We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend treat -not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“weekend treat -not”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

After booking the royal berkshire for the second time to give them a chance,how wrong we were.
Lovely setting but rooms very tired,but we put up with that.
Service was terrible,customer relations non existent,mainly foreign staff who did not have a clue and had no back up from anyone !
never again.

Room Tip: do not stay there the mcdonald windsor far better but no grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jef275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    217
    97
    25
    12
See reviews for
191
205
6
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here because 1. the staff were very professional and friendly - they couldn't do enough to please 2. The food was great and 3. The setting and ambience elegant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abertyswg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind recommendation.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We didn't book through Booking.com and therefore paid much more than £65 per night for our two night stay. We planned to visit Windsor and surrounding area, this hotel is well placed to visit many nearby attractions and has a country house hotel setting. How wrong we were..... How wrong this VENUE is...
Having checked in we thought to have a coffee in the hotel library and read some of the guest information about the local attractions and plan our day. Sadly there was no, none. not one single piece of guest information available about the locality in the hotel. Inquiring of the reception staff, they explained the absence of guest information " Our guests are mainly conference delegates and local guests who know the area well therefore such reading materiel is not required. The conference venue role of this hotel results in the sterile and "rush hour" ambience we experienced at the hotel. The next day we found the library closed to guests, it had been pressed into service as another conference room. There appear to be 10 or more conference rooms at the hotel, at times the corridors are full of people milling around with flip charts and coffees standing in small groups discussing business theory just as one would expect in a conference venue; Not what we expect of a country house hotel.
It is very clear that this company's (EH Venues) priority is for their business customers attending conferences and business meeting etc.
We found the breakfast buffet to be of a 2 star quality, the in room comfort provision in the Deluxe Bedroom also to be of 2 star quality. If you want to see what this (hotel) venue can provide for its business guests (but not regular hotel guests) go down to the business centre on the ground floor and experience the world of wonderful free food, drinks and services.
In summary, this is a very disappointing hotel for the regular tourist guest, 2 star comfort and service, hotel services are geared to the business guest.
If you are looking for a room in a welcoming and friendly hotel which treats all guests equally and provides comforts and services to aid your stay in the locality, book a room in a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room in a welcoming and friendly hotel which treats all guests equally and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfaithlessfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I am disappointed to read that you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us and would very much like to discuss your comments further.
My direct line is 01344 298 036.
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with work for a two day conference. The hotel is in major need of an upgrade and the rooms are very dated. Nothing bad about the place, far from it, the conference facilities and lobby all look great and are very modern. The rooms however haven't been touched since the 1990s smell dusty and have no modern cons eg air con/control heating /lights. Bathrooms are old and towels etc old and in need of being replaced.
Grounds for the hotel are nice and if money were spent on redoing the rooms this place would be a steal. Not bad if you want somewhere to stay and you get a good deal but certainly no coworth park

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and some excellent comments about our beautiful hotel.
We have made significant investment within the areas you mention during the two years the hotel has been an Exclusive Venue.
We have just opened a fantastic restaurant, FORK and await the next stage of refurbishment to commence in eight weeks when the first number of bedrooms will be transformed.
I do hope you will have a chance to return to the UK and Ascot to see these exciting changes for yourself.
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Court
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked through Booking.com on a very good deal - £65 for bed and breakfast. We arrived at this very attractive hotel up the sweeping gravel drive and we were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived at 11.30 knowing check in wasn't till 2.00 but we thought we would enjoy the surroundings. The Receptionist was very helpful and when he saw which room we were in, he rang upstairs to ask if it could be cleaned first. We went into the bar for a drink and 15 minutes later he came in and said our room was ready!! We had been upgraded to a superior room which was very spacious, with THREE bay windows!! OK, the furniture was a bit dated, but it certainly didn't detract from the experience and the bed was extremely comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. We had a meal in Fork in the evening and the food was excellent. Particularly enjoyed "The Fairground Plate" which consisted of 3 little doughnuts, a tiny toffee apple, a little ice cream cone filled with marshmallow, candy floss, popcorn and a chocolate dipping bowl!! Very innovative.
The only reason I didn't give 5 for service is that breakfast could have been more efficient - tables weren't cleared and cutlery wasn't replaced.
Apart from this tiny quibble, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenwood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here with work and I am so glad I was not paying. Room smelt musty, overlooking the delivery area so was woken up at 5am with deliveries arriving and at 11.30pm they were emptying bottles outside. No space to hang anything in the wardrobe and the room just had a dirty feel to it. The curtains are only fit to be used as rags, certainly not to hang up at the windows. Think busy green carpets, orange wallpaper and orangey brown cheap curtains with a very out of date bathroom with a shower that trickles and it sums this place up. The reception area does definitely not match the poor state of the bedrooms. My room was also on the 3rd floor up a very narrow staircase. Just book elsewhere would be my advice...

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here would be my advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingstarsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

No lifts, room on third floor. Breakfast buffet style with a 5-10 mins queue then you have to do your own toast by the time the toast is ready your breakfast is cold especially as the plates were cold to start with. Will not be going again. Rooms and hotel in general shabby chic, could do with an update to the décor. Grounds nice, location great, but needs to work on the breakfast side of things, plenty of staff about so the food could have been brought to the table and the toast done for you with out stretching the staff. Would not recommend for anyone with mobility problems as there is no lift.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ticklegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am delighted to read you enjoyed the nice grounds and great location.
I am somewhat disappointed we didn't move you from a third floor room to our ground floor rooms, some of which have access friendly facilities, this also includes a small chair lift (if required).
Some of our bedrooms are about to be refurbished over the coming months and will certainly offer another great element to our hotel.
Breakfast within the hotel is from a buffet which you mention, this also includes the breads and toast. I am sorry one of the team didn't offer to assist, however I have addressed your comments with the restaurant manager and have identified some areas for retraining.
I do hope you haven't been put off returning and would ask you to contact me directly for further reservations.
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.7 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
5.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing