We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Jungle”
Review of Oscar & Lalo

Oscar & Lalo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Wonderful Palapa Restaurant since 1982 with a pebble floor, mayan sculptures, waterfalls, hammocks, exotic birds, a peaceful garden with a fantastic jungle setting. Excellent Seafood, Authentic Mexican and Yucatecan Cuisine. World Famous "Lalo's Special", a dish made with fresh shrimp, lobster, calmer, fish and chicken fajitas is Superb. The ceviche made of fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, octopuss and lemon is also exceptional. The most relaxing place to laze in a hammock after a delicious feast.
Strathmore, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Jungle”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have been traveling to the Riviera Maya for several years, we have always stayed at All Inclusives but always venture away to try the local restaurants. We have driven by Oscar y Lalo's several times and have been curious but finally this year we made a point of going. The place is beautiful, it was early in the week so not to busy, I ordered a margarita and it was delicious (I know my margs) Virginia the owner came over to see how we were making out with the menu. Now I know she cannot do this with every customer but we so appreciated the time she took with us, explaining the history of this restaurant (Her father and Uncle started it) and the items on the menu, she also discussed some new items she had hoped to add to the menu. It was a great experience and we felt very special. We had the seafood plate and a couple other treats that Virginia recommended that at that time were not on the menu. We hope they are next time! Thank you for a great evening Virginia, we wish you the best and will definitely see you next time we are visiting.

Judy & Greg McLean
Strathmore AB

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    139
    57
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Not just another roadside restaurant”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stopped at Oscar & Lalos on the recommendation of a friend, who had also visited the area in search of Mayan temples, jungle surroundings and white sand beaches. We were not disappointed. The chips and salsa were delicious, as was the Yucatecan Style Chicken. Plus the atmosphere was fun and funky without being too touristy. There were fountains and little stone canals, and what appeared to be a big dance floor for those who went for the night life. Our servers were really nice, and when we stopped back by in need of a bathroom on our way back from Tulum, they didn't give us a hard time at all.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OctaviusWrathchilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Grilled Seafood Feast and Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stopped by for an early dinner after finding a card on our rental car. What a pleasant surprise for dinner! What I initially thought was a ho-hum restaurant off the main highway turned out to be a beautifully decorated, jungle side restaurant. I can only imagine what their original beachfront location must've looked like (apparently there was hurricane damage at the old location). We treated ourselves to The Lalo's Special-- a delicious spiny lobster grilled to perfection with fish fillet, chicken fajitas. We had leftovers, it was so large and wonderful. Our only regret was the drive back to our stay in Playa del Carmen which seemed further away as the night went on...the margaritas were so delicious, we could've drank much more! The owner, Virginia, was a gracious hostess, and I'm sure we could've easily passed out on one of the nearby hammacas (hammocks) from eating all the delicious food. It is not a cheapie taquito stand-type fare, so if you are a Cancun party hopping/budget-type, this might not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a great meal to celebrate with family or friends, or a quiet romantic dinner, highly recommended! Will come here again for sure...

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AggieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Music in a Beautiful Garden”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This place is nice, friendly people and very nice garden.
It is perfect for group parties and it easy to find as the restaurant is on a side of the main road Cancun-Tulum.
Much better the music than the food.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank js1975ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Went with a big group and had an absolute blast! The food and service were great, the garden is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend Oscar y Lalo's.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebastianMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar & Lalo also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Chemuyil, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oscar & Lalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing