We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical, cool and comfortable castle”
The castle is ideal for group gatherings and special get-together celebrations
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The castle is ideal for group gatherings and special get-together celebrations
The Costa Brava enjoys a Mediterranean climate with warm, sunny weather almost year round The castle feels timeless with all modern amenities; decor is unique, warm and fuss-free
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
The castle is ideal for group gatherings and special get-together celebrations
The Costa Brava enjoys a Mediterranean climate with warm, sunny weather almost year round
The castle feels timeless with all modern amenities; decor is unique, warm and fuss-free
Large front terrace is perfect for entertaining with lovely gardens and view of a nature reserve
Fully catered meals available with authentic seasonal or bespoke menu - delicious!
Private pool with sun loungers, gas BBQ, dining area, bar with fridge and hammock for laid-back days
Relax with a glass of wine and take in the idyllic view of the nature reserve
Feel at home and create lasting memories in your own private castle that costs less than a hotel
Days seem longer here - life is languid and meant to be savored. You can truly relax and unwind.
Slow living at its best. Food+wine+family and friends = heaven on earth!
Main entry; the castle is a private and intimate haven convenient to the very best of the area
Main entry courtyard surrounds the circular stone tower
Entry courtyard with ancient stone mill wheel; arched doorways lead around historic circular tower
Our favorite spot for an afternoon nap
Main living room joins with the circular stone tower and has spacious dining, lounge and games areas
Living room view from upper balcony; arched windows with courting seats overlook the nature reserve
The castle has plenty of space for everyone to find a quiet place to relax
Kitchen has updated stainless appliances, induction cooker, granite countertop and is fully stocked
Stone barrel-vaulted dining room comfortably seats 20 and provides a unique setting for meals
The castle wine cellar is stocked with a well-edited selection of vibrant local wines
Medieval circular tower’s 360° panoramic view sweeps from the lush nature reserve to the Pyrenees
First floor entry leads to winter kitchen, two dining areas, the main living room and games area
Arched balconies take you around the circular medieval stone tower to other parts of the castle
Bedrooms are individually decorated and feature arched or arrow loop windows (with screens)
Twin BR with vintage Suzani wall hanging; decor is unique and warm but not fussy
Inviting bedrooms with professionally laundered linens, en suite bath and wood-beam ceilings
En suite baths have tub with shower, organic toiletries and hairdryers
The castle's energy is calm and tranquil - feel at home and live like a local during your stay
Lounge area with WiFi, flat screen HDTV and movie selection has a scenic view and relaxed vibe
View to tower bridge that connects the medieval tower to main living areas
Library at the top of the 10th-century circular stone tower is unique and serene
The Costa Brava’s best award-winning beaches, marinas, and golf courses are 30mins from the castle
Salvador Dali's house on the coast and Museum in Figueras are closeby and definitely worth a visit
Girona's charming and chic blend of the ancient and new is 10mins away; it's a gorgeous gem
Famous for visionary restaurants and GOT filming locations, Girona is one of Spain's loveliest towns
Your Host/concierge will suggest insider tips for 'must try' and off-the-tourist-trail local faves
The pleasures of the countryside yet the castle is only 8km from Girona and the best of the area
Live like a local; settle in and enjoy the luxury of simplicity
We look forward to hosting you here at Castel d'Escales in Catalonia
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Celra, Province of Girona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRE555
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical, cool and comfortable castle”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I spent 6 weeks in the castle, with friends and family coming and going. It was lovely to see the castle afresh with each new arrival; the M.C. Escher like quality of the repurposed fortress was charming. The many nooks and crannies served very well to anyone who wanted to get away from the madding crowd and curl up with a book (of which there were many in the tower library). There were ample and varied spaces to gather and a fabulous dining room. The kitchen and other rooms were very well-equipped and the furniture was comfortable. The cook top was infuriating and the the sound system inadquate. The pool area was rather scruffy.
I had hesitated to rent somewhere with a caretaker onsite. However Jools and her dog Bessie were an enormous plus, welcoming and informative, pleasant and just the right amount of engaging. And Jools is a brillliant cook.
The view from the large patio to the forested hills is intensely pleasant, and we were all amused by the wild boars creeping out into the field at dusk, a safe distance below. The neighbours were too proximate and their noise sometimes intrusive.
Celra is a varied little town a short walk away, with its own train station, and a variety of good little shops. Forays were made into the hills to climb to a nearby castle and to forage for figs. It was a 15 minute drive to Girona and 35 to the coast, with much of interest between. My range of international guests were impressed with the lushness and diversity of the area. The castle is well-positioned to access the best there is in this area of Catalunya.
And did I mention it was a CASTLE?

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic building, great location
Liked least: Noisy neighbours
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We discovered the castle on our honeymoon and it has always seemed magical to us so it’s lovely to hear you and your guests felt that special quality, too.

Jools (and Bessie) are our Super Secret Sauce - you can’t believe how good it is until you’ve tried it!

We all truly care about our guests and are constantly seeking to make their castle experience as relaxing, memorable and delicious as possible.

Some of the improvements we’ll be making include upgrading the cooktop to something simpler and more practical. The current halogen European-style cooktop looks good in a showroom but is not so easy to use when cooking.

The outside space around the pool and bar will be landscaped to conserve water and provide shade to make the entire pool area as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.

Thank you again for your valuable suggestions and feedback which can only make our future guests even more comfortable as a result!

Best Wishes,
William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculously awesome.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's pretty hard to put into words how great this place is.

We were a large group of friends, mostly couples but there were a few young kids as well.
It's an exhilarating feeling to be living in a castle that's about a thousand years old (literally) and you think that it might be a bit awkward - particularly with such a large group - but it has been so well restored it works perfectly.
There was oodles of room for everyone and a place for everything; whether you wanted a corner in the mezzanine lounge room for peace and quiet, or to all get together for a loud boozy dinner party in the dungeon dining room downstairs.
The views from the tower were amazing and siestas next to the pool in the hammock were key.
The surrounding area was awesome for day trips too; we spent a few days lying on the beach, got a culture fix at the Dali museum in Figueres and went on a winery tour for the day - all 30 mins away from the castle. We shopped at the local farmers markets and cooked up a feast every night, either in the kitchen or on the BBQ outside.

The caretaker Jools was super relaxed and full of good suggestions, and the owner was really helpful in answering all my questions about the place before we got there. Also, all things considered it's pretty damn cheap to live in a castle. Who would have thought?

Easily one of the best holidays I've had in my life.

NB: It's a castle. You live in a castle. (I wish I could be using italics right now...)

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tower, or maybe the dungeon dining room. Tough call.
Liked least: The wi-fi was pretty dodgey. Probably something to do with the metre-thick stone walls.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen V
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spanish idyll”
Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Our party included 10 adults, two teenagers and three children. We had plenty of room to spread out during the day and the dining room was large enough to accommodate sit-down family dinners.

We had three meals cook by Jools the castle caretaker. They were superb. She was also an invaluable source of information about the area.

The village, which is only a few minutes walking distance, has a good bakery, butcher and greengrocer. There is also a supermarket.

Girona with its larger supermarkets is only a ten-minute drive away.

The location is excellent with the coast, France and Barcelona all within easy driving distance

We had a memorable holiday and we would gladly return.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not enough shade by the pool
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing