We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and voluptuousness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Acaya
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm and voluptuousness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Small but comfortable and friendly hotel. No luxury but you feel like being in your friend's house . Rooms are very spacious, beds are large and comfortable.
Very good French food, the breakfast is copious and included in your fees.
Directly on the beach and you have miles of virgin Caribbean landscape just from your doorsteps.
Reasonable prices and charming staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marot_e123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
28
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aix en provence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We spent our 3rd Xmas vacation in a row at the Acaya hotel and were still as enchanted as the first time. The hotel is simple. The location is great. The hotel is practically on the beach - seperated from the beach by a small path - which has been unfortunately paved since last year - but progress is inevitable... The Playa Bonita lives up to its name. It is a narrow beach fringed with coconut trees. It is a well known surf spot so there are a lot of waves but if you walk to the end of the beach it is calmer and good for swimming.
The Acaya is a place to relax and unwind. The rooms are in 3 different buildings surrounding a lawn with coconut trees. There are "superior" air conditioned rooms, "standard" rooms with ventilators and then a few older rooms that are used when the other rooms are full. Our first year we stayed in the superior room and then the last 2 years, as we reserved last minute, we stayed in the standard rooms with ventilators. We did not need to use the ventilator at all this year. The rooms are simply furnished with basic furniture. They could do with an extra chair and better lighting for reading in the evening.

Breakfast every morning is fruit juice, plate of fruit, eggs and bread. We ate there practically every meal time as the food is very good and reasonably priced. My favorites are the guacamole salad, the ceviche and the linguine mariscos. The chef, Dany, does a really good chocolate dessert ! One night we had a paella for 15 - I have never seen so many lobsters in a paella.

Maxime, the charming French owner from the South of France, makes everyone feel at home. There were quite a few single ladies staying at the hotel. It is the kind of place where a woman can go by herself and feel at home.
In the evening guests mingle at the bar drinking and dining together.

The Spanish speaking staff (except maybe one !) are all very welcoming. Marie the receptionist speaks French. Maxime speaks a smattering of English.

We hired a car on internet from Santo Domingo airport and drove to Las Terrenas. It takes around 2 hours as there is a good motorway. Car hire in the town is unreliable as other guests had problems renting cars and quads (they were not delivered on time). I would recommend transport while staying there as it is not within walking distance of the village of Las Terranas. Las Terranas itself is a sprawling town - not the most attractive of towns - but with character. If you are into night life - you will have to go in to town at night as there is not much to do at the hotel besides watching the waves while having a drink.

For those of us who cannot quite get away from real life, there is a free WIFI connection which is handy as there is no televison in the rooms - accessible in the bar area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viviaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

The Samana peninsula for sure was one of the highlights of our trip. A variety of amazing and tranquil beaches, the lush vegetation, rolling hills, all these shades of green and blue and sooooo many palm trees!!! And just outside of Las Terrenas, away from the huzzle and buzzle, we found this charming little hotel at Playa Bonita . Our rooms were basic but comfortable and tastefully decorated ( we chose the no ac option ) and we just loved the conopy bed and the creative towel rack in the bathroom. And the manager Maxime and his assistant Mery were great to talk to and very helpful.
I would not recommend Playa Bonita to night creatures, but it is truely magnificent for nature lovers, beachwalkers, romantic couples, relaxation seekers... and gourmets!!!
The few small hotels all have restaurants and I would have loved to stay much, much longer just to try more of the fantastic food of Hotel Acaya, Casa Grande and Atlantis.
Great cuisine directly under the stars, palm trees rustling and the surf breaking in the background...just magical!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashiragina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My girlfriend and I just left Hotel Acaya and have mixed feeling about it. First, the good stuff:

The hotel's location is beautiful, steps from the "beach" (although the beach is very narrow here), with a sprawling front yard that abuts the lounge and restaurant area, which becomes the common area for all the guests during the day. The proprietor, Maxime, is attentive and genuinely tries to create a family atmosphere by ensuring everyone joins him for a drink each evening and often a meal. At the price (65 dollars for our room), it's a bargain compared to the other hotels on Playa Bonita and the restaurant is also reasonably priced and quite good.

Now, the downside:

There are three buildings with rooms to let, but only one was renovated. We booked late and wound up in an unrenovated building, which is in pretty shabby shape. For the price, we didn't expect much and we didn't get much. The shower head needed to be replaced twice, hot water was sporadic at best, the bathroom was pretty grubby overall, and the bed was the hardest, most uncomfortable bed I've slept in since my youth hostel days. There was also a crawl space above the room, accessed by a door above our door on the outside. The latch on that door was broken and once the winds came up (which they did with a vengeance), it banged against the side of the building all night long. Their attempt to fix this entailed jamming a stick into the door, which actually worked for a night, but I wasn't able to point out that it probably wouldn't last because no one -- including the security guard doing the jamming -- speaks any English there. Sure enough, by the second night of winds it was banging loudly all over again.

That's the bad stuff. A few other notes:

-The hotel, and seemingly all of Playa Bonita for that matter, appears to be primarily a family destination. We saw maybe two other couples the five days we were there, but the area was packed with little kids.

-If you're driving yourself and can swing it, an SUV is recommended. The road from Las Terrenas to Playa Bonita is riddled with gaping pot holes and huge puddles after the rain. We drove a small Nissan and beat it up pretty badly. If you're not driving yourself, you'll want to rent an ATV or a car once you're there. Playa Bonita is pretty isolated, and it's too far from town to walk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micaha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Acaya is a beautiful hotel. The location is perfect, close to town for shopping, dinner or dancing but secluded on a beautiful beach if you want to take it easy. The staff were incredible, discreet, helpful and really sweet, we felt we were spending a vacation at a friend's property instead a hotel but with professional service.
They were also very helpful for everything we needed outside the hotel, in our case, they recommended and booked a beautiful place to stay in Santo Domingo, information about excursions, restaurants and transfers to and from the airport. It really has it all!!
We liked the place so much that we are planning on going back there very soon.
They even taught me to dance Bachata...!! It was a lot of fun!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcabezas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

I spent a few nights at Hotel Acaya last week. The hotel is very pleasant, everything on premises. I ate twice at the restaurant and I was quite impressed with my meals. Excellent cuisine. The beach is to die for, there was surf when I was there, a great sound to fall asleep and wake up to. Staff is very friendly.
I'll return to this incredible establishment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

This is the best hotel in the area of Las Terrenas or Playa Bonita. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. The place is simple, very clean, it has the best beach and most certainly, the BEST FOOD (try the avocado tartare, ceviche, lobster). To party at night you would need to go to downtown Las Terrenas but it's not too far, about 10 minute drive or less. If you wish to go clubbing at night in Las Terrenas, you can go to El Mosquito Bar, they got the best music.
Acaya Hotel is run by a French gentleman and the people that work there are very nice. The hotel is right on the beach and makes it very convenient to run to your room at any time. I was there in Dec. 2005 and went back this past weekend. I would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaggitarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arena Dorada
Hotel Arena Dorada
#31 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
#25 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#7 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
Coson Bay Hotel & Residences
#16 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Enjoy
Hotel Enjoy
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acaya

Property: Hotel Acaya
Address: Calle Loma Bonita, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Acaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Acaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acaya Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Acaya Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing