We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty, well priced hotel...with some staffing issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Haselbury Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haselbury Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pretty, well priced hotel...with some staffing issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My mother and I stayed here this week (4/1/13) as we had an appointment in the local area early in the morning.
When we arrived the staff who greeted us were lovely, special mention of the Italian member of staff who was most helpful, and the mill is undisputedly a gorgeous building. The food we had for dinner was good, cooked well and tasty. The wines were also nice.
Our room was a little cramped for a twin, but clean nonetheless and the beds were very comfortable. Being an old building the windows aren't all double glazed and so we had to whack the heating up, this was fine until we were woken by a delivery driver banging around outside about about 5am.

In the morning however, the service was below standard, whomever was on shift wasn't around for us to check out we had to shout all over the building to get attention; no-body turned up for 10 minutes while we sat in the breakfast room, and the peaches/apricots in the fruit selection were fizzy and gone off. We ordered a cup of tea but after another 10 minutes nothing had turned up and we were running late so had to go.

So a bit of a mixed bag - if you get the right staff it's very good, but in the morning of a cold and frosty out-of-season day I think they could do with putting a bit more effort in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    114
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
84
250
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WATFORD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely excellent. Staff were most helpful- for example, my wife could not manage the stairs to go to breakfast, so without any hesitation the staff arranged for us to have our breakfast downstairs.
The room- No 3- was spotless.
The food was delicious.
In all a fautless three nights here.
Basil

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank basildf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent meal, great staff, great room, great breakfast, in fact great everything. Would recommend this hotel and event location without hesitation. The Tythe Barn is a wonderful location, Even the other guests were lovely.Special mention for Mimi, you work so hard!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzler832311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for one night at Haselbury Mill for a friends wedding in one of the rooms in the old part of the building. Lovely setting, but room rather tired and found a few cobwebs lurking where they shouldn't be! Bed was quite hard and every time my husband or I moved it creaked very loudly which woke us several times in the night. Could hear the plumbing of the rooms which surrounded us, especially what sounded like the room upstairs - every time they pulled the chain or ran water for a bath/basin we heard it very loudly for several minutes. Not sure if it was just the rooms which are in the old part of the complex, as there were a few new rooms in an ajacent building which looked brand new. Tithe barn lovely setting for a wedding and food was OK. Breakfast was lovely and staff very good. Just our overall impression was that the rooms could do with an update and some soundproofing!

Room Tip: May be worth enquiring as to whether the new rooms in the newly built wing are better - did not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andylou1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent Christmas lunch at the Tithe Barn. .Excellent venue, food, service and ambience! The food was plentiful and delicious.best turkey we've ever tasted. The service was polite, personable and professional and all together very well executed. If you want to eat out next Christmas, this is the place to book. Well done Haslebury Mill, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriselle757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you have to travel more than a few miles for a Christmas meal with colleagues then the diner is faced with a dilemma.
Do they launch into an often fruitless search to find a non-drinking driver or, if they can't find such a person, do they drive and face an evening on orange juice, drive and drink when they could face arrest or do they just scrap the whole event because of the hassle involved.
There is an alternative as I found out courtesy of the Haselbury Mill.
This venue was chosen for our office meal and, because I faced a round trip of nearly 70 miles in poor weather, my company kindly paid for an overnight stay there. I'd recommend people in a similar position to also take advantage of their top notch bed and massive breakfast accommodation for just £90 per double for a couple or £70 for the night for single occupancy.
Not only does this ensure you don'f fall foul of the law but it also ensures a perfect night's sleep at the end of an evening celebration such as mine or after a good meal and a few drinks.
The hotel section is perfect and my room had rural views including ones of the Haselbury's newTithe Barn, the first one built for hundreds of years.
Inside my accommodation was a double wardrobe, a large double bed, independent lighting to enable lights to be switched on and off while still in bed, facilities for tea and coffee making and a television.
The bathroom had a toilet, hand basin and a large shower area with clean linen and soap, shower gel and shampoo provided free as standard. It was also scrupulously clean.
The Tithe Barn was a perfect venue for our meal for 30-40 of us and we ate in the balcony area overlooking the main floor of the barn which was very atmospheric.
Bar prices were only fractionally higher than a standard pub at about £3.20 a pint while a bottle of red wine came in at about £15. Our Christmas meal cost just under £30 which I felt was slightly on the high side for what was offered, particularly as the soup was lukewarm at best and Mill staff were clearly battling heroically to ensure every one of nearly 400 people in that night got their meal as quickly as possible.
A peaceful night's sleep followed and, before I left in the morning, I enjoyed an English breakfast which was "full" in every sense of the word.
All things considered, this is a high quality venue which really looks after its guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singhasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely stay, we were in Mill View room which was spot on. The staff were fantastic particularly Roger and his wife who are the owners. Busy with Christmas do's this weekend so we had live music bo nights which was great! Breakfast was delicious, kippers on the first day which were lavish Ann a fry up on Sunday, splendid.
Highly recommend this place and would defo stay again. The dinner menu looked great a d heard some good review about the food too

Room Tip: Mill view room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haselbury Plucknett
1.4 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haselbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haselbury Mill

Property: Haselbury Mill
Address: | Haselbury Plucknett, Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne TA18 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne > Haselbury Plucknett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haselbury Plucknett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haselbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Often described as “Probably the most beautiful setting in the South West of England” The original buildings date back many centuries and are of great local interest with a history stretching back to the times of William the Conqueror and are reportedly mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Haselbury Mill is truly the ultimate somerset venue to commemorate and celebrate the special days in your life. The three magnificent listed buildings & newly built Tithe Barn provide the focus of this superb conference, restaurant, hotel & wedding facility. The Georgian Mill owner’s house & adjacent cottages have been transformed into a luxuriously appointed 21-bedroom hotel all with High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. All rooms are en-suite and are exquisitely appointed to add that little touch of luxury to the beautiful surroundings. The original Mill buildings have been sympathetically converted to a stylish restaurant and underneath can be found a traditional local's bar with flag stone floors and oak panelled walls. The Four storey Granary building nearby encompasses a lakeside bar and restaurant and further function and conference rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Haselbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haselbury Mill Hotel Crewkerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing