We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Murupara
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cortez Motor Inn(Whakatane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Livingston Motel(Whakatane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
54
4
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstray busbeautiful lakedelicious mealfried breadlocal schoolnew zealandcooking classtraditional hangimaori culturestayed heredefinitely worth a visitleftover foodcultural experienceflax weavinggoatnext morningfavorite places
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 60 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights mid-winter with our motorhome and appreciated having electric heating at night, hot showers, toilets and fully equipped cooking facilities including fridge, microwaves, cutlery and crockery. There is a Sky TV lounge with a wood stove to spread out in and relax in between hunting in the nearby hills and great trout fishing on the lake by boat. Facilities were immaculate and the hosts charming and generous. What's more, there was a fish cleaning station and a gas BBQ to grill our trout on and a shop with fishing supplies. The pet goat, ostrich and deer were an added amusement.

Great value for money in a magnificent setting. Recommend as an activity base, stopover, or to relax right there.

Room Tip: We had our own motorhome, but were able to use it as a bedroom only instead of trying to do everything in it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWRNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronia B, Owner at Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed it and were comfortable, regards Kieron and Bronia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our daughter and fly fisherman partner opted to use Lake Aniwhenua Lodge for thier weekend wedding location 23rd March 2013. Lodge owners Bronia and Keron were exceptional hosts and the Lodge was the perfect venue in which all lodge rooms, campervan sites and tent area's were fully utilized and booked. One hundred and twenty plus guests joined our family celebration. The lake view and natural bush lake surrounds offered the perfect wedding setting. Absolutely delighted with everything available to our family, stage room for the live band, room to set up a kareoke, kids play room, large kitchen facility and to make the occassion even more special the mother of the bride definately had to do some lake trout fishing with Aniwhenua's local lodge fishing guide - Dan Comer. I absolutely recommend Dan, he definately knew the trout hot spots on the lake and we together hooked and released 16 trout. Thanks so much for everything from Marlene and Craig Skeet - Parents of the bride and Hawke's Bay Fly fishing Guides. PS The meal services pre the wedding were so tasty and great value. Photos shortly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronia B, Owner at Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

The wedding went very well thanks to the bride and grooms great organising, and their support group, beautiful weather, great music and a fabulous array of home made food on the menu. It was a great weekend all round, very relaxed atmosphere, and a fabulous group of people .
. . oh yes and great fishing too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K0hutapuL0dge, Owner at Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews