We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good food , very clean and smiling people, a bit too warm at the restaurant but better to have dinner at the terrasse. Laurence from royal golden always gave good informations. Las Terrenas is nice and has good shopping from European living there. Go at the fisherman village there are good restaurant. Don t miss Luis restaurant ( a container) on the beach, playa Cozon outside Las terrenas good place to have lunch

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation. We are really pleased to read the comment about our food; all this dedication has been specifically made for our Grand Bahia Principe Resort guests.

Your review of our property is also encouraging our management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

Thank you for your recommendations for other guests and for the time you took to add your opinion at this website.

Kindest regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,954 of 6,211 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Traveled with friends Feb 2-9 2013.

This resort is fantastic in every way. The drive from the airport is almost an hour, but fabulous views, and they stop to get everyone a cold refreshment on the way to the resort. Check in was very quick. Stayed in the Diamond section. Room was very large and clean. You have your own pool and a poolside bar. This section is the farthest from beach, main pool and restaurants, so keep this in mind when booking. They do have shuttles that are always there if you flag them down. All of the A la carts were excellent, food and service very good. We had a birthday party at one and they had champagne at the table which was a nice touch. The wine is fairly good compared to other trips we have taken. The buffet was also good with lots of variety.

Took a side trip into Las Terrenas one day. Taxi was I think $15 return. Looked around for about 2-3 hours and driver waited in town for us. Quite an eye opener. People do not have a lot, but make do with what they have. The beach in town is very beautiful, and there was an open air fish market....most still alive so fresh! Do not recommend going to town at night for safety reasons.

The main pool in very nice and close to the beach and the main buffet. There is a poolside bar, not a swim up, but that was ok. Victor who hangs at the pool bar can book you a trip. We went deep sea fishing. He gave us a deal (saved $25 each). Keep in mind it looks calm but once you get out past the reef, it can(was) be very rough!

The beach-SPECTACULAR!! One, if the not the best beaches I've ever seen. You can walk forever in either direction and so clean, clear and safe. Beach is lined with lots of natural palm trees and no litter. The water is warm and great for swimming.

When camped out at the beach, there are vendors that walk through trying to sell souvenirs, but just say no and they go on their way. They will also barter with you.

Would I recommend or go back, for sure! Looking forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: Diamond club rooms are nice, but a ways from all activities and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gecko59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comment. You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing you are really blissful with the product of our effort to do everything to make your wedding dream reality. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us. We are delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Okay im 30 years old and decided to take my gf to DR for her first time. Im dominican my self although currently reside and was born in the US, i have been traveling to DR every year for the past several years. Location was great, beach was amazing amazing. Rooms were out dated although very clean, the grounds were well maintained. Food was okay not great at all. As far as entertainment, what entertainment. All the resorts i have visited throughout DR are full of excitement this place is dead, one pool which by the way is full of kids. I mean no excitement at all, the drinks were all watered down(by far the most watered down from all the resorts ive visited). I had a blast in samana i visted all the places i wanted to visit but i wish i stayed at a different location, im glad im dominican and have traveled to dr many times so i didnt hesitate to leave the resort to adventure out. If you want a place to sleep this is it, if you want the full experience of a resort this is not the place. Just not my cup of tea, samana is an amazing place, make sure to visit el ricon , el limon and cayo levantado , best experience in DR wish i can say the same for my resort experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Omctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comment and value your opinion for the overall betterment of our hospitality.

We are sorry that we were not able to impress you with our services. Please let this not be a motive to not stay with us in the future as I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality and promptness of our services.

For any enquiry please contact us.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travelled to this hotel from the UK with Thomson. The hotel was very good, very clean and in beautiful grounds. The beach was amazing with calm clear sea with coral reefs near the shore. Great for kids as the sand was soft and made good sandcastles. The pool area was nice with comfy sun loungers but a few more parasols would be good. You could get beds with shade if you were down at the pool before 9am. There was also a quiet pool but we didn't use that one as we travelled with a child.

The food was very good, fresh with a good selection. The a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffet with excellent entrecôte steak in the gormet restaurant. The staff were all friendly and attentive making us feel really welcome.

We stayed in a Golden club junior suite. The room was very clean and spacious with an excellent bathroom with separate walk in shower and whirlpool bath. Great if you have kids as they can have a bath while you have a shower, saving time. The rooms were a little dated but it didn't really matter as they were still comfortable.

The only real negative was the transfer from the airport which was just awful! The Thomson brochure stated that the transfer took 45 mins. It actually took 1 hr 30 mins as they didn't use the toll road and took us along the old road that was so windy, twisty and bumpy it was not really suitable for a large coach and to make it worse the driver drove too fast. This resulted in severe nausea and more than one person including myself and my six year old vomiting. One little girl was sick four times. We told the rep about this and he assured us we would be going on the toll road back but this wasn't the case as some were sent back that way whereas we were taken through the mountains which again caused many passengers to feel really ill and took an hour and ten minutes. Thomson really need to sort this out!!!

I would definitely recommend the hotel to others as it was excellent providing the transfers are guaranteed to be as advertised, not the awful experience we had to endure.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Please accept our sincere apology for the airport shuttle but unfortunately the hotel does not handle transportation, it´s the tour operator that handle that.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is my sixth visit to the Dominican but first visit to Samana. Previously stayed at the Dreams Resort, Majestic Colonial Resort, the Pallladiums resort and Iberostar at punta cana all five stars.
I must say exceptional value for money and you cannot fail to have a nice holiday here.
The only two negatives here are the coach ride from the airport to the resort the most frightening experience of my life ( flew with thomsons). the coach could not climb the mountain roads and rolled back. Many of the british complained and the journey back to the airport was via the new toll road in a new coach. Problem solved immmediately by thomsons.British people when you arrive check with the rep that you are not going the long way round offer to pay the toll its 40 dollars for the coach to drive through but i am sure thomsons and forst choice will not allow this to happen again.
The other negative was the lobby bar very slow to serve you but by the tenth day into the holiday this improved.It is the carribean mind.
This resort is just fabulous enjoy.
Usually never write review but i had to for this hotel go before the price goes up.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Golden Club Rooms upgrade. LOTS OF LITTLE EXTRAS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jackieandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My Mum and I spent two beautiful weeks in this hotel from 9th-23rd May 2013.

We had a spectacular time at El Portillo. When we first arrived at the hotel, we saw that the entrance and lobby was beautiful. Welcome drinks were handed to us, but unfortunately we didn't get a welcome dance as some others have!

The room (24206) was lovely, very spacious and clean. There was a jacuzzi and two showers in the large bathroom, and two comfy queensize beds in the bedroom.
We asked for some more coathangers as there weren't many available but this was not a problem.

We enjoyed all of the al-a-carte restaurants which made a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the buffet. As a vegetarian I found the choice in the buffet and restaurants to be good, and the food and beverages manager Bienvenido (aka Bimbi) was so helpful and even arranged special vegetarian meals to be prepared for me!

The buffet was plentiful and had a varied range of foods. The buffet, restaurant and bar staff were always smiling and friendly, although sometimes there was a bit of a language barrier.

The pool was nice, and the surrounding sunbeds were comfortably cushioned. There was always lovely Spanish music being played at the poolside which really reinforced the holiday atmosphere, and there were also many activities going on around the poolside and in the pool.

Of course the beach was stunning, everything you want a beach to be - white sand, clear sea water, coral at your fingertips and palm trees all along the beach.
On the beach there are a lot of salesmen that will keep coming back even after you say no thanks! However we learnt to laugh about this and even ended up buying a couple of things.

We visited the Discoteca many nights which was nice. Some nights were busier than others but we made the best of it each night. The DJ is quick to play requests if you just ask :)

We booked two trips via Thomson; 1) Haitisus Park/Caves/Bacardi Island 2) Jeep Safari - both of which were excellent value for money and so many interesting things packed in each trip!
It was nice to get out of the hotel and experience some of the history and culture of the Republica Dominicana!

We had golden wristbands which entitled us to a larger room and access to the golden suite (computers, drinks, snacks etc).

We also had a body massage in the Spa which was relaxing and so luxurious!

Overall the holiday was stunning and I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

In the name of the all Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo we want to thank you for have taken this time to share your amazing experience with us. Comments like your make us feel honored for have of the entire work of the staff be assured that we will share it with all our staff.

We will be very excited to welcome you for your next arrival, so do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Receive my best regards and Have a nice Day!


Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay was from 05-25-13 to 06-01-13. Check in and transport to the resort was excellent. The staff was very friendly all time. Variety of quality food. Nice setting inside and outside. High hygiene standards. Lots of entertainment. Overall, very pleasant and satisfactory vacation which I would recommend.
The room was clean, always had hot water, pressure good and no issues with fridge or a/c. All of the employees at the resort , animation, housekeeping, waiters/waitress and grounds keepers we friendly and hardworking. We enjoyed the food ,buffet especially, as well as the drinks. The resort grounds are beautiful.The beach is gorgeous , goes on for miles and the water is clear and lots of reefs for snorkeling. We enjoyed that a lot. We'll come again. We will recommend the resort to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabajOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
566 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#5 of 54 in Samana Province
4,015 reviews
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $139 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing