We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, fabulous food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fabulous food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with friends just before Easter, hotel was busy. Spa was really an excellent bonus. Staff were helpful and service was good. Just one downside was the long walk to our hotel room which was at the far side of the hotel. However, needed this to walk off the truly excellent 3 course meal offered as part of the Hotels Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option. Expected a limited menu, but the choice was great and the quality top rate....one of the better hotel meals I have experienced.

Will definately stay again when in the Ascot area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeroToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent visit to the Berystede.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of the spa facilities we have.
I have passed on your comments to our food and beverage team and they are extremely happy that they were able to exceed your expectations with the selection, quality and service of the dishes we have to offer our guests.
I am sorry that you found the walk to your room to be long, but as you said it was welcomed after your enjoyable meal.
I do hope you will find the opportunity to return to visit us again in the very near future.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    681
    462
    206
    125
See reviews for
466
893
41
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked two nights at the Macdonald through Secret Escapes. On the whole it was a very good experience. The food was excellent (who'd have thought ice cream with a starter would actually work?!) and reasonably priced. The service afforded by both the front-of-house and catering staff was brilliant. The room was very comfortable, clean and well stocked. The room service facilities were also impressive.

In addition to staying at the hotel, we both had a morning of spa treatments. Although a little pricey we were definitely in a state of relaxation afterwards. The outdoor hydrotherapy pool is an absolute must.

Our main concern was two-fold. Firstly, the hotel did not call us in advance to book us in for our free three-course dinners (as part of the Secret Escapes deal) and therefore both nights we had to eat at 9:30pm. Not a catastrophe, but we certainly would not have picked that time given the choice.

Secondly, we did not sleep anywhere near as well as we could have done. The rooms on the ground floor have very thin walls and the the corridor outside gets extremely loud, especially with kids running around and people talking loudly. Unless your room is upstairs, there is absolutely no chance of a lie-in.

Notwithstanding those two gripes, it was an excellent weekend away. I would certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodviller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving feed back on your recent stay with us here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am sorry that you were not able to have dinner at the time you would have preferred, we do automatically make a table reservation for all of our dinner, bed and breakfast guests when we receive the online accommodation booking to ensure a table is available.
We have now added a request on to the secret escapes web site asking the guest to contact the hotel to reserve a suitable time.
I have taken on board your feed back about the thin walls and we will certainly look in to this and take action where we can to enable our guests to get a relaxing long lie in.
I have passed on your comments to the chef about the ice cream, he is pleased that you enjoyed it, it is quite surprising but it as you said it works.

Once again thank you for your feed back and i do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The lobby is typical of a decent english country inn with fireplaces, vintage furniture and old paintings of long gone gentry. And of course plenty of horse race memorabilia in case you forgot you are staying in Ascot. The staff is friendly. I found the price quite reasonable compared to London. Since I was single that day I had dinner in the pub rather than in the formal dining room. The menu is limited there but OK for a quick meal. I'd recommend this place to my friends. The place may be booked on race week-ends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy_wolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent stay here at the Macdonald Berystede Hotel.
I am pleased that you the staff to be friendly and the hotel suited your needs during your stay.
As you said we are a very popular venue during racing at Ascot but are proud to be able to look after race goers and those that just wish to relax in the spa or take in the historic and beautiful area we are in.
I do hope you will be able to revisit us again if the opportunity arises when you return to the UK.

Kindest regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked a night away for me and my fiancee through Secret Escapes. Offer included a 3 course meal in the evening and breakfast.
Upon arrival I was informed that the hotel had fully booked out the restaurant for the entire evening therefore we would be unable to enjoy the 3 course meal.
Hotel claimed that they had phoned guests ahead of time to warn them of the situation but we never received a call and overheard this poor excuse given to the couple in front of us so they clearly failed to make the calls.
The only alternatives offered were to have the meal in the bar or in our room.
I did not take my fiancee away to have a 3 course meal in the bedroom on a small coffee table!
We therefore had to drive to one of the local villages to have dinner. I would recommend Casa Nova in Virginia Water as we had a lovely meal there instead.
The room was also too hot during the night.
Hotel was generally well-kept and the majority of the staff were polite. Grounds are beautiful and I can imagine it would provide very pretty walks in the Summer.
However we left the hotel feeling let down by the poor customer service at check-in and the lack of options available to us regarding the evening meal.
Will not be returning there nor recommending it to others.

Room Tip: We had the Classic room. Generally quite small but sufficient for a few nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent visit to us here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am sincerly sorry you were not able to dine in the restaurant on the evening of your stay, it was an exceptionally busy night and unusually the majority of our residents booked to eat in the restaurant, as my reception team said we did indeed attempt to contact those guests that had booked on dinner, bed and breakfast rate to request what time they wished to eat but unfortunately as you mentioned we were not able to reach everyone.
This does not happen normally, although we have a busy restaurant we are able to accommodate our guests needs and once again please except my apologies for on this occasion not being able to.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunninghill hotels

Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very good first impression nice hotel and friendly staff! Slightly disappointed with size of standard room as quite small although very well presented, comfortable and well equipped!! We stayed dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was excellent - great choice and staff helpful, even decorated desert plate with happy birthday message !!! Would stay again but probably book larger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattandZoeRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feed back from your recent visit to us here at the Berystede Hotel.
I am sorry you found your room to be on the small side, we have a wide selection of rooms ranging from our classics rooms to suits, these obviously range in size also.
I am pleased that you found our food and service to excellent and that you received the birthday plate we often do as a little surprise and delight.
Once again thank you for your feed back and i do hope we have the opportunaty to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Just spent three nights here attending a conference, the staff can't do enough to help and the food is excellent. I stayed in a suite just off reception, very comfy. Would definitely recommend this venue.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sally081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feed back on your recent stay, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be helpfull and accommodating.
Our chef wishes to pass on his thanks for your kind words about his food, he does work very hard to ensure the dishes he prepares with his team are enjoyable.
I do hope that next time you will be able to return and enjoy a more sociable visit.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I been to this SPA about 3 times and going again easter wkd. Its a very relaxing place and great staff too. Massages were good although staff do like to chit chat as they are doing the treatment which can put some people off.
Facilities are good, changing rooms clean, relaxing room nice and chilled with water and flavoured teas, steam rooms good and include a salt room and an ice room for the brave ones.
Highlight is the outdoor hydropool! Amazing!

If you go for the spa day a healthy 2 course lunch and robe/slippers are included too although not sure if the offer is still on.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank unicorn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Berystede Spa.
I am pleased that you found it to be the relaxing haven that we hope for.
I have passed on your comments to the team and they are very much appreciated, there were a few blushes to the chit chat comments but were obviously taken on board.
I do hope you will be able to return in the near future and have a similar relaxing experience.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
1,988 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing