We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,892)
Filter reviews
2,892 results
Traveler rating
1,868
778
190
40
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,868
778
190
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real canoa sea view lovely hotel courtesy bus indoor pool forum shopping centre happy hour five star hotel local restaurants tea and coffee relaxing holiday salt water pool towels evening entertainment steam room time share plenty of choice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,892 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2020

Our forth visit to Madeira having stayed at the Royal Savoy and Enotel Lido previously.
We had a nice sea view room with balcony and a bathroom with separate shower.
We were bed and breakfast for 19 days enjoying eating out every night except Christmas and new year day and the buffet was average with the breakfasts the same.
The maid we had was superb and loved the effort she made to interact in English. Shame about the maid that replaced her on her days off, she never refilled the tea coffee or shower gel and shampoo. I left the empty bottles in the shower on the second week to see if she replaced them, no.
We had a couple of windy days that blew over parasols that were left for guests to circumnavigate around the pool area for quite some time, hours.
The entertainment in the bar...........Nothing on a Saturday night! And only had people in during happy hour.
And for two days the bar area was filled with a very nasty smell that at best could be called fishy that permeated into the lifts.
I'm sorry 5* this isn't, I think I have been generous giving it 4.

Room tip: Sea view room
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariadaPaz_Garcia, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear Mel C,
First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your impressions on your stay in the Grand.
As frequent visitor to our beautiful island, you surely have a perception of our product and services from which we can take a most valuable input and the chance to improve our guests satisfaction.
We are very sorry for your less positive aspects and would like to apologize for the perceived attitude.
Theses aspects are a big help for us to improve the handling with these situations. Our most important aim is to make guests happy, that there is a positive emotional experience, a strong bound with the hotel's team and a personal fulfillment.

We sincerely hope we will have the honor of welcoming you back in the Grand in a near future and the opportunity to fully correspond to your expectations. Until then, please receive our kindest regards.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of food. Pool areas and gardens very well maintained. This is classed as 5 stars but feel it could do with some upgrading. Staff are very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Free shuttle bus was very useful . No guarantee you will get on during busy periods.
Indoor pool and sauna good. The gym was perhaps in need of upgrading as some equipment quite old. The bar staff were very good but the bar itself lacked atmosphere as it borders the lounge area which is a thoroughfare for restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Happiness760504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariadaPaz_Garcia, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear Happiness760504,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand Hotel Funchal, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us to continue improving our service. Allow us to let you know that in May 2019, we completed the room renovation process.
It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

With our kindest regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Excellent trip for my wife’s birthday, thank you for the free bottle that was left in our room and the free upgraded room..

A big thanks to Alexandra (red hair) who made us feel very welcome, very nice indeed!

Ground floor was a little noisy at times but expected as was close to reception and entrance.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank terryhill74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariadaPaz_Garcia, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear terryhill74,

Many thanks for choosing Madeira Island and Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort to celebrate your wife´s birthday. On behalf of our Team, we would like to thank you for your most appreciated contribution. Your most kind words shall be forward to Alexandrina and to all our entire team.
We look very much forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
Witk our kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Just returned home after spending a very nice 10 nights at this hotel.My room was very clean and serviced to a high standard each day.Very friendly staff in all departments and a nice buffet breakfast each morning.Great location on the promenade.If I return to Madeira I would stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank gary202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariadaPaz_Garcia, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear gary202020,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It´s wonderful to learn, that you have found high standard each day of you stay,
A sincere thank you for your thoughtful words, addressed to all our staff and for recommending our resort to so many other travelers.
It was our absolute pleasure taking care of you and we look very much forward to have pleasure of welcoming you back in a not distant future.
With warm regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Lovely hotel, set in beautiful grounds, with nice coastal walks in both directions. An excellently run hotel, with very friendly staff. Sitting out for breakfast in January was such a bonus, and a lovely way to start our day. Second visit here, and we will be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews