We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but not for all occasions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Macdonald Hotel &Spa is a good hotel, but it has a bit of an identity crisis.  If it were totally honest, it'd be called the "MacDonald Hotel, Spa, conference venue & family pool".  (But that doesn't have quite the same ring to it). 

Don't get me wrong.  If you're looking for a hotel with high standards, this is it.  The room was spotless, well equipped (apart from lack of hairdryer) and quiet.  Reception are efficient, and room service is speedy - calls for ice or towels turned up in sub-5 minutes; breakfast was delivered bang on time and was very good.  Many 4* hotels can't manage these basics (yes, I'm looking at you, the Royal Berkshire).

The spa is also very nice.  Big pool, a really impressive range of steam rooms & saunas, and a great little outdoor hot pool which is fab for lounging about.  And the lobby decor is very pleasant - olde worlde with lots of horsey decor - just what you'd expect for this bit of Berkshire. 

But here comes the identity bit.  While I  couldn't fault the hotel's service, nor the rooms, the layout & feel of the hotel was more 'Holiday Inn with a nice traditional reception & spa tacked on'.  The 'classy country retreat' experience just felt a little out of the hotel's comfort zone.  

At Dinner, for example, our starters arrived before our champagne aperitif (which we had to chase twice before they finally arrived); you had to walk past a Honda conference to get to the Spa, and although the Spa itself is brilliantly equipped, it's also popular with local families, meaning that yelling/splashing children will occasionally make it feel more like a municipal pool.  

Overall,  you can never quite escape the feeling that this is actually a (perfectly good) business /conference hotel that's also trying a bit of the old 'luxury hotel/spa' gambit on the side.  And the problem is that it's very hard to do them all well - the former inevitably encroaches on the latter.  So it just lacks a little...character.  

It's a great Hotel, it's just not for all occasions.  For business it's 4 stars. For a special weekend break, I'm afraid it's 3.  

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feed back on your recent stay, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, but saddened to see that our younger visitors encroached on your relaxation time, we do have specific times for our children to enjoy themselves and separate times just for the adults to relax.
Like most hotels our normal week is when conferences are here during the week and our leisure guests are here at the weekend, during your visit we did have a group stay over the Friday night and have a meeting the next day, i am sorry if this disturbed you.
I have taken all of your comments on board and have spoken about them with our management team to see how we can change our hats from one business segment to another more effeciently with out having any of our guests stays disturbed again.

Kindest regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,831 - 1,837 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for a night as we were attending a wedding nearby.

Upon arrival the room was not ready. The hotel had a wedding the previous night and one the day of arrival and they were not able to turn the rooms quick enough. This was disappointing as we had told them 4 weeks prior to arrival and then the day before arrival and then upon arrival at 12pm that we needed the room early. I understand that the hotel is busy but this is just a case in point that a previous reviewer made about not enough staff to run a busy hotel. We also had to wait at breakfast when the restaurant was empty but all the tables needed clearing.

The room was to a good standard and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a poor design with a tiny shower but in all fairness it suited purpose. I would say that the bathroom could have done with some minor maintenance to fix broken tiles around the shower.

We used the spa facilities on the day of departure which were very nice, clean and the staff were great.

Overall I was disappointed with my stay, the one thing that would stop me staying again is seeing all the other hotels in the area that were in equally lovely grounds. I would be more inclined to try somewhere different.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewwoolf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feed back which with out does not able us to move our standards on.
I am sorry that your room was not available when you arrived at 12 noon, our check in time is from 2.00pm and we do try to look after any guests that request an earlier check in time, this is unfortunately not always possible and can not be guaranteed, our check out time is 11.00am and it does take time to clean and refresh the rooms before we can have them available for any incoming guests.
With reference to your wait at breakfast, i am sorry for this, it can occasionally happen during peak times and seem that we have lots of table available and need re-setting, this i assure you is done as quickly as possible to ensure only a minimum wait is experienced.
I do hope you will have a change of mind and decide to revisit us in the near future when you will be able to take in the great service and experiences here at the Berystede.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was seeking a special treat to celebrate a significant Anniversary and was very much rewarded by the Berystede Hotel. Set in beautiful grounds and mature gardens, our welcome and check-in was superb. So good in fact that l extended an extra day immediately to take in the whole Bank holiday.

The Hotel has a unique ambience with its impressive oak panel reception and stairway and the staff really make you feel special and important to them. In fact, they were so good it is worthy of special note. There was not one member of staff who was anything less than 100% customer focussed. We had a few room niggles but they were sorted on the first day and it was plain sailing from there. The room was lovely, the Dining room was superb and the food and range of choice was excellent.

If you want a special place to stay around Windor/Ascot, this is THE place to base yourself. It is handy from the M3 and M4. Being a regular hotel user, l can truly say this is one of the best available in this price range and its multi-cultural staff set the standard for excellent service and attention and are jewels in the Macdonald crown. They even gave us a special table with candles and table trimming on our anniversay. It doesnt get better than that for customer focus and we are grateful to all for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: If you have preferences just ask. The staff will accomodate if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you giving feed back on your recent visit here to the Berystede Hotel.
I am over joyed that our team hear made your special weekend an enjoyable one, i have passed on your comments which are always well received and i do hope you will have the opportunity to return to see us again in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed (family of 2 adults and 2 kids) for 2 nights as a base to visit Lego land which was 15 minutes away. The hotel is easily accessible from the main routes however it is secluded and in very pleasant surroundings. The rooms were fine, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, we also had a bar meal which was reasonable. We didn't try the resturant. The pool was very good. Whilst I would recommend the hotel there were a couple of issues that niggled , at times it appeared the staffing levels were stretched for example no porter to help with luggage on arrival or departure. Queues at breakfast time and at reception. Incorrect billing , we had to correct several items as did other guests checking out at the same time - it is worth checking your bill. I have stayed in better value hotels that said the staff were helpful and friendly and the situation was very idyllic.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent stay here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am pleased that you found the hotels location to be ideal for the visitor attractions you planned to visit in the area.
I am sorry that our concierge was not available when you arrived i believe he would have been assisting another guest, also the wait for break is unfortunate and i am sorry for that but on occasions during the peak times of breakfast this can be unavoidable.
I have spoken to my front office manager to find out why on that particular day he had issues with billing and i am told there was a system failure which has now been rectified, again i am sorry for the inconvenience.
Once again thank you for the feed back and i do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight for a spa break and were overjoyed at how lovely everyone was. Every member of staff made us feel very welcome and looked after, the food was amazing and the spa treatments were fab. I have stayed in a few macdonald hotels and would recommend any of them as they all seem to have the same high level of customer service and amazing food.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back on your recent stay here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am extremely happy that our team made you feel welcome and looked after you.
I have passed on your comments to our chef about the food his team prepared for you and also to the spa team on the treatments your had, they all wish to be associated with my own personal thanks for choosing the Berystede Hotel and hope you will have the opportunity to return soon.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for my nieces 30th birthday last year...on arrival check in was fast and efficient...our room allocation was in the newer uglier part of the hotel, but inside the rooms were to a high standard, but was such a long way from the facilities.
The spa is fantastic albeit not enough lounge chairs. 9 i think in total...for such a large hotel...
The treatments were of a high standard and the relaxation room was lovely, free fruit teas were a nice treat.
Dinner on the 2nd night was interesting, they kindly Putin the private dining area, however they kept forgetting about us, when we requested steak as our a main, they had run out of steak knives and there really wasn't anything they could do about it, so not good enough for a 4star....
However after mentioning to the management our dissatisfaction they dealt with our issues very well, but still my nieces special dinner was slightly marred by inattentive staff....
Having said that we have since been back and had a lovely relaxing time.....

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Deena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay last year, it is great to see that although there was one small negative during dinner the rest of your stay lived up to your expectations.
I am pleased to see that since then you have taken the opportunity to revisit us and you were able to enjoy and relax here again.
I do hope you will again find the time for us to welcome you back to the Berystede in the very near future.

Regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a one night break through Secret Escapes and thought the deal we got was great value for money.

The room was clean with a huge bed but the decor was a little dated and crammed with unnecessary furniture!

The swimming pool and leisure facilities were absolutely fantastic, particularly the heated outdoor jacuzzi and thermal suite. The website doesn't detail what the leisure facilities include but it should! The thermal suite in particular was amazing with a large steam room, 2 types of sauna, an ice igloo and 'experience' showers. Due to a lot of group spa day bookings we were unable to book in for a treatment (our deal also included a £10 spa voucher each) but the fact we could use the rest of the facilities more than made up for this.

Our 3 course dinner was a little disappointing. The food was served lukewarm and although the dishes looked impressive and were presented to a high standard some of the dishes didn't actually have that much flavour. Breakfast the next morning was a little better. I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The salmon was delicious but the eggs were again lukewarm and it didn't come with toast so I had to wait for this to come, making my dish cold by the time I came to eat it. My boyfriend however, ordered the full English and he couldn't rate it enough - even saying the black pudding was the best he's ever had! There was a huge choice of cold buffet and our coffee was continually topped up without having to ask.

The service throughout our stay was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

On the whole this was a great deal and was excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel for the spa alone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feed back on your recent stay here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed your experiences within the spa, we are blessed with some excellent facilities and a large variety, the thermal suite as you said is great and very popular.
I have forwarded your comments about your evening meal not being as hot as you would have liked to the chef and he sends his apologies but is pleased your partner enjoyed his black pudding, it originates from the Island of Stornaway on the north west coast of Scotland and i do agreed it is delicious.
Once again thank you for your comments and i do hope you will have the opportunity to return in the very near future.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
734 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
6.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: $139 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing