We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be faulted”
Review of Berkeley Arms

Berkeley Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wymondham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have decided to review finally after our 4th visit ! The Berkeley cannot be faulted in my opinion. The food is always excellent, the beers and wine are great and the service absolutely unrivalled. The Berkeley Arms truly is a first class establishment that so many of the country "gastro" pubs could learn from. The people of Wymondham are very lucky to have this gem on their doorstep, highly highly recommended !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbmNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    32
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow! What a treat!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food, service was so friendly and helpful, lovely that the lady taking our order was so keen to explain, recommend and answer any questions about the food on the menu. We loved everything and really enjoyed the beer, wine etc chosen by our little group. The only thing that slightly spoilt it for us was a few local blokes at the bar who were really loud and despite being sat close by with a child still used some choice language!??
The furnishings and gorgeous little mini milk bottles that came with our coffee were all really delightful though. May ask for a table away from the bar next time....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponyandcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly and upmarket”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a lovely little restaurant. We went on a busy Wednesday night and the service was quick, the host was so friendly and welcoming and the food was a huge cut above the usual country pub fayre. Great menu and so many wonderful flavours, I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kupocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening meal.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Friends booked for 2100hrs on a Saturday evening, which due to the extreme hot weather was just right. Our party of four, (two couples celebrating two wedding anniversaries) were welcomed at the bar by a friendly smile from the barman who took time to cover the wines on offer that evening. After placing our drinks order we sat out front which although on a road was very quiet and cool, our drinks were brought to the table along with the evenings menu. Our order taken it was not long before we were shown to our table inside. All our food was presented well and from starters to desserts were enjoyed by all. As the menu is changed daily I wont list what we had but there is plenty of choice. As the evening was still warm it was nice to have chilled water on the table which was replenished on request. All the staff were very pleasant and attentive and extremely smart. The toilet area was spotless and a novel touch was the joke books! If looking for a good meal in pleasant surroundings then look no further, ring and book now as they are very busy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Find - Off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My colleague and I were in good time for an afternoon meeting in Melton Mowbray. We had traveled from North Wales and were looking for a pub for a light snack and refreshment when we arrived at the quaint village of Wymondham and decided to go into the roadside pub, The Berkeley Arms. We realised that it must be something special when we found the car parks to the side and rear were both almost full (Thursday July 10th) . We were immediately impressed by the smiling, helpful staff and the impressive, extensive lunch time menu and the pub's Michelin rating. Inside the atmosphere was busy but also inviting and friendly. However, after our journey we decided to enjoy eaiting outside in the sunshine . . Complimentary freshly made bread, butter and a carafe of chilled water arrived on the table followed quickly by our dishes of large , freshly dressed Devon crab, salad, new potatoes, toast and a bowl of freshly prepared mayonnaise sauce for a cost of £15.95 each. Everything was presented beautifully and the pub was spotlessly clean throughout the public area and toilets. Hopefully we will have more business in this area and will certainly grasp the opportunity to sample more.at the Berkeley Arms.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhittski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Arms also viewed

Mountsorrel, Leicestershire
Barrow Upon Soar, Loughborough
 
Loughborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Berkeley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing