We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Honeymoon heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jashita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jashita
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

After spending a few days outside of Cancun, then a couple days in Playa del Carmen, we made it to Hotel Jashita and knew we found what we were looking for! Our dream honeymoon became a reality! We were welcomed with open arms by the owner Tomasso. Jashita sits on Soliman Bay that was like a vacuum for a breeze which made the hottest days there feel like you had your own personal fan following you around. The serene, calm atmosphere and beauty of the bay warmed our hearts. Our room overlooked the ocean and we had our own private dipping pool on our balcony. There is not a single detail about Jashita that we didn't fall in love with! The colors, the furniture, the decor, everything was impeccable! It was also exactly our style, a beautiful blend of modern flare mixed with antique pieces throughout. My husband who is a furniture designer/woodworker, especially appreciated the intricate wood carved pieces that adorned the lobby. Tomasso took us scuba diving in a cenote and introduced us to the amazing Enrique who taught us how to scuba dive. We loved it so much that we couldn't resist doing it again! The second time was even better, 30 feet under the ocean, the water was so calm and perfect that day. The water was so crisp and blue! Tomasso dove to the bottom with us with just his flippers and mask, unbelievable! He frequently spear fishes and we had the pleasure of eating one of his fresh catches while there. He was such a wonderful host and it was also beautiful to see his family there who live next door. We are so grateful to Tomasso for making our honeymoon more than we could ever envision! Thank you Tomasso! Aaron and I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiryanaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    52
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
121
357
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

There are distinct options for accommodation in Tulum e..g. primitive beach cabanas, monolithic all inclusive resorts and a limited scattering of more upscale boutique hotels; I reviewed a number of these places in person and none, not one, came close to being as good as Hotel Jashita.It is only a 10 minute drive into central Tulum (the ruins, main strip of town, hotel zone) but Hotel Jashita retains privacy and charm.

It's the little things that count here - beautiful finishes in all the rooms, high quality linen and products, impecable service and all the while Jashita sits naturally into the landscape.
The owners have taken a great deal of time and care to create an environment that seamlessly blends into the natural surrounds, it is, quite simply, stunning.
The pool and restaurant look out over beautiful Soliman's Bay; protected by a reef, it provides the whitest sand and bluest water I've ever seen.

Snorkelling here is a must; the water is so warm and the fish / plant life is breathtaking.
Owner Tomasso and his family make you feel as if at home; the restaurant serves up freshly prepared, delicious meals and has a great wine list to match.
The highlight for me was learning to scuba dive whilst at Jashita - just one of a long list of services they offer (boat trips, free snorkelling gear, fishing tours - the list goes on!).
Under the guidance of scuba master Enrique, I felt entirely comfortable after practising in the bay and ventured out past the reef. This was the most exciting experience of my life.

Surrounded by protected wetlands and nestled into a very private,idyllic bay, there is simply no where better to stay in Tulum than at Hotel Jashita.

Room Tip: We had a Superior Deluxe Suite with a garden / partial ocean view and it was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Jashita is a beautiful and chic hotel located in quiet Bahia Punta Soliman. The reef located directly in front of the hotel offers amazing snorkeling and scuba diving, both of which can be easily arranged through the hotel. Snorkel gear and kayaks are complimentary for all guests. Definitely take advantage of this! The water is crystal clear and very warm, allowing for great visibility of colorful fish, rays, turtles, etc. The hotel is secluded and offers a great escape but is close enough to Tulum and Playa del Carmen that day and evening trips are easy to arrange. We opted not to rent a car and found taxis readily available and not terribly priced. The owner, Tommaso was very helpful in suggesting delicious restaurants in the area but the best food came from Sahara Cafe located inside Jashita. The carpaccio and spaghetti were incredible! Be sure to inquire about the fish of the day, Tommaso catches them himself. Also, ask the bartender to make you a michelada, you can't find them that good at the resorts. Jashita was absolute perfection. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend Jashita and will stay there again my next time in Tulum.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful. Go for an ocean view when available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa_8833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

After a short flight from Los Angeles to Cancun and one hour taxi to Tulum we felt like we arrived in paradise. The room was straught out of architectural digest. One step out to the beach, in a protected cove with cristal clear water and beautiful tropical fish. This is a small hotel where you can meet interesting other travellers. The Italian owner is very gracious and the food is superb.

Room Tip: Sea views are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Chic hotel in secluded bay 15mins drive from Tulum.

What we thought were great were, the air conditioning, excellent rooms with dipping pool on balcony, stylish decor, helpful staff throughout, excellent provision of snorkelling equipment and lots of birdlife to watch go by.

The bay is great for snorkelling with lots of fish to see and very safe for kayaking. The beach is not like the sandy beach at Tulum however, although the hotels there don't have air conditioning and turn off electricity at 10pm.

It is a bit tricky to get around, to Tulum for example, and if you plan to explore the area, renting a car is probably the best option. However, if you want to unwind, this place is good for that.

Best wishes to all the staff at jashita

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaytravJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you want to kick it hard with a totally relaxing vibe. Non-pretentious staff that is always smiling and helpful this is the place for you. The owner Thomas is extremely helpful and friendly and goes out of his way to make sure things are cool all the time. Place was so nice we cancelled other plans we had to travel in the Yucatan. Could've easily stayed another another ten days. If you go out on the boat with Enrique make sure to give him a hard time, he loves it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you want to spend a wonderful vacation you have to go to Jashita
a beautiful bay full of fish. It looks like a swimming pool clean and clear
Mr. Thomas, the owner friendly and welcoming He's a broker for everything you need speed boat excursions, snorkeling, fishing, etc..
the rooms and the terrace are very large and indispensable air conditioning in August, without which we would die.
We spent a great lose

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orfeo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soliman Bay
7.7 mi away
Mi Amor
Mi Amor
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
9.3 mi away
El Pez
El Pez
#4 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#6 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
15.5 mi away
Hotel Esencia
Hotel Esencia
#1 of 4 in Xpu-Ha
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jashita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jashita

Property: Hotel Jashita
Address: Bahia Punta Soliman, Soliman Bay 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Soliman Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Soliman Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jashita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small eco friendly luxury Hotel is bathed by the colors of the Caribbean nature, the gentle aromas of bougainvilleas and the turquoise Soliman bay. The beauty of this bay is not only its heartbreaking color but also being probably the most protected bay of the Riviera Maya. This allows you to swim and snorkel safely all year long. Let yourselves feel free and enjoy this miracle of nature that lies in front of your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jashita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jashita Mexico/Soliman Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing