff
Well simply Fantastic! Always singing, always smiling and always willing to help!

The Rooms
Hmm where to start clean but getting dated. The standard room very small compared to what I am used to and have done at least 20 of these all inclusive trips. Air conditioner worked but just barely enough to cool the room. The toilette plugged a few times after that you learned to flush it every time more than 1 sheet of toilette paper went in the bowl and even then it scared you as it rose to the top and barely went down. The phone well forget calling the desk to get the toilette fixed get some exercise and walk to the desk because that didn't work either. Oh well your on holidays! On a real positive if anything broke the staff was very efficient at sending someone right away and sending a letter to your room the next morning to make sure everything was fixed to your satisfaction.

The Beach
Who let the dogs out? Ok this is a very nice beach, that said you have to be very careful when you wonder down the beach off the resorts property. While they do not say much to you there is a guard who ask you as you go by sometime what your room number is? Most do not ask why but if you do he will point you to a very nice little paragraph that basically says as soon as you step off the resorts demarcation on the beach you are at your own risk. Well if you are one of the unfortunate ones or a witness of one of the unfortunate ones you will quickly find out why? The beach is littered with dogs. On one morning run I counted some 12 dogs. On another I was attacked by one of those dogs and was fortunate to escape into the ocean with only scrapes down my back. (This was before the guard ask my room number or I asked him why he wanted to know.) I manage to ward off the teeth and was fortunate the nails did not break the skin. According to other guests I was not the only one that had a run in with the dogs! Needless to the hotel seems to be well aware of the problem. Interestingly, everyone seems to think these dogs are local strays but I am not so sure about that. The beach is lined with what appears to be time shares and very nice homes. On my morning runs I seen a number of well healed residences open their doors as their unleashed dogs headed to the beach. Because I am one who loves to jog bare foot on the beach this is a resort I will not see again until they get the dog issue under control. Unfortunately, I do not think the resort has any say in the matter other than to lobby for a leash law! And it is too bad I would love to run the beach again! Two things dogs do not like seems to be postmen and runners!

The pool
Well you better be a beach person as the pool is probably one of the smallest I have ever seen! Forget laps as any reasonable swimmer can do end to end underwater without needing a breadth. Needless to say being that small there is no room for a swim up bar! That said the pool bar tenders are great singing all day long. Do not expect much pool activity this is a beach persons resort like I said at the beginning you either love it or hate it! The pool is pretty much dead until 3 pm when some activity takes place. Too bad too as the entertainment staff are great I am sure they could get the pool hopping a bit before 3?

The food!
For all inclusive resorts not bad except the Seafood restaurant which probably served the worst seafood. These guys really need a fish station! That way you can pick the fish and tell them how to cook it and when it is done. Like many of these places they just sock it with salt and oil and voila! Something about oily soggy fish is not that appealing. I have been to a number of these places now that have a fish station along with the typical pasta stations and definitely a consideration when returning. It is interesting to see how a place that cannot cook fish becomes so very good at it after a fish station is in place! Think about using a little white wine or apple juice to keep the moisture while grilling instead of oil?

To sum up if you like a nice quiet place, good staff good beach (if you stay on their section) this is the place for you. Would I go again well no! My wife likes a nice pool and pool activities and this place lacks both. Myself I am a beach person and the beach is great but until they find out who let the dogs this guy will not be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iamthe1two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you invested in writing a review of your recent visit.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality and service.

Our goal is the total satisfaction of our guests; we are very sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. We will take actions in order to improve the areas indicated by you. Please be assured that proper steps were taken by our hotel.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here from Feb 24 to 28. Stayed in building 11 which was right in front of the adult pool, which we liked.
The beach here is very long and shallow water for snorkeling. This is a big resort-very spread out but there are lots of carrito's (golf carts) & they will take you anywhere you want.
The snack bar at the beach is great for lunch. Hamburgers, hot dogs, salads, soup etc. My big fave iis the cappichino machine-it makes good cappichinos. There are 3 a la cartes-all good. The rooms are spacious & bathroom has separate shower & tub. There was a jazz sax in the lobby bar for a couple of nights. He was pretty good. Also there was dancing by the animation staff. Had a manipedi at the spas, I loved it.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the adult pool pick building 10,11 or 12. The location is away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ouida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Ouida,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that you had a fantastic time with us. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcome you next year in our Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo!

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

From the moment we stepped off the plane until the time we had to leave, we were treated with the utmost respect & waited on hand & foot. Our room (standard #23306) was above our visiual expectations. We were going to upgrade for a couple of extra feet but decided to remain in our standard room. Yaneli (our housekeeper) kept our room neat & clean & the fridge stocked. Besides the front desk being helpful, so was the rest of the staff. From the cooks to the waiters/waitresses we were well fed & drink was aplenty. The grounds were kept free from litter & well maintained. The resort atmosphere was very pleasing to the eye. We only did one outling & that was whale watching. It was worth it! Saw plenty of whales along with a few babies. One of the whales gave us quite a show slapping his tail on the water to attract the females! It was awesome!!! We have plans to do a few other outings next time we go down. Ziplining is at the top! The only thing we can think of that needs work is the nightly adult entertainment. There's no question about us going back. We're already planning for next year!

Room Tip: Our room was located near the front of the resort (23306). We discovered that we weren't far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Thank you again for taking your time to write this review and we hope to welcome you again at Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.4 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,770 reviews
19.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
19.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#3 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing