We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samana Republic Dominica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The food was excellent as well as service. The staff was very nice and the Hotel was very clean and very well maintained. Very nice beach and place to take long walk .
We like the staff and the clean rooms.
I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rnoel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.

We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our beautiful beach. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo

Regard,


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 6,150 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from 1st January till 15th and had a brilliant holiday.

We flew with Thomson on the new Dreamliner premium class into puerto plata and as the previous guy said once you arrive at this resort you will soon forget the transfer. We paid extra for the private transfer and it was 3 hrs30 min one way and 2 hrs 45 the other.

Checkin was not a good start. The guy tried to charge us 50 english pounds for the safe, The price is 4 dollars a day which we knew from previously emailing the hotel so this disappointed me. so guys from the uk be warned dont fall for this one as 56 dollars is a fare bit less than 50 pounds..

Rooms..

We were in the 22 block which was fine with us. Room was clean. Mini bar was fine 2 beers a day and soft drinks ..optics would have been nice though..

Bed was ok to start but after two weeks was a bit hard and pillows not great but if we had asked for new ones im sure we would have got them.
Aircon was great and used all the time.

One thing that would be more eco friendly and better for the customer would be dispensers with shower gel/shampoo instead off silly little plastic bottles.. please note Bahia. !

Restaurant

The buffet was amazing and we didn't even bother with the ala carts although I regret this now as everyone said they were amazing.
Beach snack bar ticked all the boxes , along with amazing views of the stunning beach. Although the second week we used the buffet resurant for a more varied lunch.

Pool.

Main pool was small as others have said and not many beds in the sun so we just used the beach. Pool bar was good though and fun fun fun..
We did use the quiet pool twice which had a nice little bar.

Beach

We had no problems getting a bed to the right its slightly quieter than the left but anywhere is fine its a gorgeous beach with lovely clean warm waters and of course the snorkling is a bonus.

Bar.

Was fine but a little disjointed and did lack atmosphere but ok for a few drinks.

Wifi

You get 60 mins a day in reception free ,although after a week we paid to have it 24/7 and that covers the whole resort and beach and is much faster... good enough to stream tv..so we could take drinks back to the room and chill quietly in the eve if we felt like it..

Taxi into las Terrenas is 10$ each way and about 15 mins drive. some nice little shops and bars and no hassle and we felt very safe.

Overall we cannot fault this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat.
The staff were amazing, friendly , polite and fun.
We will maybe return oneday to enjoy this lovely unspoilt area and amazing hotel.
Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon relaxing and perfect and those extra touches in our room were lovely thankyou

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank deanos2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the beach, pools, services and food, and to know that you had an excellent honeymoon. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort to do everything to make your honeymoon dream reality.

Your recommendations and suggestions will definitely be taken into consideration.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe in Samana for 7 days...very clean, friendly staff always ready to help! The beach is beautiful, clean and can walk for miles in the water...beautiful fish to see if you love to snorkel! We stayed in the junior suite which was very comfortable with a king size bed and sitting area and terrace. The food is very good for all inclusive and there are many different choices every night! We would like to say that Miguel at the front desk was very helpful and very courteous and friendly and took care of the room availability for us! Amilcar also one of the front desk staff was extra helpful to us in obtaining the "famous lobster" at the seafood restaurant and he made sure that everything was taken care of!! It is an overall nice and friendly place where you can spend nice relaxing days..the beach is beautiful and you can walk for miles since the location is perfect. The Grand Bahia Principe will be a perfect choice!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was close to the beach and restaurant area in the 3000 and the second floor ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pizzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo

Regard,


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We promised the lovely lady in customer relations (who booked our A la Carte meals) we would write a review, but we never got round to it so this is for her and any other interested parties. We e-mailed the hotel about a week or so before arrival requesting a top floor room if pos . had a prompt reply saying no guarantee but would do their best. On arrval on Christmas day after a longer journey than originally booked due to change of airport by Thomsons in DR, had a fairly speedy checK- in and golf carted to our top floor room, great! The room was apsolutely fine with one of the largest beds we have ever seen and was clean and kept this way for the next two weeks with one or two minor hiccups (1 day no bath towels 1 day no water) but put right next day by maid plus some heart shaped towel art as an apology. The hotel accomodation blocks etc were set in beautiful grounds and constantly attended to and was a credit to the many gardeners who looked after them. The rest of the grounds, lobby, bars, swimming pool surrounds, beach etc.were likewise constantly being cleaned and maintained. The beach was something else it was superb whether you went to the left or right of the hotel it was deserted paradise! Next we must say EVERY MEMBER OF STAFF were always polite, always smiling and helpful. The choice and quality of the buffet food was very, very good if not always warm/hot, (? why not install a couple of micro-wave ovens for clients to use as we have seen in similar hotels? ) We tried the Italian and the Gourmet restaurants but preferred the later and booked it 3 times. Next we come to the.. BUT...but what really disapointed us was (!) the very poor entertainment provided (Compared to the many other countries we have visited at this time of year) and where it was sited. Evening shows? were sometimes put on in the small theatre at the front of the complex we found this to smell fishy on the right hand bar side due to its proximity of the fish restaurant and drainy on the left hand side also there was no waitress service from the small one manned bar. Sometimes entertainment was provided at the very rear of the grounds in the open air theatre near the shops and disco this is fine as long as you don`t mind a long walk to watch entainment which can often be rained off and occasionally be waiter/waitress served small plastic cupped drinks. Music of poor quality was sometimes provided for dancing in the walkway through the lobby bar to the buffet restaurant, (well at least you can talk to everybody going through to the buffet!) (2) The only bar to stay open till the early hour of 11pm is the lobby bar which closes very promptly, the only place then to have a drink is your long walk to the disco where your back to your little plasic glasses and listening to EAR_DAMAGING! loud music, but you can damage your ears til 2am. Overall as stated a very good holiday,......BUT...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theouzotwo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time. We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are really happy to see that you have enjoyed our food, our service, our staff and our beach.

Concerning the entertainment activities that are part of the program designed for our guests, we regret very much that have not been to his liking, we offer a diverse range of recreational and sports activities at the beach and in the pool, taking into consideration the different types of customers who visit us, and the different tastes according to age and nationality. We regret that this service has not lived up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo

Regard,


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Bahia Principe during the last 2 weeks of Nov 2013 in a party of 6 adults. In summary I would recommend this hotel unreservedly for its food, beach and the friendliness of the staff.

We flew with Thomson and therefore landed at Puerto Plata. The journey time to the hotel is about 4 hours which is a little wearing after a long flight. However the hotel was definitely worth the journey.

The food in the buffet was excellent. The variety that was served up in the themed evenings was impressive. Having experienced a number of other all inclusive buffets this is certainly the best. Breakfasts were also very good and we managed to eat outside most mornings. A real treat in November! For lunch we ate at either the snack bar (which has a stunning view along the beach) or in the buffet. We never had a disappointing meal.
We also ate in the 3 al la carte restaurants. All were good although the portion sizes can be large for some and therefore a bit daunting. The staff as always worked tirelessly in their endeavours to ensure we had an enjoyable experience.
The hotel bedrooms are a good size and the beds reasonably comfortable. Rooms are cleaned every day to a good standard and clean towels provided.

The Privilege Club Reps in the lobby are a bit of a pain. We started out by trying to hold them off with a polite no. However this did not work with some and we had to resort to simply blanking them out as we walked past.

The bar in the lobby (which closes at 11pm each evening) was a little disappointing. The lobby bar is effectively a triangle made up of 3 wide ‘corridors’ surrounding a central water feature. As a consequence there was little atmosphere and unless you were in the bar area you were not able to appreciate the evening entertainment.
That said the waiting staff were excellent. Although a number of them did not speak English they tried very hard to understand what you wanted. This worked well when you could point to your drinks on the drinks menu but didn’t work so well when you ordered ‘off menu’. The resulting drinks were often interesting but that’s our fault for not speaking any Spanish. We thoroughly enjoyed our late afternoon, pre dinner & post dinner drinks!!!
There is evening entertainment every night either inside in the theatre or in the outside square close to the entrance gate. The entertainment standard varied but we particularly enjoyed the Michael Jackson & circus shows.

The beach is absolutely lovely. Soft sand and turquoise water which is relatively calm thanks to the off shore reef. The beach is backed by palm trees which makes it look very picturesque. There seemed to be enough beach beds for everyone although you did have to get to the beach early if you wanted to secure a beach umbrella. The stated hotel policy is that beach (& pool) beds cannot be ‘reserved’ before 8.00 in the morning. We were on the beach most days at 7.30 and never saw any evidence of this policy being implemented. The beach entertainment starts mid morning and looks great fun for those who want to join in. The staff worked tirelessly throughout the day, always with a smile on their faces.
We walked along the beach in the direction of Las Terranas every day. It’s a lovely walk with palm trees on your left and the gently lapping sea to your right. We never did reach the town but that didn’t matter.
A storm had past close to the DR during our first few days and as a consequence although the water inside the reef was still relatively calm the visibility was no good for snorkelling. Towards the end of our holiday the visibility improved and the snorkelling off the beach was good enough to satisfy all but the serious diver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We greatly appreciate your comments about facilities, services, grounds and the friendliness of our staff; Comments such as like yours are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfill our commitment with customer satisfaction.

We hope to have you back in the near future at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Bahia Principe 31st December - 14th January 2014. As most of the reviews state the staff are all very friendly and helpful. There is always a good choice of food in the buffet restaurant which is also freshly made and cooked well.

The Airport tax when you arrive in Puero Plata must be paid in dollars 10 per person and they will not except any other currency. You can pay in Paso when traveling out of the country or 20 dollars each. Also at the Airport be aware of the guys who come and take your case to the bus even if you say no they take your case anyway and then want a tip. This does not bother us but we were almost to our bus 4ft away and two guys stood there waiting for a tip when only one had taken our suite case.

If flying with Thomsons the journey from Puerto Plata is 4 hours but this was worth it when we got there.

The rooms are a good size and cleaned everyday. Clean towels provided in the room each day and at the pool and beach.

The Priveledge Club Reps in the lobby are a bit pushy and misleading as to what the presentation entails. Informed it was a presentation about saving money on further Bahia Principe hotel holidays but it was more like a time share sales pitch involving RCI hotels. I was disapointed about this in this standard hotel.

The bar in the lobby closes at 11pm each evening which I felt was a bit early. The disco does open until 2am and most drinks are served there. The music in the disco was complained about during our stay by another guest and the music seemed to improve after that. Part of the buffet restaurant doubles up as a late snack bar (burgers, nacho's etc) but only beer is served as an alcoholic drink you can get soft drinks and it is open until 7am..

We walked to Las Terranas along the beach several times (approx 1hr). This is a lovely walk and well worth doing as the beach is lovely. We also went to other towns (Samana, Santo Domingo and El Limon) using the public transport and felt safe.

We had a lot of fun around the pool bar during the day. Euclides was brilliant, his personality made the pool bar fun. He was also an "EXCELLENTE" barman. He always knew who was to be served next and there never seemed to be a big queue waiting for drinks all though the bar was often full. We will truly miss Euclides and his serving of "Mamajuana".

Although we have mentioned Euclides during our review all the other members of staff were also very happy, friendly and helpful (too many to mention).

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe in Mexico which was a larger resort with more more facilities and of a higher standard. Although this resort was smaller it meant you see regular faces from different countries and make lots of friends which did not happen in Mexico.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone we have not stopped talking about our stay since we came home. We travel 3-4 times a year and this is one of our best holidays. If you are reading this then you are probably considering booking - Book you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Debzsut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel and that the assigned rooms were suitable for you and your family.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time. We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are really happy to see that you have enjoyed our food, our service and our staff.

On the other hand, ,we have communicated to the Privilege Club about their employees to be less persistent on our guests.


Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a group of 18 of us and we had a great time. The food was generally excellent and the staff were very friendly. For a group from age 7 to 83 to all have a good time, shows the value in the location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for the comments we did get through our community of Tripadvisor. As a company dedicated to the total satisfaction of our guests, we provide the most value to your opinion, in order to remain in a line of constant improvement.

Our goal is not only to satisfy guests' needs, but also exceed their expectations and anticipate their desires. This is why we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.

Regards,


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Samana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
462 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 35 in Las Terrenas
148 reviews
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
4,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $132 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing