We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our whole family accompanied us on this trip, 8 adult children and our 5 grandsons. We felt the beach was great for the boys for both sandcastle building and snorkeling as well as skin boarding. The waters was green flagged most of the week. Never red flagged. The food at the buffet was awesome even for our most picky eater. Never a problem with service even though we were a large group. A special thanks to Ana, our hardworking waitress who always seemed there to help us. Hope she delivers a healthy baby. The mini club girl, Sandra, was wonderful getting the boys involved in the dancing, shuffle board and darts. She deserves a raise, as you could tell she really loves children. Only problem during this trip was a safe that never worked even though we called to have it fixed and a major ceiling leak; but this was repaired while we were at the beach for the day. None of this ruined our trip. Would also like to thank Antonio, a young man training for bartender position. He is a very pleasant young man with the people skills for that job. Hope he does well. The family went zip lining and loved it. I would highly recommend this resort. We LOVE the Bahia principe resorts...

Room Tip: We were in the diamond club area, which had its own pool and bar. There was a problem with non work...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. We really appreciate you taking the time to post some valuable comments about your stay with us.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. I am very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of the employees and we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future. It was our pleasure to be at your service!

We thank you for recommending our hotel also to your family and friends, the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,058)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,077 - 2,083 of 6,058 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We travelled with friends Jan.26- Feb.3/ 13 and can't say enough good things about it. Food was great,rooms were super clean, the staff was fantastic and the atmosphere was super fun. The beach was absolutely incredible- we didn't even go to the pool because the beach was so great. The beach vendors were friendly and not at all pushy- as soon as you said no thank you, they moved on. Even the time share people weren't aggressive. Our Air Canada rep, Guy, was absolutely fantastic. Any little problem that came up, he was more than helpful. Super friendly and very funny- great job Guy! Overall an amazing experience- great place to recharge the batteries! Long overdue trip for my husband and I. The staff were always so friendly and quick to help. Because we hadn't been away in so long, we weren't sure what to expect but we were so happy with our trip. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which is a little small but we didn't spend any time in it except to slee...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel and that the assigned rooms were suitable for you and your family.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Two weeks are not enough time spent in this excellent resort. Friendly staff and great food and
perfectly kept grounds will make you want to spend more time here.
In other words: we want to come back!

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra monies!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just returned from our stay at The Gran Bahia El Portillo. It was a quick trip that we'll definitely make longer next time. The grounds, the villas, the dining and the staff were top notch. We couldn’t get enough of the long expansive, beautiful beach with calm waters and beautiful breezes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gemini08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to El Portillo Samana , Jan 26- Feb 2. Had a great time the resort was beautiful & well maintained,clean .pool was nice, we sat by the pool in the a.m. then in afternoon went to the beach, to hot by the pool .It did rain a little during the week but overall it was a great vacation.Martin Vimenez was a great guy he was very helpful,when we needed anything we went to him ,he made it right.He was the Bell Boy. Maria Bonse was very helpful has well.The food was great ,Itilian lacarte was good lots of food.The only downfall was the room didn't get cleaned until late in the day when we were back to get cleaned up for dinner. we would go back to this resort again,At the beach we were always able to find chairs in the afternoon.

Room Tip: we just had standard room it was fine for us we were only in there to clean up & sleep
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

what an excellent vacation we stayed jan 29-feb 5- great hotel - beautiful area- unspoilt by development-most amazing beach- can walk forever- good food- al-carte restaurants were great-special thanks to hotel porter ismael gil- this man needs to be commended for his special attention to helping us woman with our heavy luggage both upon arrival and departure--definately will be coming back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank summerontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from Bahia Principe, El Portillo last week. This was the second time we had spent our vacation there. We went last year, same time, with friends. The food and drinks were excellent, as was the staff. I was a little disappointed in the snorkeling, plenty of things to see, but the reefs appear to be dead. Beach was very nice, but a little crowded. Could walk for miles on the beach. Things were a little different this year. Food still very good, but selection has been decreased, no shellfish this year. Drinks seemed to be less potent this year also. The snorkeling is about the same. The staff is great, all though the Priviledge Club staff are a little pushy and annoying. When we arrived this time, we were warned not to walk too far on the beaches as there had been some armed robberies of tourists. There were guards armed with shotguns and sidearms. We even saw armed guards patroling the resort it self. Last year we had a junior suite, this year we were given a small ground floor room. Not sure if it happens to all ground floor rooms, but when the rooms on the upper floors flushed their toilets, our room would fill with the smell of flushed toilets. No good!
When we were making reservations for the resturants one day, we were offered a stay at one of the other resorts on the island. We decided to accept their invitation and spent three days at the Cayo Levantado resort. It is a true 4 or 5 star resort! Staff was excellent, and almost all spoke English. The resort it self is beautiful and the grounds are awesome. Food was excellent with much more selection than El Portillo. El Portillio is rated as a 4.5 star resort, but at best is a 3.5. One of the Privilige Club sales people confirmed this himself. It is doubtful I will vacation again at El Portillo, but would love to go back to the Cayo Levantado resort. The only drawback to the Levantado resort was the snorkeling, but we didnt get a chance to snorkel all the beaches, so we may have missed the better ones.

Room Tip: The junior suites are nice, avoid any room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeOnTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.
We are very disappointment to hear that we did not reach your expectations regarding your recent stay with us and we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. You can rest assure that all your comments will be taken in consideration and we really appreciate them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to can host you in the future.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
563 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
880 reviews
5.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $127 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing