We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jashita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jashita
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is our first time at Jashita and it blew me away. We stayed in one of there nicest and romantic suites. They are so giving and attentive. They anticipated our every need and were always interested in lending a hand for recommendations. They got us right into Hartwood which we new about already but they said that it was busy this week so they called over to hook us up.
I am very happy with our stay and we will return !!!

Room Tip: Ocean front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KINGSCOUNTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    60
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
403
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After staying at a mega hotel in Vegas, Jashita was exactly what we needed. Personable, relaxed, in a stunning location at a quality resort. Our stay started with a room upgrade which was fantastic. Tommasso, the owner, introduced himself during dinner and was always happy to have a quick chat during our stay and advise on things to do/see.

I would recommend getting a car as Jashita is somewhat isolated, a bonus in many respects, but if you do want to see the sights of the area costs do start adding up without one.

The beach setting is beautiful, snorkelling great and very little I could think of changing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mh0lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Hotel Jashita just earlier this month. We were coming from Playa del Carmen, where we spent a few days at a mega-resort for a friend's wedding, and Hotel Jashita provide this perfect respite from the busy, all-inclusive crowds in Playa. To say that it is the complete opposite of that hectic atmosphere is an understatement.

We actually found Jashita when looking for a private boutique hotel near Tulum. Initially, we were concerned about being 10 minutes away from Tulum and, based on some previous reviews, we were a little worried about the beach not being up to par. What we found during our stay, however, is that Jashita couldn't have been in a better location.

Jashita is about 10 minutes away from Tulum and 40 minutes away from Playa Del Carmen. It's location is a perfect metaphor for vibe of the hotel: a little of the luxury you associate with the bigger resorts in PDC with all the peace, tranquility, and earthiness you'd find in Tulum. For us, it was the perfect mix, and I don't think we could have found a hotel in either PDC or Tulum that fit us as well.

We stayed in the Cleopatra suite--a room that originally had a palapa roof. When I wrote to the owner a month before our stay, inquiring about the effectiveness of the AC with a palapa roof (we stayed in Mexico in August), he let us know that, based on guest feedback, they had recently renovated the suite to now have an enclosed ceiling. Not only were we thrilled to learn that we'd be cooler (and we were!), but I was also happy to hear that Tomasso, the lovely owner of Jashita, listened closely to--and acted upon--guest reviews.

While the room was a little smaller than we envisioned, the outdoor space was HUGE. We had two balconies--one as large as the room itself--and a roof-top terrace. There were hammocks, a bed-like lounge chair, a few other chairs, and a private dip pool. The piece de resistance, however, was the view. We've traveled the world, staying at luxury hotels in the Caribbean and in Europe, and this was by far the best view we've ever had or seen. After a day or two, we realized that we didn't need that much indoor space because we spent so much time outside--far more than on any other vacation we've taken.

The suite next to ours wasn't finished being renovated, and they had to do a little work while we were there. This caused a bit of a disruption, but when I spoke with the staff about it, Tomasso immediately apologized, handled our concerns professionally, and quickly compensated us.

The hotel rooms, grounds, and common areas are immaculately clean, professionally designed, and very modern. As many have said, it feels like an eclectic and international Zen retreat.

The food was the best hotel food we've ever experienced. We had a laundry list of local places to try, but we ended up eating at the hotel far more than we anticipated. Also, the complimentary breakfast is divine, large, and full of variety. We greatly enjoyed our beachfront breakfasts every single morning. It's one of the best memories of our trip.

The staff, as others have said, are top notch. It is fairly small, so you will see the same staffers each day, and you will be happy to see them, too. They are kind, professional, and unobtrusive. We were always happy to see them and talk to them.

Though the beach isn't quite as nice as the beach in Tulum, the water is much better. Yes--there is turtle grass, but the hotel has carved a very nice path to clear water. Because the bay is protected by a reef, it is remarkably calm, clean, and clear. It's also very shallow; you can walk out for yards and yards! We ended up much preferring this to the often rough waters of Tulum. We snorkeled every single day, and we always saw colorful fish, coral, and even a stringray! I'd also imagine that this beach would be excellent for kids.

The main draw of Jashita, however, is the fact that it is unbelievably quite and private. We never saw more than 8-10 other guests at a time, and there were many times when we had the pool or the restaurant to ourselves. Having come from a hotel with nearly 1,000 guests, this was such a treat. It was peaceful beyond compare, but we still felt like we had easy access to plenty of activities. In fact, we found out that we were centrally located to all of the things on our "must do/see" list: snorkeling with the turtles at Akumal, the Dos Ojos cenotes, and the Tulum ruins. Hotel Jashita is literally 10 minutes away from each of those things, located right in the center of all three.

I do have two small suggestions: First, as mentioned by others, it would be great to have access to a phone, if only to call the lobby if we needed something. A cell phone would be excellent, since guests could use it for local calls if they are off grounds and have an emergency. Also, I wish there was a room service menu--even a small one. There were several times when we were sitting in our room thinking, "We're feeling to lazy and relaxed to go down for dinner." It would have been great to order a few bites up to the room.

However, as you can see, these things did not prevent us from happily giving 5 stars. Hotel Jashita is a one-of-a-kind hotel, and if you have a true love of traveling, you'll be able to see that for yourself.

Room Tip: The Cleopatra or Nefertiti suites have amazing balconies and views. It seems like rooms 11 and 12, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I organized my birthday there last month with friends. This hotel is amazing:
- Ideal location. The hotel is located on a lagoon. The sea is beautiful. Perfect for snorkeling and canoeing.
- Very comfortable and cool design.
- Impeccable service.
- Excellent food.
Overall, Jashita is one of the best hotel I've been to recently. They made my birthday memorable. I will definitely go back in autumn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Chic and charming with a perfect location, great food and a very friendly staff who are always helpful and kind. Rooms are spacious and always very clean. The bay can't be more beautiful and is perfect for snorkeling, kayak and paddle board. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in Jashita in July with our two kids (of 9 and 10 years). It's difficult to find a place where the reality is even better than pictures and reviews: Jashita accomplished and overpass our very high expectations. We felt at home because of the charming room, the excellent service (thanks Miguel, Manuel, Martin,Laura!) and the beautiful scenario: Bahia Soliman is the perfect place where to swim, walk and snorkel for hours without meeting people (no boats around!). You have your exquisite breakfasts, lunches or dinners every day by the beach and taste the best the italian/mexican cuisine.
We were worried to come in a place more fitted for honeymoons but the truth is that our kids didn't want to leave (infact we spent a couple of extra nights): they spent beautiful time kayaking, they loved the swimming pool, our daily trips to the close Cenote, Turtles beach, Tulum archeo-area etc. Many things to do around Jashita even if, at the end, what you want is to stay there and enjoy your private beach with nobody around.
If we can add that Tommaso, the owner and the manager, made us felt the most welcome guests in the world, taking care of us and the kids in the most genuine way it would be even an underestimation. This is a place 4 hours from New York, the closest paradise we could imagine and a place where we will come back as much as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NataliaStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second time at Jashita. We first came 2 years ago and we loved it so much that we decided to come back and it is getting better and better that we decided to come back in this paradise at least once every two years! The hotel is impeccable, the service is outstanding, the restaurant has great food and the tranquility of the bay puts you at peace. It is very close to Tulum but once you are there and you have the perfect weather you don't even want to leave. You can snorkel, paddle board, be lazy in the sun sipping delicious drinks or have a massage. Our rooms had direct access to the beach which allows you to live barefoot and in your bathing suit the whole vacation! Tommaso and his family took care of every little detail and you can feel the Italian vibe and sophistication from the moment you walk in. The beds are enormous and comfy and the rooms are pristine! It is truly a gem on a blue crystal clear bay!
Highly recommended. Can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: every single room is amazing in the interiors and you get a great view of the bay in each one, both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
7.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
11.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
8.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jashita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jashita

Property: Hotel Jashita
Address: Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jashita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small eco friendly luxury Hotel is bathed by the colors of the Caribbean nature, the gentle aromas of bougainvilleas and the turquoise Soliman bay. The beauty of this bay is not only its heartbreaking color but also being probably the most protected bay of the Riviera Maya. This allows you to swim and snorkel safely all year long. Let yourselves feel free and enjoy this miracle of nature that lies in front of your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Jashita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jashita Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing