We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just how a Guesthouse should be”

Black Firs Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Firs Guesthouse
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just how a Guesthouse should be”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed at Black Firs many times and have always been impressed by the quality, service and hospitality offered by Julie. Our recent visit was no exception and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. The breakfast is superb with every little detail thought of, perfect poached eggs too! The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean and it is clear how much pride Julie takes in running the Guesthouse. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable with the bedding smelling freshly washed, just like home. Nothing is too much trouble - a worthy number 1 Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Every one's a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We 1st stayed here in November last year for a show at the NEC.This time we stayed Mon to Fri and couldn't be made more welcome. We were greeted like old friends and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, had a good selection of beverages wonderful clean linen that it seemed shame to sleep in it. Julie had a good local knowledge and pointed out some good places to eat and visit. The breakfast was brilliant, Julie and Tracy work well together sorting out orders, everything was well presented and replenished without fuss. Tracy was very good at breakfast remembering from the previous day what your preference was. No wonder this little B&B keeps getting awards, during our stay they gained another. The cost is about the same as the cheesy hotel chains but service is A1.
Will definately recommend this to friends and will be back again later this year

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stay at Black Firs once a year for work purposes and it's a pleasure to stay somewhere that is welcoming and homely compared to most of the anonymous hotels in the area. The proprietor Julie is always very helpful with taxis etc and they do one of the best English breakfasts I've had in a hotel. I should say that the beds are very comfortable and the lovely garden gives a nice outlook when having breakfast. All in all I would thoroughly recommend Black Firs if you are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked a room at Black Firs at the last minute to visit a trade show at the NEC. The accommodation is first class, I was greeted with a very warm welcome from Julie the owner, shown to a pristine and comfortable room with view of the garden. The FREE wifi was a welcome bonus that my colleagues paying a fortune at the Hilton Metropole didn’t have. And the home-cooked to order breakfast was superb. Shame I had to go home really.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Excellent, friendly and met my friend's dietary needs excellently. Will definitely revisit if need somewhere in this area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Near NEC centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We arrived here very weary after getting married the previous day (we stayed here before a morning flight from Birmingham Airport, which is a 10 minute drive)!
Lovely warm welcolm from the lady who runs the place, great recommendation for some where to eat (Bulls Head I think), the bed was super comfy, the breakfast was superb.
10/10, would say here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Breakfast is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_AEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is my tenth year of using Black Firs Guesthouse as my place of rest when visiting the NEC for business. Why? Simple, Julie and her sister Tracey, deliver a generous, warm, friendly and consistent service. Julie is always welcoming and is always prepared to go the extra mile to help with suggestions for where to find a good, reasonably priced evening meal, diections etc. The rooms are a good size, are always stocked with refreshments and those toiletries that you may have forgetten to pack. A good English breakfast sets you up for a day of meetings and traipsing round exhibition booths. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGTBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
1.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.5 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Firs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Firs Guesthouse

Property: Black Firs Guesthouse
Address: 113 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Firs Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Firs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing