We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great wedding venue”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We got married here in October, it was quite a big wedding (100+) and everything was fantastic. From booking the wedding right through to the end of the day the hotel and all it's staff were extremely helpful and made it all very easy for us, we had no stress and no problems! On the day we were looked after by Gerard and he was briliant, everything went smoothly. The food was excellent, and we've had lots of lovely comments from our guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    228
    105
    28
    13
See reviews for
209
216
7
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Having found it extremely difficult to find a venue that could cater for our requirements for a small wedding, (30-40 people) we were over the moon when we found this elegant Mansion house nestled in the outskirts of Ascot. Our eye was drawn initially to the value of one of their Package deals that catered for such small numbers, and were happy to hear that we could amend the package so it was bespoke to our requirements.

Similarly, we found the quality and service to be fantastic. Despite initial changes to our point of contact and a recent change of hands, our booking was treated with a satisfactory level of attention, and come the big day, all the stops were pulled out to make sure our Wedding day was special. The staff were exceptional and made us feel very welcome. The building is fabulous, and the Honeymoon suite radiated opulence.

It was the gardens in particular that drew us to the venue for our big day. The Ancient Oak trees, victorian pond and fountain, alabaster statues and small hedge maze, would provide an excellent backdrop for those wedding photos.

I highly recommend this venue for a short stay or a big day. All our guests were complimentary to the chef for such a delicious meal, and I am glad we are close by so that future wedding anniversaries can be spent sat out on the terrace, enjoying a nice meal and reminiscing over the best day of our lives... so far.

Room Tip: Try and get the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapient_Army
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Staying here for a friends wedding meant we got a reduced rate, thank god for that! The hotel wasn't worth what we paid for it, let alone the full rate. The best way to sum up this hotel is “Average”. It feels geared up for the sole purpose of business travellers, with no personal touches or comforts in the bedrooms, despite pitching itself as an hotel for all occasions and travellers. Whats more the tea and coffee box in our room was lacking milk, sugar and caffinated coffee, and when we called reception to ask for more the line just rang and rang.

Breakfast was also a rather haphazard affair, the wedding party were supposed to eat together, instead we all found ourselves waiting for tables, spread across the two sections of the breakfast room. Staff had to be reminded to bring tea and coffee to the table, along with toast and condiments, and the buffet breakfast was overcooked for the most part.

It is a real shame, as the wedding was lovely and the venue and the house itself are steeped in history and elegance. It all seems to be let down by the service, or rather lack thereof.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torila83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We really liked this hotel, it is just perfect for families. The setting is lovely with lots of green space for the kids to play. There is also a great lounge area with casual seating where you can have a drink, play games, have a meal overlooking the green space. A great place to go in the evening. The rooms are a bit dated, but you aren't paying a huge rate for the rooms. For a long family trip in the UK, where the hotel prices in this area tend to be higher, it was good value for money. We would definately stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked here after looking at the reviews. Although the bar and food prices were expensive the hotel was wonderful.

First impressions do count and the reception was staffed by very polite and attentive staff, we checked in early and went off to the races for the day.

When we got back there was a wedding reception going on in one of the function rooms and we expected to be able to hear that everywhere but we were pleasantly surprised.

All the public areas were very clean and so were the rooms, not a mark or cobweb in sight. The bed was a little hard but that didn't stop me having a great nights sleep.

Breakfast seemed to get a little busy and the food area did get a little congested at times, this wasn't helped by the toaster which seemed to take an age and only toast half the bread so you had to put it back through. Other than that small issue the food was fabulous. Just get to breakfast early.

Overall a very nice place to stay and the staff were all very polite and attentive, certainly a hotel to relax and unwind in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggshants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our first stop on a 13 day tour of England. Wonderful assistance. Helpful staff. Beautiful facility. We continued to refer to this hotel throughout our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asnydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hotel has changed hands over the last few moths and is now part of E H venues rather than Ramada. It has a lovely setting with gorgeous grounds with well establshed trees and a lovely patio off the bar looking out onto the well maintained grounds. Grt for couples, friends and families.

The Little Paddocks resturant is lovely, there is a good two course and thee course deal- three course deal was about £33. Good selection of wines and excellent service.

I was actually here for a wedding and the function part of it was very nice. The function rooms are well kept and let in lots of light and the service was excellent. The bride and groom loved every minute and the hotel couldn't do enough to make it perfect for them.

Service in the main polo bar was a little slow, so I would say at busy times they need to get a few more staff but the staff they did have on where friendly, polite and very helpful- they even remembered our drinks order from first time around so reorders were easy!

Buffet breakfast with the usual cooked and continental options. Well stocked and cooked well. Breakfast did get a bit crowded about 30mins before the end of sevice, so I would recommend getting down mid way through the service times.

Rooms were lovely. I was staying in the older part of the hotel, which has more features and is more traditional. The newer part of the hotel is nice but the rooms are a bit smaller and don't have as much character. The hotel has old sash windows that don't open very much so it did get a bit warm but how can I complain about having good weather!

If you fancy splashing the cash I recomend the Polo Suite- this was where the bride and groom spent their wedding night. It was spectacular with a balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds a lovely sitting room and gorgeous bedroom. A real luxery but it was lovely!

A lovely weekend away was had by all and we really didn't want to leave the relaxing atmosphere and everyhting being done for us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunninghill
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
0.9 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ascot
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 5 in Ascot
1,001 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Berkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Berkshire Hotel

Property: Royal Berkshire Hotel
Address: London Road, Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 0PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot > Sunninghill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sunninghill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Berkshire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built for the Churchill family, the fountain and sweeping 15-acre landscaped grounds flank a spectacular red brick Queen Anne mansion. Peaceful sophistication is the order of the day... dine in FORK Restaurant overlooking the manicured gardens or play croquet on the lawn whilst sipping a glass of Pimms! Just 1.5 miles from Ascot train station, 13 miles from London Heathrow Airport and within 8 miles of the M25, M4 and M3, the Royal Berkshire is perfectly situated for short breaks away, corporate events and meetings and fabulous weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Berkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ascot
Ascot Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing