We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding at the Royal Berkshire Hotel - 31st March 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We came across the Royal Berkshire hotel quite by accident when looking for a wedding venue and instantly fell in love with the building itself but particularly the amazing grounds. Knowing we could have our ceremony and the reception all in one place was exactly what we were looking for and particularly important to me - the fact we would be the only wedding at the hotel that day!

We had a amazing wedding. We were delighted with how the whole day ran, the food was spot on and we couldn't have asked for friendlier teams to help make our big day run without a glitch. We particularly want to extend a very special thanks to Abbie Pearson (the wedding coordinator) for helping us with the build up to the day but also Gerard (operations) for overseeing the whole event right up until the early hours of Sunday morn - he still looked bright eyed the next day even if we kept him up late!!

All of our friends and family also had a fantastic time, many of whom also stayed at the hotel - and they all agreed it was a fab venue.

We would highly recommend checking the Royal Berkshire Hotel out if you are looking for a wedding venue - our party was circa 58 including children, so although intimate there was plenty of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abraham31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 734 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at this delightful hotel celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary The staff from reception through to the restaurant and the cleaners were all very friendly and helpful.
The highlight for us both was the fantastic food in the restuarant.
Highley recommend that you dine in the hotel restaurant when you stay at this hotel.
Great gardens and location for Windsor Castle, Eton and more.
Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Stayed in an Executive suite overlooking gardens, had a private balcony but wet weather prevented us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just got back from spending our anniversary weekend here and I have to say the whole experience was greater than expected. I was particularly interested in hiring the bicycles and using the tennis courts but was a little nervous after seeing some of the reviews on trip advisor. The conditions of the bikes were average but worth every penny as they are FREE to hire. And ok there was only one ball for tennis but that was understandable as we actually lost the ball whilst playing - I imagine we weren't the first.

The hotel itself is great! lovely, elegant and classic decor, with quite a spacious room - we stayed in the deluxe suit. Dinner was lovely and breakfast even more so! And the prices were quite reasonable for fine dining. The staff were friendly and helpful also. The location is fantastic.

I would definitely suggest using the hotel during less busy periods to take full advantage of everything it has to offer.

Overall I would recommend it! The only reason I didn't score it excellent is because the pool area was out of order due to issues with maintenance.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you are unable to climb stairs better to get a room on the ground floor. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NdidiAnsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed over the Easter weekend whilst visiting Legoland and Windsor Castle. Ideal location for both. Very peaceful and pretty setting away from the hustle and bustle of Legoland. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were nicely and comfortably furnished. We had a family room and kids were on sofa bed. Mattress was a little thin we were glad kids were slim. Breakfasts were good with plenty to chose from for us all. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as restaurant is quite pricey and our kids quite fussy!

One big disappointment was that the pool was out of action and had been for a while. We specifically chose a hotel with a pool for us all to unwind in after a busy day. Would have been nice to have had some sort of notice about this from either Legoland Holidays or the hotel by email. Shame.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel to stay that is peaceful, friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ablitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We recently spent two very enjoyable days at this hotel. Our room was large, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. As I have several food allergies I often find eating out to be problematic. However when I explained my problem to a young waiter in the bar he was most helpful and discussed the situation with the chef. The result was that I had a very enjoyable meal .Special mention must also be made of the breakfast. There was a large choice of delicious hot and cold dishes and the excellent service ensured the smooth running of the room.
In conclusion every member of staff seemed to take great pride in their jobs and this was reflected in the excellent service we received. We will not hesitate to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sartoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend stay, the bed was snug and comfy, fast Wi Fi in the room radio and TV and tea making. Down side was the usual UK shower(5 out of 10) and the busy road at the front plus it is on a flight path as most of the SE of England is.The restaurant food is fab as is the wine list, breakfast was enjoyable and plenty of itThe staff are happy and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokerpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed just over 3 days for a conference; This is such a unique hotel, and I'm sure once all the refurbishments have been completed, the venue really will shine - the team spirit is already in place - everyone helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul F, General Manager at Royal Berkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words posted on your recent Trip Advisor review.

All the Royal Berkshire team take genuine pride in their work and collectively aim to always deliver great service, so your comments are greatly appreciated.

Hopefully it won't be long before you return to see all the exciting changes which will have taken place.

Warmest regards,

Paul Fearon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
4.8 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ascot
172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 5 in Ascot
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range: $117 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing