We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I usually travel abroad around the Christmas period and this year was no exception. We booked a flight abroad departing from Heathrow on 27th Dec and to kick the holiday off to a good start we decided that we would like to spend Christmas at a tranquil hotel within easy travelling distance of the airport.
Royal Berkshire Hotel stood out as a possible candidate and we were not to be disappointed, a stunning historic building set within large landscaped gardens and less than a 30 minute drive to the airport! Our SatNav also took us right to the hotel entrance using the postcode alone which always gets things off to a good start.
Our bedroom was immaculately presented with a superb view of the hotel gardens. Things only got better as we enjoyed a delightful Christmas Eve dinner follow by the best ever Christmas Day Lunch. Before and after dinner drinks were enjoyed in a magnificent lounge area with comfortable seating and a real log fire.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were extremely polite, attentative and efficient, this hotel clearly benefits from a strong management team which was evident by the high levels of service provided.
We would highly recommend a stay at Royal Berkshire Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent, it was at the top of the stairs on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    228
    105
    28
    13
See reviews for
209
216
7
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a lovely suite. Very comfy enormous bed and large separate lounge. Very spoilt. Room was perfect. Dinner was lovely and got complimentary chocs as it was my wife's birthday. Lady that served us at dinner was superb. So friendly and made you feel at home.

Splash pool was small but loved it and had a nice dip. Ladies on reception couldn't do enough for us. Top class hotel and loads of character. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bungl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments.
We are all delighted that you celebrated at Royal Berkshire Hotel.
I look forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend at this lovely hotel. It was our 10th anniversary also my husbands 30th.

Receptionist was lovely very professional and helpful with dining options etc.

Arriving in the dark we did not appreciate how fabulous the location is until the next morning . We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Really stunning views.

Champagne in the room which we opened whilst getting changed for dinner.

We decided to eat in the bar and the menu offered lots of choices. We sampled Cajun chicken, pasta, salmon & burgers during our stay and presentation was lovely. Salad dressed subtly so thoroughly enjoyed it. Extensive wine list and cocktails which we enjoyed.

Breakfast was lovely, nice fresh juice, fruit and a hot buffet. Really good.

Room overall I was really happy with, bedding and pillows very fresh and crisp. I normally book contemporary however enjoyed the character.

New Year's Eve dinner was very enjoyable and for £ 29 good price.

The breakfast on New Year's Day was busy. Unfortunately for the staff everyone arrived at once & they tried so hard to help everyone . Chill out people it's a bank holiday! At the end of the day it was all going to be fine! We waited whilst the chef prepared more food and it was lovely. The table next to us ordered poached eggs and they looked amazing. I heard some tables complaining but we were perfectly happy . Just a suggestion...I have stayed in London over new year and n y d offers later sitting for breakfast or even a brunch until 11.30....after all it is the morning after the biggest night of the year!


Well done guys customer service is great especially the guy from the Netherlands in the bar .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 'double' celebration with us!

What a great way to start 2013.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here many times , like always the staff are proffesional and friendly, Lovely grounds in the summer to have a casual stroll, the rooms are always clean and in good order, different rooms have different characters, but always a pleasure to stay here.

Would recommend to anyone locally or travelling to the ascot area.

Room Tip: Nice local restaurants,and plenty to do as its not far from Windsor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your great comments.

You will be pleased to hear we are just completing a walk way through the woods in the grounds, so on your next visit you could possibly take a stroll though there!

Meanwhile I will be sharing your review with the team.

We look forward to see you soon.
Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my Fiancee for her birthday. we had a suite with a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival. The grounds are lovely and lur room was cosy but grand with a four poster bed. The bar and restaurant were also cosy, with a log fire in the lounge. The food was also delicious and the service friendly and efficient. Couldnt have asked for anything more. I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Berkshire with my husband while he attended a conference hosted there. We found the hotel very charming and loved the grounds. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, allowing us to check in early after our over-seas flight. I believe the accomodations for the conference, although I didn't see them, were very satisfactory and my husband enjoyed attending the conference at hotel. The pool and sauna were also very nice after a cold December day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a weekend break at The Royal Berkshire for a friends 50th/reunion. We each received a warm welcome from the friendly staff, where nothing appeared to be too much trouble.The hotel is luxturious and well placed being in Ascot and near to Windsor.The bedrooms where superbly furnished,spotlessly clean beautiful bathroom, comfy beds and spacious to relax in.We dined at the restaurant, again staff where friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. The food was imagingly presented and impeccably cooked. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind words and review.
I will be sure to pass on your thoughts to the whole team.

It is especially nice to note your great comments about the food.
Our new Executive Chef has been with us since September, settling in very well and cooking many great dishes.

We hope you can find a reason to visit again before next year’s reunion.

Kindest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
0.9 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ascot
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 5 in Ascot
1,001 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing