We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect Family Vacation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChicagoGr...
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed December 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

You can read over and over about how great everything is at Villa Vidorra, and all of those reviews are accurate. The house is amazing, the pool area is amazing, the "jungle" area is amazing, the beach is great for relaxing and for kids to dig and play in the sand. We traveled with eight adults and four kids, ages ranging from 20 months to 64 years old. Everyone had a wonderful experience. I believe the key to Villa Vidorra's charm is not the Villa but the people inside. Manuel is a great chef providing memorable dishes. His secret "orange" salsa blew us away. It became known as "awesome sauce" at the table, as in "pass the awesome sauce, please" and "this tastes amazing without the awesome sauce, but i put some on anyway". He broke out his "go to" specialities like chicken mole, chilequles, and the lobsters bigger than your head. The food was much better than I expected. Louis the bartender is a master of his craft. It took him one day to figure out everyone's favorite beverage, after that point they would just "appear" out of no where. The rest of the staff were all very accommodating and helpful. Chuck the owner stopped by numerous times to check on things and he even took my son and I to the hospital in Tulum after my son experienced an ear infection from snorkeling. I can't say enough about the people at Villa Vidorra.
Here are some tips that we learned that may improve your overall stay (if that is even possible). We hit Akumal for snorkeling with a guide and while we did see many turtles, squid, stingrays and fish I found the reef outside Villa Vidorra to be way better and the water was much much clearer than Akumal. We saw stingrays, octopus, and many different beautiful fish right outside our back door. The only thing missing were the turtles, but we spent hours snorkeling at the Villa. We hit two different cenotes including the famous "dos ojos". I found that cenote to be more "scuba" than snorkel. It was nice but definitely more for scuba. We hired a nanny from tulum to help with the kiddos and she was simply amazing. I will provide contact info if anyone is looking for a nanny. We had yoga class each morning in the front yard. It was a great way to start each day and the instructor was great. This was the third Villa in Mexico that we have rented and it was the best in every way. I tend to avoid returning to the same place twice due to the belief that there are so many different places I want to explore but Villa Vidorra is so good I may break that rule. Thank you Chuck, Barbara, Manuel, Louis, and everyone else for a fantastic trip.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakVale...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thanks to Butler Louis, Chef Manuel & his team, house and grounds keeper, and owners Chuck and Barbara, our stay tremendously exceeded our expectations! From the moment we drove up to Vidorra, to the very sad moment we had to drive away, we were absolutely pampered. The location and pictures tells the story of an amazing property, perfectly situated on the sand on Soliman Bay, but experiencing this property completes the story. Chuck and Barbara had a vision and have masterfully created the ultimate get-away. PERFECTION. From the floor plan, to every very well planned detail, the experience is incredible. Get ready to relax! Chandeliers that chime as the breeze sails through the house; endless areas inside and out for siesta time; pool time; and lovely turquoise Soliman bay to snorkel, kayak, and paddle board. What truly completes the experience though is the amazing professional and personable team. Louis, the butler/bartender, greeted us upon arrival with cocktails and was attentive for our whole stay. A bar tender, he is! He was quick to learn exactly what each guest liked and made a variety of the most delicious cocktails and fruit smoothies. Keep them coming, Louis! Anything we needed, Louis made it happen. Chef Manuel and his team, Eduardo and Umberto, created the most amazing food. I don’t even know where to begin. You can request what your heart desires or go with Chef’s choice. We did both. With Chef’s choice, knowing the season and available local choices, Manuel tantalized us every time! Our choice or Chef’s, was never a disappointment! To name a few: fresh fish, lobster, mole, coconut shrimp, fish tacos, pork (slow cooked underground), steak, a whole variety of sauces and salsa, lobster scramble, and vanilla pancakes. Don’t forget to explore Manuel’s variety of salsa. Heat levels for every palate! Such an experience! We thought we would go out to try a local restaurant or two, but his food was so exceptional, we dined at Vidorra three meals a day. Incredible! Nothing was ever a problem, he made alternate food choices for the kids and adults with different tastes and diets. As for the accommodations, house keeping kept the house and grounds spotless, even with our group of 7 adults and 7 very busy children. Chuck, the owner, was also very hospitable and ensured our stay was absolute perfection. For us, I truly don’t know if we will ever top our Villa Vidorra experience! Thank you all at Villa Vidorra. You made our vacation the ultimate dream!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariah M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astounding”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the best Thanksgiving vacation ever! The property offers everything you could dream of, beautiful house, fantastic staff, amazing chef. The beach is private & pristine. And yet you are close to the action and tourist sites of Tulum and nearby attractions. Honestly, we barely wanted to leave the house! Greatest vacation ever!

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy M
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just got back form the Villa Vidorra and was sad to leave. Had an amazing time, from the Mole on the 1st night we arrived. To the amazing fruit platters,best pancakes ever, we all swear the eggs and chicken are better there. Down to the bacon and the OJ. Not to mention all the amazing meals in between. The breakfast nachos as we called them they are ( chilaquiles) they are a must so are the fish tacos. We also had the lobster and rib eye. Manuel and his chefs are amazing. Don't leave without having his secret sauce it is orange but the green one is great too. The grouper was so good. Hard to pick a favorite. Now for Louis the amazing bartender and I can say amazing cause I live in Vegas haha. Just tell him what you do and don't like and you will have some of the best drinks ever. A must try is the chocolate banana milk shake yes it is for grown ups. I don't like Strawberry but heard he did a Strawberry slushy drink that was awesome. He did me a vanilla version that was great. He makes extra and puts pitchers in the freezer before they leave around 7, I think it was. Now for the house keepers they come clean and do your bedrooms and bathrooms daily just like a hotel. Very nice staff. I recommend the massages. They have a guy the rakes the beach every day it makes the sand easier to walk on. They come and clean the grounds and the pool as well. You should bring water shoes the ocean has little rocks and coral so it hurts your feet a little if you don't. The beach and the pool is amazing they have hammocks, day beds and lounge chairs. Kayaks, snorkeling gear and stand up paddle boards. The pictures do not do this place justice.

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri M
Napa Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Oh my, Beautiful Villa (check), great staff (check), best food (check), Bartender wonderful (check), amazing sunsets (check), The owner Chuck is great. The Villa was an amazing surprise. It looks as great in person as it did on line. The backyard with the pool and the beach is wonderful. Best trip we have had in 10 years. My son, daughter and her boyfriend had the best time ever. Snorkling, kayaking, paddle boarding, sleeping in the hamacks in between the coconut trees. Thank you so much to the Owner and staff of the Villa Vidorra!!!!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing
Liked least: the bugs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looking for the vacation of a lifetime? Look no more - stay at Villa Vidorra.”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of nine adults, aged 55 - 73, widely traveled and in search of a luxury villa that would afford some much needed relaxation (and some fun, too!). We found it at Villa Vidorra. The home is designed to perfection, with beautiful stone work, bovidas, furnishings and lighting. One of our group is a designer, while two others are home builders. They were very impressed with the overall design of the villa, the expert craftsmanship and attention to every detail. The owners, Chris and Barbara, did an amazing job building the villa. There are three large gathering rooms inside the home and a gorgeous outdoor lounging area at the pool, as well as plenty of comfortable seating and outdoor beds for an afternoon poolside or waterside siesta.
Everyone loved the setting on Soliman Bay. It is removed from the hustle and bustle of the resorts, but still only a 15 minute drive to the Tulum Ruins or to Akumal Bay where the sea turtles abound. It was great to go snorkel with the turtles, see the coral reefs and shop a bit, knowing we would return to the peacefulness and privacy of Villa Vidorra. We drove 45 minutes into Playa del Carmen one day to shop the 35 blocks of Fifth Avenue - such fun! Another day we took an excursion with Riviera Adventours, owned and operated by the delightful Virginia. Again, we never drove more than 20 minutes to get to their preferred snorkel sight, their breathtaking privately-owned cenote and the ziplining over a gorgeous lake. The location was perfect for us, very convenient, and we always felt safe.
Chris and Barbara were wonderful to work with. Barbara was most gracious and accommodating, even when there were last minute changes (sorry, Barbara!). Chris was there to greet us when we arrived and checked in on us several times during our stay to make sure everything was going perfectly. The staff was nothing short of spectacular! Everyone was genuinely kind, very friendly and extremely talented. All of the meals were fabulous (thanks, Chef Manuel, Carlos and Roberto!), and we were never left wanting for anything to eat or drink (Luis is bartender extraordinaire!). We celebrated two birthdays and an anniversary while there and were treated to delicious lobster and filets and one of the best cakes we've ever eaten. Barbara arranged for a flamenco dancer and guitarist for the big night - again, what a treat.
Our group is very active and was most appreciative of having good paddle boards and kayaks to use. It was great to be able to explore the area by water and to be able to get to see puffer fish, stingrays and other tropical fish after paddling out a ways.
This is truly a special place. We started planning our next trip to Villa Vidorra before we left. I can see this being an annual event for all of us, or for at least as long as we can all still zip line :D

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDY1MEAD...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best place we have ever stayed on vacation.....”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife Debbie and I along with seven adult friends stayed for a week at Villa Vidorra (October 3rd through October 10th, 2015). We all would eagerly return tomorrow and are in fact planning our next trip to Villa Vidorra! The Villa is unbelievably beautiful and accommodates up to 16 people easily. We had nine adults and the Villa worked perfectly. It is new and so beautifully appointed. The staff is friendly and the food is awesome. The cost is extremely reasonable. Chris Jones (the owner) dropped by and made the trip extra special. I have nothing but high praise for Villa Vidorra and would unconditionally recommend it to anyone. It is located on world class Soliman Bay near Tulum, Mexico. Villa Vidorra is a world class villa located on a calm, peaceful Caribbean bay that anyone would enjoy. We will return as often as possible.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous villa with unreal furniture and fixtures. Staff and food first rate. Location also awesome!
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever....
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing