We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere, great hospitality, beautiful bay!”
Review of Hotel Jashita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jashita
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We just spend 10 days at the wonderful Jashita Hotel!
The hotel is a little oasis, set between palm trees at the end of the beautiful and calm Soliman Bay.
Our room (superior deluxe oceanfront suite) had an amazing ocean view and a great terrace to enjoy it. So it was a pleasure to wake up in the morning to the sound of the waves, looking out to the reef and see the pelicans and flamingos flying by. The rooms are high- class, very nice furnished, comfortable bed and luxury linens.
The bay is perfect for snorkeling, swimming and paddle boarding and they even have a new Palapa platform, called Bora Bora, which is floating on the water, wonderful for relaxing, reading a book or having a sundowner.
The hotel has a very nice mixture of guests, which creates a relaxed, familiar and stylish atmosphere. You can also have your total privacy or meet interesting people from all over the world.
Tommaso, the owner, and his family and staff are outstanding.They personally took care of all our needs and more than this made us feel so very welcome. Tommaso is a wonderful host and made our stay unforgettable. One day he took the kids out in the bay to catch new fish for the aquarium. Great fun for all of them! The other day he caught sardines some meters offshore to personally cook them and offering all guests on the beach a portion of his delicious spaghetti with sardines.
We also had the chance to have a look at the new Aphrodite Suite. This room is breathtaking! Fantastic views from two decks, you can see the whole bay, the lagoon, the rainforest.
360•, hammocks, plunge pool! Amazing!

We will for sure come back to this jewel of a hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 713 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 of our 9 days (honeymoon) in the Yucatan Peninsula at Jashita and could not have chosen a better place. For those who enjoy a tranquil setting, beautiful beach, first class food and a friendly atmosphere, this is the place to be.

Jashita is the only hotel/resort on Soliman Bay which is about a 15 min. taxi from Tulum beach. We walked Tulum beach as well. It is beautiful, but definitely more people. The beauty of Jashita is that the place feels like your home. The beach is very private and feels like your own. Also, since the location is on a bay that is protected by reefs, the water is like a swimming pool.

Our plan was to go see some Mayan ruins and Cenotes during our stay, but to be frank, we only left Jashita once to go to Dos Ojos Cenote and to Tulum Beach for a couple dinners. When we didn't dine at Jashita, we ate at Posada Marguerita (which has great Italian food, Barbara Corcoran was enjoying a meal with her family the second night we went!). We were very happy just being on beach.

The breakfast which is included is amazing. Fresh juices of your choice. Great bread basket with croissants that taste like they were made in Paris. Fresh Fruit. And eggs any which way you'd like. Routine was to get a late breakfast, followed by amazing drinks and guacamole during the day and then dinner, we found there was no need for lunch. They have the best mojitos I've had, hands down. The dinner's at Jashita were very special as well. Clean and simple menu with amazing taste, using fresh ingredients!

As for the the hotel and the accommodations, the design is very calming with reminders of Buddha throughout. We ended up staying on a beachfront ground suite which was very nice.

Tommaso, the managing partner, is truly a gracious host and he made us feel like family. Greeting us in the mornings and stopping by to chat during the day to see how our day was going...which was always..."GREAT!" One day, he went out and caught sardines in front of the beach and made a sardine pasta for all the guests that were on the beach. If we had an issue or special request, it was addressed immediately. That is the type of person he is. We found the entire staff to be very attentive and friendly.

We cannot wait to come back ourselves and with our family. They have a very cool villa that can host a big family. See you soon Tommaso!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I came to Jashita for a mini honeymoon after our destination wedding in Tulum. It could not have been more perfect. Upon arrival we were greeted by Tommaso, the Italian owner, who upgraded us to an unbelievable suite and made us feel like friends of the family throughout our stay.

Jashita is a gorgeous hotel, with a zen-like contemporary design that is cohesive with its natural surroundings. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the restaurant/lounge area reminds me of a more subtle version of the Setai in South Beach. Our wedding photographer was still in the Tulum area and came to do a second shoot with us when we told her how lovely the hotel and grounds were.

The food is absolutely delicious, as was every glass of wine we had. The included breakfast was a multi course treat every morning - fresh squeezed juices, great coffee, croissant baskets, fruit and granola, a variety of egg dishes.

Jashita is located on a beautiful bay which contains a coral reef. You can take a break from relaxing with a book on a lounge chair and step out into unbelievable snorkeling. We saw schools of neon fish within a minute, a fat octopus hiding in a piece of coral, a small manta ray..amazing. There are also fishing expeditions which we didn't do this time.

As I mentioned, the hospitality was amazing. We had not yet been to a Cenote, and when we mentioned we might take a taxi to one Tommaso said he would take us himself. He ended up being busy and his cousin Dino drove us and showed us around instead, we had a lot of fun with him.

If you enjoy very large American resorts with lots of scheduled events for kids, and tons of people and activities, this is not the place for you. However, if you enjoy boutique hotels that take a European approach to enjoying good food, relaxation, and beauty - I highly recommend this tranquil paradise. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had the most amazing holiday at Hotel Jashita. It exceeded my expectations in so many ways. First of all the photos do not give justice to the beauty of this hotel. 2nd - the photos can not show the heart of this place - the people who created Hotel Jashita are absolutely there to make your stay memorable. Tommoso is the host one can only dream of having. He actually makes you feel that you are an honored guest at his home. We ended up eating at the restaurant on premises every night!! He actually scolded us a bit and told us next visit he would take us to town for a great meal. Who does that????!! Everyone who works here is impeccable in their service and their kindness. I can not wait to go back! God Bless Hotel Jashita.

Room Tip: Why not try one of the Suites and really splurge? The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent three nights at Jashita. Tommaso the owner and manager was super friendly and we got upgraded to a fabulous suite called Nefertiti! it made me feel on a honeymoon all over again! The room was ample with a palapa roof and the views were astounding a large plunge pool and sun deck also added extra comfort. My daughter stayed in a suite with direct beach access and although it wasn't as big as our room it was very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and in addition to the luxury vibe the hotel has we realized the sheets were 100% pure linen, a rare find these days! Food was excellent too, I had one of the best Zucchini spaghettis of my life! the staff is friendly and courteous and they came often to offer refreshments when you are lying in the sun at the beach. The Hotel's architecture has a great "exotic vibe" and to the smallest detail you can tell nothing has been left to chance. The 5 o'clock tea with home baked cookies was also a pleasant amenity, Breakfast was abundant and the croissants tasted just like the ones you would find in a Parisian bakery. The location is peaceful and quiet and it is perfect to get away from it all. I highly recommend Jashita for anyone seeking for an excellent vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millyandolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in early December, 2012. This is the only hotel on Solomon Bay, a very good option as compared to staying in more crowded Tulum, which is very close. This is a gorgeous hotel with a very friendly staff. Luckily our three different waiters were Miguel, Miguel and Miguel--not too hard to remember. We stayed in room 12 on second floor, with good ocean views because the wall facing the ocean is 100% glass (still offers privacy due to hotel layout). Our room had a plunge pool (never used), and a good two person lounge and two other reading chairs. Lighting outside and in bed was good for reading. The room was full of amenities and very well done--TV, nice finishes, glass shower, etc. We were greeted with a bottle of chilled wine brought to our room.

The downstairs is very pretty, lovely at night with all the candles. It has an iItalian/oriental feel. You can dine indoors or out. We chose outside every night, dining by candlelight with the cool ocean breeze. We're from Chicago, and prices are very reasonable compared to what we're used to--including some pretty decent wines. They light an outdoor glass fireplace at night which is pretty. Breakfast was included w/ the room--wonderful pastries, fresh fruit (each kind of fruit artistically cut a different way, yogurt & granola and hot entrees of your choice). All the meals and service were great. We had a rental car and had intended to eat some meals off premises, but the food was so good we ate all our meals there. One day the owner and some friends went spearfishing and caught the fish for the dinner special.

This bay is a bit rocky due to the coral reef, and it is fairly shallow. There are open areas with nice sand that you can walk out--a long ways, or go swimming. The hotel has ocean kayaks you can use. They have good beach service with nice shade. This is the bay they shot some of the Corona beer commercials at--(two people listening to the surf, enjoying the beautiful view and sounds of the surf)--it really does look just list the commercial. The place is casually elegant, romantic with really a wonder ambiance and terrific service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

So we spent about 5 nights in this small yet amazing hotel.
My wife and I were looking for a quiet beach side hotel with a private beach and we found the ideal location. The beach is amazing and sitting on the beach chairs or in the hammocks is the best kind of relaxation.

The service is amazing , both at check in as well in the rooms and restaurants. Shout out to Emanuel and the two Miguels. The owner seemed aloof but the the staff more than made up for it. the massage available is average but the open door location of the massage and the afternoon breeze put us to sleep during the massage.

Eating at the restaurant is a bit pricey but the food is to die for as are the drinks. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is exquisite.

The rooms are great too. We stayed in room no 9 and the view wasn't the best because of the the palm tree tops and the privacy wasn't ideal , at least for us, in the splash pool in our balcony. As a previous reviewer noted, there are quite a few lizards in the balconies and a fair few mosquitoes too. But I guess that is to be expected with the tropics. But the A/Cs worked great, so temperatures were not a problem. Hard water is supplied here, so you may want to keep that in mind.

We did make use of the water sports available at the location. We tried arranging a snorkeling trip with the owner but as mentioned earlier he seemed aloof. So we arranged for a water sports trip at Akumal beach which is a a bit of a drive from the hotel but is very reasonably priced and you get to see turtles! Tulum town is a taxi drive away too, so there are no eating options around the hotel, if you are looking for a quick bite.

The Tulum ruins and Akumal beach are two places that can be seen after a short taxi ride.

But if you are looking to stay cooped up in your hotel with a book and your loved one, and an amazing view to boot, then Jashita is the place to be.

Again, shout out to Emanuel. The smile with which he greets you is infectious and you know you are come to a warm place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
7.7 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 101 in Tulum
479 reviews
11.7 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 101 in Tulum
655 reviews
12.8 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
1.7 mi away
Blue Sky Tulum
Blue Sky Tulum
#2 of 2 in Soliman Bay
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jashita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jashita

Address: Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range: $592 - $977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jashita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small eco friendly luxury Hotel is bathed by the colors of the Caribbean nature, the gentle aromas of bougainvilleas and the turquoise Soliman bay. The beauty of this bay is not only its heartbreaking color but also being probably the most protected bay of the Riviera Maya. This allows you to swim and snorkel safely all year long. Let yourselves feel free and enjoy this miracle of nature that lies in front of your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Jashita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jashita Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing