We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited at lunchtime on Thursday 11 July. Rebecca recommended the snails and they were marvellous. The entire meal was great. This is well above average pub food and very reasonably priced considering the quality. We had a starter and main course and were full. We could not manage a sweet even though they looked delicious. We will come again. Peter Green, Bridport.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    41
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SW England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, creative menu, excellent meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a delight to receive a genuine welcome with attentive, light touch service from Rebecca, to eat a thoughtfully sourced, carefully cooked, beautifully presented excellent meal from chef - owner Richard. We utterly enjoyed the charcuterie for two, Cornish mussels and chicken bacon prune and thyme. But don't be fooled by the apparent simplicity - each dish was quite sublime - especially for here in South Somerset villages! There’s even an early evening Pre Fixe menu. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abSRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first big night out after having a baby in February and we had a simply brilliant night. We hadn't booked and when we arrived, every seat in the house was taken which made the atmosphere warm and buzzy. Whilst we waited, we were shown to a small table by the fire and enjoyed some top quality wines and shared some mussels in cider and cream sauce and freshly made focaccia and tapenade - amazing. Our mains didn't disappoint either - I had wonderful chicken with smoked bacon and prunes and my husband had a fabulous steak with all the trimmings. The service was great too - friendly and efficient. My only criticism would be the main courses were so big that I couldn't possibly have managed a pudding! Will definitely be back very soon!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service but a can be a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Took Granddad here for a birthday meal. 3 adults and one child.

The staff are excellent - very attentive and nothing is too much bother.

The set meal was very good and at £13.95 for 2 courses was good value, the main meals are pricey compared to other local pubs but the quality is better than standard pub grub. 2 of us went for the cod and chips as it was more reasonable at £11.95, and our daughter had a childs Ham egg and chips. None of us had any complaints and all of the food was well cooked and well presented.

The sweets are £6 - £7 which for me is too much.

The ambience is nice, not "pubby", and not stuck up restaurant.

So overall I would go back, the food is very nice, as I live in the village it is very handy but probably too expensive to visit every week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somersetsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wow Factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a meal and visited on Saturday. Had fish with a gorgeous pea and mint puree and thrice cooked chips. Fab fab fab !! Lovely service, attention to detail, gorgeous wine in lovely glasses. Definitely one of the best meals we have had in a while. GO THERE !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpacafluff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Crewkerne, Somerset
Hinton St George, Somerset
 
Crewkerne, Somerset
Crewkerne, Somerset
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing