We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be going back!”

Black Firs Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Firs Guesthouse
Reviewed November 1, 2012

using reviews on trip advisor, thought this would be an ideal place to stay when we visited my 90 year old auntie in Sheldon. We were not disappointed. Fab homely house, plenty of parking, wonderful decor and spotlessly clean. Nice and close to the M42 for our onward journey, but in a quiet area... considering the airport is so close, we didn't get disturbed at all. Loved the breakfast room and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. Have even started looking at events that are on at the local NEC and LG arena just so we can go back! Julie is a fantastic host. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy_in_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here overnight after visiting the NEC and so glad we did. Very close to the NEC, was welcomed on arrival and shown to our room which was immaculate & had tea & cofffee making facilities & biscuits. Everything about this place is spotless and the garden is just gorgeous with large mature conifer trees, must be lovely in the summer months. Breakfast is served in the conservatory and it was delicious you could order just what you wanted anything from boiled eggs to fried eggs and there was also some lovely fresh fruit, strawberries, raspberries & pineapple, yummy!! If you are thinking of booking just do it you will not be disappointed. Julie & Tracey who run it are so friendly it is like home from home. Thanks for a lovely short stay. If we come again to the NEC we shall definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed at the black firs guest house as we were going to a show at the lg arena that night! We were made to feel so welcome as soon as we got there! We were given a little tour of the facilities and shown to our room! Our room was lovely we had the comfiest beds I have ever slept in! We were also provided with refreshments such as teas coffees hot chocolates and biscuits in our room which was a nice touch :) Julie is a lovely lady and she was so helpful when we couldn't get a taxi to the arena! Breakfast was gorgeous and I would absolutely stay there again and again and again! Thank you Black Firs Guest House!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaigeLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fabulous! Lovely room and ensuite facility. Loved the breakfast room (and yummy freshly cooked breakfast) which had been redesigned since my previous stay. A real home from home, I'm always made to feel welcome by Julie. Superb!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Gray2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed the night here in the premier room , and every thing was just as we had hoped , immaculate ! The room , and the property in general was spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable , and i slept very well , which is unusual for me ! The breakfast was cooked to order , and delicious too. I would recommend this as the perfect place to stay if you're needing accommodation for any attractions at the NEC/ LG arena.
Thankyou so much Julie and Tracey for making us so welcome , will be seeing you again !

Room Tip: We had the premier room , and it was extremely quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The decor is a bit old fashioned, for example floral carpets in the hallway and wood pannelling.

However, the whole place is spotlessly clean and the breakfast perfectly cooked and served with a smile.

Perhaps a little expensive for a B&B, but it is close to the NEC, so maybe that's the going rate.

I'd certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I strongly recommend this B&B having recently picked it as a convenient place to stay to access the LG Arena. It is beautifully maintained, in a lovely residential area and run by Julie who is a wonderful host and really goes out of her way for her guests. It was home away from home - immaculate with all the little touches that make a place special and personal. The breakfast was absolutely delicious !! Thanks again Julie (and Tracy) for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marston Green hotels
0 mi away
Heath Lodge
Heath Lodge
#1 of 1 in Marston Green
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#3 of 4 in Marston Green
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pebble Cottage
Pebble Cottage
#2 of 4 in Marston Green
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Black Firs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Firs Guesthouse

Address: 113 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Firs Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Firs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing