We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Acaya
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atlantis(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Albachiara(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$132
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Dolce Vita Residence(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences(Las Terrenas)
$221
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort Costa Las Ballenas(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence Marilar(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costarena Beach Hotel(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
$60
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
52
35
6
5
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
35
6
5
10
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 108 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Acaya is a beautiful hotel. The location is perfect, close to town for shopping, dinner or dancing but secluded on a beautiful beach if you want to take it easy. The staff were incredible, discreet, helpful and really sweet, we felt we were spending a vacation at a friend's property instead a hotel but with professional service.
They were also very helpful for everything we needed outside the hotel, in our case, they recommended and booked a beautiful place to stay in Santo Domingo, information about excursions, restaurants and transfers to and from the airport. It really has it all!!
We liked the place so much that we are planning on going back there very soon.
They even taught me to dance Bachata...!! It was a lot of fun!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcabezas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I spent a few nights at Hotel Acaya last week. The hotel is very pleasant, everything on premises. I ate twice at the restaurant and I was quite impressed with my meals. Excellent cuisine. The beach is to die for, there was surf when I was there, a great sound to fall asleep and wake up to. Staff is very friendly.
I'll return to this incredible establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This is the best hotel in the area of Las Terrenas or Playa Bonita. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. The place is simple, very clean, it has the best beach and most certainly, the BEST FOOD (try the avocado tartare, ceviche, lobster). To party at night you would need to go to downtown Las Terrenas but it's not too far, about 10 minute drive or less. If you wish to go clubbing at night in Las Terrenas, you can go to El Mosquito Bar, they got the best music.
Acaya Hotel is run by a French gentleman and the people that work there are very nice. The hotel is right on the beach and makes it very convenient to run to your room at any time. I was there in Dec. 2005 and went back this past weekend. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xaggitarious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

There are so many options in the Las Terrenas area. And we are giddy with our good fortune for choosing Hotel Acaya. The strongest points include: the amazing and gorgeous beach location; the incredibly warm and genuine staff; the laidback, quiet and relaxing complex. If you want the gloss of an all-inclusive resort, then this is not the place for you. However, if you want to relax on a secluded beach, truly feeling away from it all, then we recommend Acaya unreservedly. The town of Las Terrenas is quite nearby, but is busy, grimy and not particularly charming. Nevertheless, it's close enough to get cash and do some shopping and then you can return to the brilliant Acaya. Our AC room was spacious and had character (but wasn't in perfect condition as you might expect were you to expect the same as at a large resort). The best feature was the small deck with nice little chairs where we spent plenty of time reading, talking and relaxing undisturbed. At night, we slept perfectly in the comfortable bed with the glorious sound of the waves breaking on the beach. And the food was good, the drinks were delicious, but best of all, the staff were warm, friendly and genuine. What a great little spot that we hope continues forever instead of being over-run by huge complexes, condos and all-inclusive resorts. Surely there's a place in the world for small, genuine beachfront bungalows in a world of mass commercialization? If you agree, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I spent Xmas 09 there with my parents and we had a fantastic experience. The location is far more remote than we thought, but that was for the better. Rooms are spacious but simple, you dont go there to spend all days in your bedroom anyway. Fantastic view on the waves and the beach.
The food was so so, especially the imposed Xmas dinner which was unedible (and the wine was terrible as well, we had to bring it back and ask for another one, the other one was even worse.)
The staff is incredible.Maxime, the owner, is the nicest guy and we could use his computer when my laptop wouldnt go online (they have free wifi) and could also use his safe to put our passports,bank cards and jewels in. Marie the caretaker is an amazing woman, she knows everything in the area, she 's so hardworking its incredible, she will do anything for you,she really made our trip special. Price 80 dollars/night/double room, not bad at all for the area and the Xmas period, especially coz we booked a bit last minute.
The food is a lot better at Las Ballenas and Casa Grande.

Take a spanish or French guide if you dont know any because its full of France ppl, Spanish is mostly spoken,english not that much.

Also dont forget to visit the waterfall "el limon", you can do it horseriding and it was one of the most fabulous nature experience I had.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews