We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, Excellent staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed the weekend and overall had a great time. Staff were very friendly and accomdating, especially the restaurant staff. Even though the restaurant was full, they went the extra mile to change our dinner booking and table. Dinner was very good and staff very friendly. Breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked english breakfast and lovely croissants. We had the basic room which was sufficient, cosy bed, large bathroom and nice shower. our room was overlooking the road and was a bit noisy during the day but fine at night and morning. better to get quieter room. Spa area good, very nice hot tub outside where you enter from inside. nice sauna and steam rooms, ice room and experience showers. pool was nice temperature. gym sufficient, we didnt try spa treatments. nice bar and reception area with fireplace

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you were able to feed back your experiences of your recent stay.
I have passed on your comments to our restaurant and kitchen teams who were able to live upto the service and food quality you were expecting.
I am also pleased you found your bedroom to be comfortable and cosy and had a chance to take advantage of the spa areas, i must agree that the hydro pool is an extremly nice feature.
Once again thank you for your feed back and i do hope you will be able to return and may be make use of the treatments that we have available and really get pampered.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    677
    459
    202
    121
See reviews for
462
883
40
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights using the Tesco voucher trade-in scheme. We had been regulars and fans of MacDonald's characterful The Bear in Woodstock, and this place had been sold to us by the reservations team as 'The Bear with a spa'.
It is not. The characterful side of this hotel is as you pass through reception with its wood pannelling and wonderful fireplace. Then you are sent off to rooms in modern wings which have absolutely no character, and it seemed to us that if you are a Tesco voucher guest then you are sent as far away as possible. We were in a wing that seemed a mile from reception above the conference centre in a room that was presumably designed for single conference guests. It was cramped, over-stacked with unnecessary furniture and the en-suite bathroom had hardly enough room for one person to turn around in.
When we discovered the cosy-looking restaurant near reception was closed for refurbishment and dinner would be taking place in another modern conference room we cancelled our reservation and ate out (indifferent reception staff subsequently still tried to charge us for dinner when we checked out).
So the comparison to The Bear was way off.
On a positive note, the spa is very good. The outdoor hydropool and thermal suite are above the norm. This is a place for couples or groups looking for a modern spa experience, but not bothered about characterful bedrooms or romantic, quiet, cosy ambience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanMartAl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feeding back your comments and experiences on your recent visit here to the Berystede Hotel.
Firstly my apologies that you were sold the Berystede as The Bear with a spa, our main public areas are full of character with oak paneled lounge, bar and reception, large fire place and chandeliers, but like most hotels over time we have had more modern areas added on, which i must say usually suits most tastes.
I am sorry you found the bedroom you stayed in to be lacking character and small, we have several types and sizes of rooms from classic rooms to a suits, our classic double rooms are of a standard size and furnished accordingly, i will of course take note of your comments and pass them on to our design team to use in future refurbishments.
At the time of your visit we were indeed undergoing some minor refurbishment and to stop any disturbance we moved our restaurant to our Windsor room and decorated it as the main restaurant normally is, i am sorry you found this to modern a space to dine in.
I have passed on your comments to our spa team who wish to also be associated with my own thanks and we all hope you will find the opportunity to return and maybe reserve one of our rooms in the older part of the hotel.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on a secret escapes break on the 23/02. I think our impression of the stay was generally very good but we did have a dinner and stay deal.
When we arrived the check in was friendly and we were early but we were able to check in anyway which was great. The room was a standard and was nice enough, not wow but nice.
The use of the pool and spa area was excellent and I think we went at a quieter time as it was getting busy when we left. Most hotels would charge you extra for using some of those facilities so for us this was a real plus and really made our weekend.
The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff were very attentive and friendly.
The only things to consider would be Thebes in our room was quite uncomfortable and the shower in our room was not powerful at all but then the showers in the spa were excellent. Also the restaurant was in a function room which felt like a function room and for us lacked a bit of atmosphere.
These aren't really critisms for us but I think if you paid more for the room these could be. That said we did really enjoy our weekend, staff were friendly, spa was great and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to give feed back on your recent stay, i am pleased that you found the secret escapes deal to be good and your room to be nice.
I have passed on your feed back to our spa team and they are happy that you were able to relax and enjoy the facilities we have to offer.
Our restaurant during the time you stayed was indeed located in the Windsor room as we were going through some refurbishments in the Hyperion room, i am though pleased that you found the experience to be friendly and the food to be excellent.
I have taken your comments on board with reference to the bed being uncomfortable and the pressure of the shower not being powerful enough and i have spoken to my maintenance manager and my housekeeper about them.
Once again many thanks for your comments and i look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked a secret escape deal at this hotel on 21/2/13.The hotel was very pleasant. A cosy looking reception and bar area. The room was very clean and pleasantly decorated ( nice clean white quit). The spa was of a good quality. But here comes the "however" .... This hotel could be so much better with just a few tweaks- The receptionist didn't have much knowledge of the rooms (it would make so much difference if she was familiar with the types of rooms the hotel has - a simple tour of the rooms would solve this). We were not shown to our room- the room was down three corridors and a flight of stairs -it would have made a much better first impression if we had been shown to our room ( its always nice when this is done as it also gives the guest the chance to comment on the room) . The room was very small - but it did have a king size bed and two chairs so perfectly adequate.
The spa- we were surprised that robes and slippers were not provided, I have never been to a spa where these are not standard. There is not any clear signage to the spa area but after asking two members of staff we found it. The changing rooms were noisy and not very clean, perhaps it was a busy day. It was also noisy in the pool area ( cant be helped when there are lots of children) but not conjusive to relaxing. The spa area was good and we enjoyed the outside Jacuzzi- the inside one wasn't working though. It would also be nice if magazines were provided next to the sunbeds (just a small detail but is always nice)
Dinner- was fabulous, the waiter was very attentive , professional and friendly. The food was outstanding ( strange choice of music however- soft rock!)
Breakfast was delightful - lovely quick service, lots of choice.
The comments I've made are not complaints, but honest feedback. In my opinion, this hotel has the potential to be really good if a little extra effort is made.
One last comment - We were informed that if we wanted a larger room then we would need to pay extra. When we've stayed at a five star hotel in Marlow- with great trip advisor reviews, we were given there "best available" room on check in - to me this proves that the hotel wanted us to have the best stay possible in their hotel ( it cost exactly the same to clean), it made such a good impression on us that it is our favorite hotel!- I don't expect an upgrade but its a very nice
thought that hotel staff want to ensure the guests enjoy their stay.
We may have got a good deal from secret escapes, but we enjoy spa breaks and take many in a year- so setting an good impression is important.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank summer_day68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving feed back on your recent stay here at the Berystede hotel.
I am pleased that you found us to be cosy and the room to be pleasant and clean.
The young lady on check in was a new member of the team and although our induction program does include a thorough show round and a great deal of information i do take your comments on board that further tours would be worth while.
We do not have at present a full time concierge service but we are at present looking to introduce the role and i am sorry that you found it difficult to find your room.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the spa, i have gone through these with my spa manager and will take these in to consideration moving forward.
I am very pleased that you found dinner to be fabulous and i have passed this on to the food and beverage team, they to wish to say thank you.
I do hope that you will find the opportunity to return to the Berystede in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay as part of a dinner and dance at the hotel. Check in was painfully slow with it taking 25mins on a pre arranged booking. One receptionist was obviously very new - not a problem but the other was trying to deal with 2 clients queries at a time. The duty manager was frequently in attendance. We asked for a room away from the road but the receptioninsts didn't know where the rooms were located. The room when we arrived at it was very modern and well equipped. Food at the dinner was average and service was very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the two main roads on booking not at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your recent stay, i am sorry you were delayed during check in, on occasions this is inevitable and we do try to ensure we have team members and as you commented our duty managers available to assist in this area to ensure your arrival experience is a good one.
Once again thank you, with out your feed back we are unable to move forward with our standards of service.
I hope we are able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

booked a last minute stay with family,upon arrival looked the part but became disheartened when walking to the rooms. could do with a great deal of updating and repainting and replacing carpets etc....
areas look worn and untidy,think the hotel is relying on its location and reputation rather than focusing on the important things.
wouldnt return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jholczimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back, it is very important to receive this to enable us to move forward with our service and standards with in the hotel.
We are always endeavouring to improve the fabric of the hotel and have a comprehensive maintenance program in place to do this.
At the moment we are currently in the middle of a redecoration scheme of all 126 bedrooms and the corridors, these are being put off a few at a time to ensure no disturbance is felt by our guests.
I am sure that if you found the need to return to the hotel over the coming months you will see a difference in the areas you have commented on.
Again thank you for your feed back and i do hope the hotel can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay as base for trip into London for family day out.Leisure facilities very good. Downside was dietary food-soya milk and soya spread requested in good time when booking, prior to stay and on check in was not fully available for my wife, milk only on first morning. Everything else was as expected as had stayed on a previous trip when visiting Legoland.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean D, Manager at Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay here at the Berystede Hotel and that you found that everything was what you expected.
I am though sorry we were unable to provide the items you pre booked and i have passed this on to the operations team to ensure that we stock these items as a matter of course.
I do hope you will be able to visit us again in the near future so we have the chance to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Sean Denny
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
667 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Address: Bagshot Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa in Ascot is a beautiful, accessible, four-star hotel near Windsor which is surrounded by amazing landscaped gardens. Ideal for accommodation during Royal Ascot, the hotel is the closest four-star hotel to Ascot Racecourse. Access to Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa is easy from nearby London Heathrow Airport and the facilities are designed to appeal to both business and leisure guests alike. Short break visitors to the area will find the hotel a short distance from popular attractions such as Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor Castle and Wentworth Golf Course. And following a day of adventure, back at the hotel, there is a state-of-the-art thermal spa with six spa treatment rooms, an 18-metre swimming pool, rock and infra red saunas and an outdoor hydropool. Perfect for resting weary legs. Our AA-rosette award-winning Hyperion Restaurant serves a range of contemporary English and European cuisine, carefully crafted dishes using the finest quality, wholesome ingredients. Sit back, relax and let us cook up a delight for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Berystede Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Berystede Hotel Sunninghill
Macdonald Berystede Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing