We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab staff but poor sound proofing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent three nights here with a little one in tow who was desperate to visit Windsor Castle and LEGOLAND. The hotel is very well located for all the surrounding attractions and you can get most places without having to get onto the motorways.

We had booked a family room which had a large clear space for the temporary bed, the bed itself being fairly large and of good quality. The bathroom was a but disappointing as it was really quite small but it was adequate. There is air con which was very welcome given the high temperatures and, overall, the room was fine.

My only real complaint was the sound proofing, both in terms of external noise and room to room. The windows are old metal frames and we could hear every movement outside, especially when someone had their car parked too close to their room and their mobile phone conversations were broadcast far and wide! Equally when the family next door burst into their room at 10pm every night, the noise was unbelievable. It's an old building and the communal areas look great but this would seriously make me think twice about returning.

There is a nice pool and the little one insisted on going every day. no matter how late me got back. Kid's swim times are 4pm-7pm and if you get in there bang on 4pm, you'll likely get it pretty empty. After 5pm the child quotient shoots up.

We ate in the bar and there is a reasonable child menu. The portions for the little ones were very generous although the adult portions were less so. Nevertheless, it suited us. If you fancy a night out, the Windmill pub is only a 2 minute drive away and the food there was very good indeed. The bar opens out onto a lovely terrace which is a really nice place for a quick drink.

The breakfasts were very good and staff always seemed to be filling up things as they emptied, even when it was very busy with a conference in progress.

The real piece de resistance is the staff. From the absolutely charming Canadian girl who checked us in right through to the excellent chap at breakfast time and everyone in between, they were cheerful, helpful and a joy to do business with.

I'm not sure if rooms in the main area of the hotel might be quieter (we were way at the back) but the noise issue was a biggie for us. I used to stay at McDonald Hotels when I worked and they all had one thing in common - fabulous old buildings but inadequate investment, particularly at individual room level. This was no different but the people helped to make up for the other shortcomings!!

Room Tip: I'd be tempted to go for a higher room to dampen down the noise. I actually found the A/C noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience whilst staying with us. I am so pleased that you found our team to be so cheerful - we all work in hospitality as we like to please! Your comments have been noted with regard to our guestrooms and please be assured that we are continually investing in the fabric and facilities of our property and have invested over £1 million pounds in the first half of the year.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for one night in this fantastic hotel, the room was wonderful, clean and maintained to a high standard. The pool and spa facilities were beyond excellent, with the outside hydropool a distinct favourite. The breakfasts are huge and you can have anything you want. Anything you want is not too much trouble for any of the staff. Very friendly and accommodating - I will definitely stay here again. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Executive suites are lovely, the beds so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lobdob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Delighted to read your review of your recent stay whilst visiting the area to attend the Red Bull Air Race at Ascot Racecourse. I hope that you have reason to visit the area in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just had a two day visit to the Berystede for my sons marriage at nearby Coworth Park.The hotel was therefore just for sleeping and Breakfast. So first the good things,the room was of a good size as we had booked a de luxe room and it had a very good bathroom with two sinks shower and bath and this was also a good size.The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice as well as th chef in the breakfast area cooking anything you couldn't find on the buffet which was fairly extensive.
The staff both at breakfast and check in were excellent and the parking was very good with ample spaces.

What let it down was that in the conference area was a generator which started at 6 am and went on to midnight so we were only able to get 6 hours sleep at the most. On the night of the wedding we got back to our hotel by 1am so by the time we got to bed we had less than 5 hours.
We had complained to the management about this soon after our arrival on the first afternoon and the manager assured us that it was switched off by 11pm but on the first night we rang down about 11.30 to be told that the earliest it went off was 12 and then they also didn't mention it started again at 6 am. As we were only there 2 nights we didn't ask to be moved on the second day as we had to get to the wedding but I wouldn't stay again and if we had been going the on a normal break I would have checked as we had asked for a quiet room away from lifts and air conditioner units.

Room Tip: You must make sure that you don't get a room close the conference centre part of the hotel altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay. Thank you for your balanced review and please accept my apologies that you were disturbed at night by plant equipment. Clearly this is not the experience I wish guests to have and I am working with our property management team who are re adjusting the operating times on the equipment you mention to the correct times and reviewing options for further sound proofing of the area it is situated in.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a superb stay in this FABULOUS hotel. Our usual choice of hotel is the DeVere chain, which meant we were aprehensive with new accomadation. We had an Executive room, which was well wort the money. The bathroom was first class. The room was eceptionally clean ( I am not easy to please). The bed was very comfortable, the llighting was perfect. I have to mention the staff at this Hotel were eager to please and very friendly without being to obvious. On arrival we were met by Antonella, who took our booking a few weeks before. She was absolutely lovely and remembered small details that made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was first class even when busy, the staff made it look easy, well done to them. As the hotel is near Legoland, there are some children, however, we were not disturbed by them at night and at breakfast the staff accomodated all to feel comfortable.
The hotel is beautiful and gated at night. It has beatiful grounds and is well situated to visit Ascot and Windsor. We would without doubt recomend this beautiful hotel. If you have a problem with walking maybe you should mention this when booking as the hotel has many corridors, not a problem unless walking is a problem, without doubt the staff would accomodate you as Antonella did for us. THANK YOU to all the staff for a very happy stay.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking mention this when booking as the hotel has long corridors (well kept a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Many thanks for posting a great review of your stay with us. I am really pleased that the team looked after you so well and in particular Antonella who is a real star! I do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future if visiting the area again.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and visited Legoland & Windsor, the staff were very helpful, the room was lovely and the breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for recommending our hotel to future guests and reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for commenting on your experience.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We got married at this Hotel last year and returned for one night to celebrate our First Wedding Anniversary.
From arrival to leaving everything was spot on! We were in room 364 which was outstanding. The food at The Berystede is on par with food we have eaten at 5 star London Hotels. Portions are small but perfect for us. The only thing I would say is the Dessert menu is a bit sparse :)
Service in the restaurant is impeccable. Martin one of the Managers did a fantastic job as well as all the other staff including Steve at the bar. We have already booked to return next year for our Second Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are all top quality but if you can book to stay in the main building it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

I am so pleased you decided to spend your first anniversary at the Berystede Hotel & Spa following your wedding day with us last year and thank you for your commenting on your experience. I am delighted you have re booked to stay again next year and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We paid £180 for one night here. Our room was ready early, 10.30 am which was impressive. We spent the day at Ascot races so were not able to make use of the spa or facilities, but they did look impressive. The room was very comfortable, quiet , and the bed was huge and comfy with high quality sheets. The bathroom was fine, nothing special. For speedy checkout they send a bill under your room door, and many people , for speed , will be happy to accept. We looked a bit closer and found that they levy a surcharge of £3 if you pay by credit card and add on n extra £1 for a carer charity, but they so not state which one. This made me suspicious. We decided to pay cash. A hotel this size should not need to make a credit card charge. I would stay here again if I could get a cheaper deal but would watch the extra charges!

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk or cannot manage stairs, ask for a room near reception which are a...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui B, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay whilst attending racing at Ascot. I am pleased that overall you found the hotel facilities to be to your satisfaction and please be assured that the charges you have noted are discretionary should you choose to either use a payment method other than credit card or do not wish to participate in our group wide charitable fund raising.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
727 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 5 in Ascot
1,023 reviews
2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: $129 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing