We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominican Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from this resort, having stayed from 10/28/12-11/1/12. I traveled with my father from Tampa, Florida to the Dominican Republic. This resort is absolutely beautiful, with plenty of room to wander, from the pools to the beach to the many many bars on the property. I found all of the staff to be warm and helpful, most especially two bartenders; Josephina (inside) and Carlos (at the pool bar). This is not to say that we didn't have excellent service by all of the servers and bartenders, but these two really went above and beyond the call of duty. We did have one negative interaction with a staff member whose name I don't recall. However, I'm sure we weren't the only ones with this feeling. At the resort, they have people who approach you to offer you a "gift" and to give you "information" about the activities available for you there. Unfortunately, this is simply a way to get you to agree to go and listen to a 90+ minute talk about all the various properties owned by the resort, as well as to "buy into" them. Although we didn't agree to attend this talk, we met others who, sadly, had gone. According to everyone we spoke to who had attended, they refuse to take no for an answer, and many people just got up and left. They do offer "gifts" if you attend, which consist of a hat/towel package or a "booze" package. Either way, for us, no amount of gifts was worth wasting our precious vacation time. The reason I mention this is because even after we said that we weren't interested in attending, we were asked several more times as we passed by their work area. Finally, they gave up, but this is annoying.
The food at the resort is very good, with many different types of food available basically 24/7. There is a snack bar that opens with food between breakfast and lunch, as well as another snack bar that is open from 11 pm to 7 am. And let's not forget that you can order room service as well. We also made reservations to eat at three of the "special" restaurants on the property. Although they were good, we didn't find them so extraordinary that we would necessary recommend them. We found them to be average at best and definitely NOT worth the wait and/or the very late time for seatings.
There are several activities that you can participate in while at the resort, such as scuba, wind surfing, snorkeling, etc. All these activities are on top of the ever constant activities that go on all over the resort, from water aerobics, volleyball, dancing, and all sorts of fun activities that you can partake in or avoid. I have to mention one very special person who organizes many of these activities; her name is Sugar. She is warm, funny and extremely helpful. Sugar is also an incredible dancer who helps anyone/everyone with dance moves that may overwhelm someone. Make sure you introduce yourself to her as she seems to also have a great memory and will remember you by name during your stay!
The beaches in the Dominican are all public. With that said, one must know that anyone/everyone can go on any and all beaches, regardless if a resort sits on one. This resort has security set up on each side of the beach that borders the resort. The guards will take your room number if you leave the "resort's" beach in the event anything may happen to you. In fact, we were told that walking on the beach above and below the resort is not recommended as it can be unsafe. Also, you will see several vendors selling their wares on the beaches around the resort. From the information we received from our "agent," we were told to make sure that you do not offer them more than 1/3 of any price they ask for, otherwise you will be ripped off. And don't be foolish enough to believe they're actually selling real gold, silver, etc. Your finger will turn green before you leave the resort!
We decided to go into Las Terrenas to walk around and do some shopping. We could have gone by taxi or motorcycle (both of which were waiting outside our gates), but we decided to go by "bus." This "bus" was actually a small, beat up pickup truck, privately owned and operated. You simply climb in the back (the bed of the truck) and hang on! It was actually a lot of fun and we felt very safe; the locals who were on board happily made room for each of us to get on and even attempted to communicate, although many didn't know English. Also, for the cost ($1.50 per person each way), it was a great way to see how the locals live and travel.
All in all, this vacation was absolutely wonderful and this resort was fantastic! The one and only downside was the distance from the airport. Due to the storm that they experienced a few weeks prior to our visit, part of the "good" road was washed away and we had to take a very long detour. This trip ended up taking us three hours to get to the resort, which was excruciating! However, even without the detour, this resort is a two hour ride from the airport in Santa Domingo. You may want to consider this when making your airline reservations, as there are closer airports to this particular resort.

Room Tip: Do not get a standard room as they are a very basic room. Also, I'd recommend asking for a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, such as special moment as it is your holidays. We feel so happy to read that you have enjoyed so much your stay among us.

It is nice for us to realize when our guests have had a good time. At the same time we thank you for appreciate the efforts of our staff and would like to mention that we will be very happy to welcome you back here at your house at Samana.

Do not forget to contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com before your next visit and make it more special than this first time.

Once again thanks a lot for your valuable comments.

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,172 - 2,178 of 6,091 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked an 8 day trip with 21 members of our family and friends for our wedding...SO glad we picked this hotel...it was sooooo gorgeous and fun and there was lots to eat and do! We thought the staff were amazing...Carlos at front desk, Sugar the kids club leader and animation team member...and natalie the waiter..so awesome.....no request seemed annoying or troublesome...we were a big group and im sure we were very trying at times with picky people or crying kids hahah but they all just smiled and accommodated us....
Georgina the wedding coordinator...went above and beyond...she made my wedding ceremony how I always pictured it....fabulous! the dinner was good, they let me add my own touches to the wedding, she really wanted to please us, and it was just so nice!
Guy the Air Canada rep wasn't as available as he should've been in my opinion, and he didnt seem too interested in getting my mother to a ziplining excursion which she REALLY had her heart set on..but, that's not the hotel's fault.
i strongly recommend using bug spray to keep away sand fleas and mosquitoes..i was eaten alive. but none of the male guests were! lol wierd!
there are some aggressive vendors on the beach or around the hotel..just firmly say NO GRACIAS and put your hand up...and avoid eye contact...dont be intimidated that are just desparate for a sale and wont hurt you!
I did not care for the el catey airport but to get to the resort its worth it....the drive to and from was quite scenic and we actually enjoyed it!
the animation was a riot, so much work goes into it, they are quite talented and aim to please! remember, its for fun and entertainment not broadway!
they can dance tho, I will say that! the kids performance was fun too! the kids loved SUGAR she was just priceless, a true asset to that resort!!!
those people work SO hard, some of thme are away from their families and kids and home to make US happy so please, treat them kindly and them accordingly....and if something does happen (ie your power goes out, which did happen several times) ask yourself how importsant is it? is it worth getting all grumpy at the staff for? NO! send out a smile, it will be returned to you.
oh and i LOVED the serve yourself blended drinks..for someone like me who doesnt drink i could juust go and serve myself a virgin strawbana drink virgin pina colada...also, the resort feels so safe...we even would walk off the resort to the local bodega to get stuff that was cheaper than it would be on the resort grounds...check out Samana...it truly is a hidden gem of DR...punta cana and puerto plata are the better known but the samana peninsula was just breathtaking...the trees, mountains, tropical fish swimming right there with you....heaven! I'm homesick for it!

Room Tip: 3rd floor standard rooms have a nice high,sloped ceiling and if you get a room near the lobby, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pandora81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting in Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us again to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send kind comments about your stay and your wedding at our resort. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

The entire Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo Team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for appreciating the service of the people working at our hotel, your kind comments really incentives and encourages them to keep working and improving day by day, we will forward your comments to them.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again, do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Husband & I travelled to this resort on Oct. 6 - 13th. 2012. (Junior Suite, Bldg. #10) What a great resort, here are our true reviews on everything:
First of all, our WestJet Rep. was Herman, & he was great. Very informative & helpful. We had him last year @ Cayo Leventado also. When we went to the briefing with Herman, he introduced us to the Manager Carlos Rosario. In all the resorts that we have been to, I have never seen this. Carlos works long hours to keep everyone happy & if you have a problem, he will make it right. He is the best & very personable. Also, the Assistant Manager, Felix Sanchez, is also very helpful making sure everyone is having a great vacation. We also met him @ Cayo Levantado last year & he remembered. We were very impressed. Both of them even came to say good-bye when we had to leave. We did have a couple of issues (Air Conditioner, bathroom) & the front desk was great also. If we advised them before we went to breakfast, it was always fixed when we returned. Yes, there are Time Share people in the lobby, but if you tell them No Thanks a couple of times, they remember you & do not bother anymore. We never had much bother from them, they are only doing their job. The maids always did a great job of our room, sometimes later in the day, but who goes to stay in the room anyway. The maids were always saying Ola & very friendly. Leave them a tip on the pillow, they work hard to keep everything clean.
The grounds are kept imaculate with the gardeners, etc keeping everything groomed & clean. The grounds were beautiful & made the walk to the beach very pleasant.
The beach was simply beautiful, and you could walk for hours. There was also really good snorkeling right at the beach. If you were in knee deep water, there would be fish come & swim around you. Bring them some bread & the fish will jump for it. Regarding the vendors on the beach, they are there. If you say NO Thanks, they will move along & not bother you. But if you barter you will get a great deal on some really nice things. We met two other couples, & hung around at the beach together all week, & I think that we bought something everyday from the guys.
Cannot comment on the pool, as we spent the week at the beach. However, the pool was beautiful with lots of loungers and was very clean. We found it cooler to stay at the beach as there was a little breeze there.
The animation staff work long hours to make sure all are having fun. Some of the nightly shows are ok, & some are really good. The staff work hard on these shows so take a hour & go see them, you might just enjoy your self. The Animation staff all have alot of energy but the ones that really stood out were - Ariel, Daniel, Juan, & Rosa. One evening the hotel had a live band playing, which was excellent, & some of the Animation team were getting people up to dance. What alot of fun. If they come & ask you to dance, get up, even if you do not know the steps, they will show you & it is loads of fun.
We did not attend any of the A-la-Carts, as I am a picky eater, but the people we hung around with said they were all very very good. We stayed at the Buffet every evening & there was lots too choose from. The Pasta cook was excellent, & would make the Pasta the way you asked, with the additions & different sauces to choose from. They are more than happy to accomadate.
The staff in the Buffet were great, & we would like to name a few that also stood out - Natalie, what a sweetheart, & Miguel, always making sure all was perfect. Many others too.
We did a Spa treatment. WOW. We chose the couples treatment, which included a hot tub soak, then a relaxing massage for both of us at the same time. There was candles & bubbles all over the room, what an excellent experience. They know how to treat the guests. Well worth it.
We only took one excursion, & it was to the Walk the Plank Zip Line. If you only do one, this is the one to do. I am scared of heights, but the staff makes you feel very comfortable. Safety is number 1, & they are very helpful. I would do this again. I want to say "Hello" to Chocolate. He was our guide to the Zip Line & our Papparazi for the day. He was a hoot. There is a beautiful Waterfall at the end that you can swim in. There are kids that will take you by the hand to help you walk down to the Waterfall, & the little girl that helped me, showed me all the different trees & plants. You do not have to tip, but what is a couple of dolars. It means alot to them, & they are so grateful.
One note, it is best not to take the snorkeling excursion from the guys selling them on the beach (Scuba Quatic). They drive too fast for the conditions of the water further out, & they said they would take us to 2 places but we only went to one. No fish to see, much more at the resort off of the beach. Save your money, not worth the time & injuries from getting thrown around the speed boat. This company is NOT associated with the Hotel.......Beware!
All said, this is a really beautiful resort with great people and we would certainly return in minute.
Maybe, even in April of 2013.

Room Tip: Go with a Junior Suite, for the extra, it is worth every penny & you have your own pool & ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunseekerNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. We would like to thank you for trusting and recommending Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests; they will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

The entire Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at Samana!

Sending you my kindest regards,do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I came to this hotel 9 years ago for our honeymoon when it was under another management, so as soon as we heard Gran Bahia was the new owner we had to check it out. We won't deny that we were skeptical about the place since we don't have fond memories of our honeymoon, but BOY OH BOY what a a great improvement. We have been to other Gran Bahia hotels in Samana and we love them all.

Sandi, "the new guy" was very pleasant, professional and always courteous and on top of things. Too bad we didn't have the chance to say good bye to him and thank him for all his help. SANDI, eres el mejor, gracias por tu ayuda en todo y por siempre estar vigilando a la 'menor de edad' de nuestro grupo. Apreciamos grandemente tu trabajo". También GEORGINA por ayudarnos con la reservación y acomodarnos, la langosta estaba deliciosa.

The quality and service of the hotel is excellent, however I have a few things I personally disliked. One of them was people smoking everywhere; they are all over the place and for non smokers like us that is VERY ANNOYING!!! They don't respect the non smoking signs and I believe the management can be more demanding on this, maybe putting bigger signs and have staff members asking politely not to smoke on areas that are not permitted; INCLUDING THE BEDROOMS. Perhaps a suggestion to have more control of this is charging a fine at any indication or proof of smoking in these areas since the hotel has to spend more money in chemicals and detergents in order to disinfect the rooms. One of the rooms we reserved smelled like cigarette and even though we brought this up to the front desk, nothing was done about it. I also feel that hand sanitizers must be more visible to all guests and staff entering the buffets and restaurants, I had to ask the lady who always opened the door to the buffet restaurant and it was in a container with no sigh or specification that it was hand sanitizer and because of it nobody knew about it. I saw smokers who would put away their cigarets right before entering the restaurant and them put their dirty hands in the food utensils. Perhaps the person who opens the door should have the sanitizer in his/her hand and pump a bit of it to everyone who comes in. HIGINE IS THE KEY TO A HEALTHY VACATION. Finally the guys from the privilege club are very persistent and take a lot of time from you. My tactic was to learn a few of their names and when someone new came over I would simply say; "I already spoke to Isabelito, or Alberto and we are not interested thanks" and that was all.

Our stay was during hurricane Sandy so it was raining for all 3 days we stayed there and we couldn't enjoy it as we wanted; the beach, the sun, the pool... But despite of it all we had a wonderful time. We look forward to come back again: SOON! Hopefully with less smokers around the non smoking area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Los_Herreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and taking the time to write your positive impressions and your suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in our hotel.

Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Kind regards

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from our first vacation to Samana, which certainly will not be our last. We have been to many Carribean destinations + Mazatlan, but this is our first review. We based our decision to choose the El Portillo from other reviews and appreciated the comments which matched our experience to expectations. We prefer relaxation for our anniversary celebrations and this resort, beach and Samana area delivered in spades! The locals peddaling their wares on the beach were not over-bearing and the on-resort sales associates respected our choice once we indicated no interest in after their sales promotions.
This resort is a couple levels above typical or average resort experiences. The beaches are great and one day we walked along the beach to Las Terrenas (about an hr walk) with no hassle. The waters in front of the resort are often calm and clear which lends well to snorkelling around many coral areas within close proximity to the resort.
Resort staff are appreciative of the smallest recognition and do what they can to make the stay most enjoyable. Carlos at the main reception deals well with any slightest customer concern that developed and we witnessed him respectfully handle a customer that was aggressively expressing concern. To provide understanding, the onset of Hurricane Sandy had affected the resort for a couple days including a brief power outage and affected TV signal while most retreated to their rooms. I am not sure we can hold the resort staff accountable for significant weather events such as hurricanes, but resort staff tried their best and grounds crews were in action once the weather cleared.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Satisfied1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

In the name of the all Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo we want to thank you for have taken this time to share your amazing experience with us. Comments like your make us feel honored for have of the entire work of the staff be assured that we will share it with all our staff.

We will be very excited to welcome you for your next arrival, so do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Receive my best regards and Have a nice Day!

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a review of 2 halves...simply because our 2 weeks of holiday had very different experiences...

Firstly overall...

We had a junior suite that was in block 10 on the second floor, brilliant room, overlooking the quiet pool, a walk to the beach or the lobby but overall couldn't have asked for better, the room was made up perfectly, the staff were brilliant, they even changed our room rota because we found after a couple of days that we came in a little earlier than many people do and the maids hadn't been...Wi-fi in the main part of the complex was a godsend, it was reasonable in terms of speed and stability. Still find it annoying that you have to pay for a safe...it should be part of the room...

Having been to a Bahia hotel before we knew all about the Privilege club, we did find the guys a little pushy, but they soon got the message, its a brilliant idea, a fantastic offer, but we've been there and seen it...it isn't for us just yet...at the same time, we understand those guys are just trying to make a living...

The shops are HUGELY expensive, £15 for a small bottle of sun-cream because we ran out...although the gifts aren't too expensive, the guys on the beach etc aren't too bad, a pleasant thanks but no thanks was all it ever took. We weren't approached at all once heavy handedly...the guards on the beach who check you in and out were pleasant, although it was a little spooky on an evening finding an armed guard dressed in dark clothes wandering along a dark path!

The kitchens were brilliant, the egg chefs, the pasta chefs, basically anyone you bumped into the first week were wonderful.

We thought the a la carte restaurants were wonderful...please open the Italian more than one night a week...All the restaurants overall are excellent, never a lack of choice in the buffet...simply excellent...

The animation team were brilliant...Juan Carlos is an amazing find...that guy really is as good as it gets...some of them were a little lacklustre and the one disappointing thing was that all the music round the main pool all day was merengue...it's ok in small doses, but a little variation would be nice...oh and learn how to manage the sound systems...it would help massively...

The gardens were beautiful, the gardeners pleasant and friendly, everyone says hello...

Now the single bone of contention.........

The first week...

Really couldn't have asked for a better holiday, luxury, service, resort, simply everything was unbelievable. The room was fantastic, the place was quiet, peaceful and in a single word heavenly.

The Thomas Cook rep was a joy, not too pushy, not too wishy washy, wanted everything to be right.

First week, an absolute joy.

Second week...

the resort started to get busier and we noticed standards slipping, a huge influx of staff who were new, and inexperienced and a lot of the other staff seemed to disappear overnight...but with that change came a distinct lack of service, trying to get drinks, asking questions, getting water refilled, in fact getting any drink at any of the meals became a struggle...the room service really didn't change though and overall it was still very very good...but the change seemed to happen as the Americans, Canadians and Germans arrived.

I don't know if these people simply irritate the staff, or they expect too much, or they simply expected 9* service from a truly exceptional place. The comments I heard (and managed to pick up because I speak a little Spanish) implied that the staff were treated with absolutely no respect at all by certainly the Americans...the Canadians got lumped into this and the Germans simply had no respect for anyone.

The a la carte restaurants even went downhill...

Almost overnight the entire place changed, we loved the place, the team that was there were brilliant, they couldn't do enough for the first week....after that we just didn't seem to matter...until we got a member of staff that understood we weren't American, Canadian or German...once they understood we were British...brilliant...

Overall probably the best holiday we've had or could have hoped to have had, we holiday when we holiday because of our anniversary, the staff made it special once again...we just feel that either they get a raw deal from some of the other nations...or once the place gets busy its ok for standards to slip a little...(I really don't think that's the case)...5 stars the first week...4 the second...

Would we go back...I think so. Just a couple of weeks earlier...

Room Tip: One tip...learn even a little Spanish..it gets you a long way... if you have a complaint, not matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MikeH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking you time to write us your comments during your stay in our hotel. For Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo all comments and suggestions are very important, because our guests are the best supervisor we have.

We are really happy to read that you enjoined the kindness of our staff. We will forward your nice comment to our animation team. It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us here at your new home in the Caribbean, please contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Yours faithfully

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at el portillo, my sister and i had a wonderful holiday.
The food was brilliant, as i have crohns i was worried about finding meals every day that didnt make me ill, but there was plenty of choice and always something new to try.
I would also like to thank the animation team, they never stopped!!! Juan carlos and leinny really looked after us and entertained us in the afternoons and evenings. Charlie who taught me to dance, which is a big thing as i have two left feet! Ariel and all the others were on the go all the time, their show time always had us entertained.
The beach and hotel were stunning with constant maintainance going on all the time. We always got a warm welcome from Carlos in reception, which made the walk from our room to the beach worth it! Our room was bigger than we expected and was cleaned daily by the maids, who were brilliant.
We went out on a few trips and always felt like we where in safe hands. The zip wire, catamaran and horse ride to le limen waterfall were good prices and we both really enjoyed ourselves.
once again thank you for a wonderful holiday, i didnt want to leave but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1986katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is really nice of you shared with us your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to satisfied the needs and wishes of our guests, we are satisfied to read that with you we did it. We learn from the reviews of our guests to improve every day.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo it will be a pleasure to welcome you again here, please contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Kind Regards,

Kisha Rodriguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
564 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 54 in Samana Province
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
17.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
893 reviews
5.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range: $129 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing