We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly maintained. staff unfriendly”
Review of Hotel Acaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Acaya
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
ashland, or
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“poorly maintained. staff unfriendly”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

we definitely would not stay here. We originally planned to stay her three nights but checked out after 1 night and moved to another hotel. We moved to Hotel Casa Cason which was amazing. Hotel Acaya was run down. The paint was falling out. knobs were missing from cabinets. The bathroom was in shambles. The sink grout was falling apart. Paint was chipped off the wall. The towel rack had fallen down and missing. There was not hot water. The staff was rude and could care less. The food was not worth the money either. I usually don't complain but this place did not have the vacation feeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clifscca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
28
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

not the fanciest, but maybe the friendliest. excellent atmosphere, great staff, good value, very good restaurant. hated to leave. ..............................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hotel Acaya was a wonderful relaxing and ideally located place for us to stay. We spent Christmas eve through New Years Eve there and enjoyed the peaceful serenity and beauty of Playa Bonita. The rooms were spacious with a tropical airy feel. Furnished with A/C and a ceiling fan we had no troubles keeping our place comfortable, especially with the balcony doors open and the ocean breeze sweeping through. Sitting on our room's balcony reading while listening and watching the waves crash was extremely enjoyable.

The open air, palm thatched room, restaurant at the hotel was cozy and delicious. Breakfast was included in the room's price and consisted of coffee, fresh fruit, bread and eggs. The lunch and dinner menu is filled with yummy items and something for everyone. The new proprietor of the hotel, Nicolas, was extremely helpful with recommendations and alway curious, wishing us a pleasant day. The entire staff was very friendly and warm, always trying to help

PLEASE NOTE: Although the website and multiple guidebooks stated they received credit card, this policy has since changed. This is a cash only establishment and did require us to make a trip to the bank in Las Terrenas.

For a beachside hotel or B&B, I would highly recommend this place for someone looking to stay at Playa Bonita or around Las Terrenas.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room, they all have ocean views and a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe noire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was a week, and wanted be in a Caribbean place, but not with big building, inside glass, a lot of people.. I was searching the blue sea and while sand, in a calm place with natural conditions, I found it there

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I thought this hotel was just OK. Maybe it's because I was doing some solo travel and this is more of a couple place. The location is great but, on the other hand, if you don't have your own car you have to pay the motoconchos to get back and forth from town and dealing with them is a big hassle. The DR is pretty nice but if I don't go back it will be because of the constant hustling.

The service is OK but not great. When I was there in July the place was almost empty. The free breakfast is also pretty good. My room was spartan but pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crassier, Suisse
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Spend five nights at the Hotel Acaya and had a wonderful time there. It's right on the beach of Playa Bonita away from the ongoing crazinest of Las Terrenas. We had a wonderful room with A/C of which you don't really need as you get the ocean air of which found it better than the dry A/C. The food was good at the restaurant but we would have preferred to get a more diversified breakfast. The hotel manager Maxime Couston is very fun and helpfull to give you tips for all the local attractions. We would like to thank him for his warm welcome. Would defintely recommend this gem if you seek some nice settings and quiet nights. FYI, the hotel is not too far from the town 5 min by car or use the moto concho's (motocycle taxis) very cheap ride and there you'll find all the nightlife good bars and clubs. Recommend to have lunch at the Oassis beach bar (Dulce's).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Small but comfortable and friendly hotel. No luxury but you feel like being in your friend's house . Rooms are very spacious, beds are large and comfortable.
Very good French food, the breakfast is copious and included in your fees.
Directly on the beach and you have miles of virgin Caribbean landscape just from your doorsteps.
Reasonable prices and charming staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marot_e123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
#25 of 34 in Las Terrenas
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#19 of 34 in Las Terrenas
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#8 of 34 in Las Terrenas
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Casas del Mar Neptunia
#17 of 34 in Las Terrenas
164 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 34 in Las Terrenas
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 34 in Las Terrenas
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acaya

Property: Hotel Acaya
Address: Calle Loma Bonita, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Acaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acaya Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Acaya Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing