We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, great setting, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manning Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manning Park
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We are four travellers and we were very comfortable in a room with 2 queens and a fold-out sofa. There were plenty of towels and the place was spotlessly clean. The pools and the hot tubs were huge and the perfect temp. The setting was magnificient and we loved waking up to the clean mountain air. The restaurant staff and staff at the little store were soooo friendly too. Wished we weren't just travelling through. I would have liked to spend more days there and go back to the nearby lake.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stopped at Manning Park Lodge for lunch last week. What a mistake. I ordered their special "multi cheese sandwich" What arrived was a cheeseburger of sorts. Open faced on a soggy bun, wilted old brown lettuce and a slice of tomato with a prominently displayed dead bug of some sort. The waitress apologised but I couldn't bring myself to re order. Absolutely appalling lack of cleanliness and quality control. Do not eat at the Manning Park Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Spent 5 days here with family over the Christmas break. It's now in receivership. Still love the place.

We're optimistic that the new owners/ managers turn this place around and get it out of debt. The place is a real gem, it's surprising that the previous managers couldn't run it at cost or profit. Let's hope the new folks are better business managers.

The Manning Park lodge is not the Westin - the beds are OK, not great. The rooms are always comfortable and clean, nothing fancy: always have a working fridge, microwave and coffeemaker and enough space to relax (the bigger suites are the best). The huge pool and two hot tubs are appreciated every afternoon just before dinner. There is an outdoor skating rink with a nice firepit with benches for warmth off-ice. They have a games room in the basement with ping-ping, billiards/pool and some arcade video-games. Bring a board game or a deck of cards (I think they have some board games you can sign out). There was also a fitness room with treadmill types of machines. - we didn't check them out.

We go to Manning and stay in the lodge at least once/year, usually in the summertime. Fishing is great, canoeing is great, and there's always a lot of wildlife (some years too many bears in summer) but this year we went in wintertime.

The XC skiing is good - there are only 30 km of groomed trails, but plenty of backcountry possibilities to explore. The lodge operates a school bus to bring guests to and from the downhill area and you can get off at any XC or snowshoe trailhead too. Downhill skiing is just so-so to OK: our kids found too many of the runs were either too steep or too narrow - The snow conditions were ok, but not great: no fresh powder - great skiing by eastern Canadian standards, but not as good as we typically get in BC - maybe it was just this year.. The downhill setup probably hasn't changed much since the 70's - 2 old 2-seater chairlifts - with very friendly lifties. There were never any lines - more than half the chairs were going up empty when we were there, so you get a lot of skiing in and absolutely zero wait time.

The Manning staff are mainly nice young folks - I always find them to be very friendly outdoorsy types.. There are a lot of staff here - maybe too many employees on payroll is what lead to the financial problems. All are friendly: housekeeping staff, desk staff, lift operators, bus driver, restaurant staff and grounds-maintenance folks. Again, you won't confuse this place with a 5* resort: housekeeping comes in to change towels, empty garbage and replenish soaps, toilet paper etc. If they come while you are in the room, they are in and out in 4 minutes. Some are a bit quirky, but that's what makes Manning a warm and pleasant place.

A real plus about Manning lodge is you really get away from it all.. No internet, no cellphone coverage, and there are only about 3 TV stations that you get (nice big LCD TVs though). Print out a starchart before you go (no internet: remember!) - you see a lot more here than in Vancouver.

We always bring groceries for breakfasts and lunches and eat dinners at the Pinewoods restaurant, which is convenient and on site. It's nice to have a relaxing dinner in a rustic log-cabin type of place after an exhilarating day of outdoor activities. Dinner for family of four typically came to about about $60-$75, including drinks, tax and tip ($7 kids menu keeps costs down). Salads are huge and very good; soup and salad made a great dinner for me several times. The big entrees are good and huge - we brought a doggie bag back to the room almost every evening. There is a small country store on site, but you can't count on it to always have things like milk or cheese, so plan well and bring your groceries with you. THere is a pub on site, but we never checked it out (kids are under 18).. The chalets and cabins have full kitchens, but it's actually much nicer and cheaper to just stay in the lodge and eat dinner in the restaurant each evening.

Here's to hoping the new management keeps Manning Park lodge exactly as it's been for the past 25 years... I love this place.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank Vancouver-mom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Unfortunately, there is no ability to select zero stars, so I will have to give a generous one star rating to this disaster of a hotel. (Note: the place is so unprofessional that calling it a hotel is generous also).

NEGATIVES: TOO MANY THINGS WERE BROKEN, including all of the following: the air/con in our room (stifling hot); the video games in the games room (even the ping pong balls were broken); the steam room; a large ornamental glass window above the jacuzzi. (Does the resort actually have a maintenance department?)

We are not sure if the heating in the swimming pool was broken or if it is just always kept at 16 degrees celsius (60 fahrenheit)...sooo cold! The pool water had a funny taste to it, leaving us wondering how clean it was.

Not one of the 10 staff members we saw during our visit ever smiled. Staff made personal calls at the front desk while we waited to be served. Often there were 3 staff at the front desk, one fiddled around doing nothing while the other two would be occupied with two people serving one client while a lineup waited. (STAFF ARE INCAPABLE OF SERVING MORE THAN ONE PERSON AT A TIME AT THE FRONT DESK AND CAFE).

We ate twice in the restaurant. The dinner was ok, breakfast was greasy and we were not able to get our lazy server's attention to get refills on coffee even though there were only 6 people eating served by two servers. (Restaurant gets one and a half stars review).

The store sold sandwhiches and junk food (no groceries, so make sure to bring your own because the resort is in the middle of nowhere).

POSITIVES: There is only one redeeming quality of the Manning Park Resort (great for hiking), and that is that it is located in Manning Park. Unfortunately the place capitalizes on this fact and does not concern itself with quality whatsoever.

Next time we would stay in either Hope or Prince George and forget about this miserable excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just came back from a joint family ski trip at Manning Park Resort. We stayed in one of the Deluxe Cottages, which had 3 bedrooms (two with queen beds, and one with two sets of bunk beds), one large bathroom, and an open floor plan kitchen, dining and living room. There were 8 of us all together, 4 adults and 4 children between the ages of 6 and 11. There were two parking spots in front of the cottage.

There weren't that many reviews posted on this resort, and some of the reviews sounded pretty bad, so I was expecting the worst. But we were pleasantly surprised. Check in was a snap, we were even able to get the keys earlier than the 4pm check in time. When we got into the cottage, it was clean and ready to go - I was particularly impressed by the large dining room table with 8 chairs, perfect for the whole group. The two bedrooms with the queen beds were spacious and contained one night table, a desk with drawers, and lots of lighting and closet space. The only complaint was that there weren't enough hangers. The bedroom with two twin bunks was tiny, there was no space for storage at all, only the beds themselves and enough space to open the door - but the kids had a blast. If you or your children are claustophobic, this room will not be suitable for them. There was centralized heating (forced air), and a large hallway drying closet (again, not enough hangers but we also didn't try to get more, so not sure if they'd be able to supply more upon request). Each cottage had their own furnace and hot water tank. The bathroom was fully stocked with enough towels for everyone. The only complaints about the bathroom - the shower curtain wasn't waterproof, so the water went through it and all over the floor, the shower faucet was very finicky, very difficult to set the temperature, and if anyone used another faucet in the cottage, the water went scalding hot.

Also in the hallway was an extra sink - this was a nice extra because with 8 people in the house someone was always in the bathroom for some reason so the external sink was handy for brushing teeth and washing up. It would have been nice to have an extra bathroom, though (even just a powder room), there was always a line up for the washroom, but worse case scenario, the lodge was walking distance if necessary (and there are public washrooms in there).

There was an adequate small fridge/freezer, small microwave, 12 cup coffee maker, pop up 4 piece toaster, and enough mishmashed cutlery and dishes for 10 people. Cooking utensils and pots/pans were adequate, the stove and oven were old but functional., and everything was clean, even if some things were old. The living room had a tv with cable, a gas fireplace, a couch and sofa bed, coffee table, and side table. The vaulted ceiling made this area seem a lot larger and spacious, too. Housekeeping came in some time during the day to empty out the garbages and refill the towels (which is what is specified in their guest book). One comment about the facial tissue supplied - it's as rough as sandpaper! (good thing I brought my own box)

We brought all our supplies with us when we arrived to the resort and cooked two dinners, two breakfasts, and prepared two packed lunches for our ski days, so I can't comment about the restaurant food - I can say that the coffee's pretty weak everywhere in the resort (but I do like strong black coffee). The country market, located on the premises, seems stocked enough from what I saw, but again, we didn't need to buy anything so I can't comment on the prices. They sold ski goggles there at a decent price, though. The gas station 18km east of the resort sells alcohol (it is bc liquor licensed), otherwise your only option is at the Bear's Den lounge.

We stayed for 2 nights. We went alpine skiing for two days, and tubing on the day we arrived (which was a Sunday, tubing is only on Saturday and Sunday). The front desk was very helpful and friendly, the lady at the front desk even heated up some buns in their staff microwave for me when we left on our last day. The people in the alpine rentals and ticketing hut, as well as the childminding services were friendly and helpful too, though the rentals hut is small and there are only a few people working, so if there is a group or school ahead of you, prepare for a long wait. We swam in the pool, sat in the hottub, and played in the games room, too. Some feedback about that - the pool washroom floors were filthy (due to people's snow boots), so make sure to bring slippers. There are two hot tubs sandwiching the fair sized (hotel sized) pool. The games room was okay, two ping pong tables, a pool table, fooseball table, some video games - a bit dated, needs some new equipment, but still functional. Also, I had forgotten my swimsuit (but packed the kids' suits) - but there is no place to buy a swimsuit - I would suggest that their country store supply some basic swimgear, they'd make a tonne of money, a lot of people don't realize that they have a pool until they get there, plus it's easy to forget a swimsuit when you're loading up on all the winter clothing, winter sport gear, and food (like I did).

There was an open ice rink, a small sledding area, and there are other recreational activities such as nordic skiing and snowshoeing - we didn't have enough time to try the last two activities.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and happily exhausting family jaunt, very relaxing (as much as can be with 4 children), the views were amazing, both days were clear and sunny. The snow levels were apparently lower than normal this time of year, and the mountain wasn't very busy even though the resort was full, so only one chair lift was opened, but for the short time that we were there, it was just fine, and the runs were well groomed and beautiful.

Oh - one more thing - if you're a tech junkie like I am, prepare to be unplugged from the world while you're there - there's no DVD player, it's a fairly old tv (but at least there's cable), the area is a cellular dead zone for miles around, and there is no internet connectivity. There's only a landline available (pay phone) at the main lodge. It was kind of nice, actually, not to be checking my phone and emails for 3 days, although I was anxious at first, I've never been so disconnected in years. It enhanced the family experience, we ended up playing cards and board games and spending good quality time together. It would have been nice to stay a little longer, maybe another night or two (no more than that, though).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazzinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We stayed here before, some years ago, and had found it a good place, so decided to try again this year despite some recent bad reviews here.

We had no problems. The room was clean, the front desk staff very pleasant and helpful, and everything worked. We didn't actually go into the pool (quite large) or use the various facilities such as exercise room and games room, but they all looked clean and attractive.

The only complaint we had was about breakfast. There is no continental breakfast available in the lodge itself and the restaurant doesn't open until 8 or 9am (we got different stories) so anyone wanting to get away early is out of luck. This is most unusual for a hotel that caters to active outdoor types and is also in the "middle of nowhere" and a good stop for travelers. We left at 7:30 am and found a good restaurant in Hope 30 mins. west.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank SojournerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Worse service ever. Front desk people are arrogant. Owner & Manager are rude. Rooms are dirty. Showers at the pool don't work. Whirlpool/Hot tub was unsanitary. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bignip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manning Park
24.8 mi away
Sunshine Valley RV Resort & Cabins
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kicking Horse Kabins
Kicking Horse Kabins
#12 of 43 in Golden
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manning Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manning Park Resort

Address: 7500 Hwy 3, Manning Park, British Columbia V0X 1R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Manning Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manning Park
Price Range: $97 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manning Park Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR FOUR SEASONS DESTINATION.Manning Park Resort and EC Manning Provincial Park has your four seasons covered. With Alpine and Nordic skiing in the Winter; snowshoeing and exploring in the Spring; canoeing, camping, hiking and swimming in the Summer; fishing, hiking (check out the Larch trees on Mt Frosty) and boating during the Fall - there is always a beautiful outdoor adventure waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Manning Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manning Park Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing